We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for the location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Inn to your Saves list
Banff Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great price for the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The location was perfect and it was the best price we could find for Banff. Rooms were average; same with amenities but the price was awesome. Staff were wonderful, rooms were clean and no complaints overall.

Room Tip: Wasn't super impressed with being on the ground floor. Would have been better on higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    148
    63
    25
    23
See reviews for
71
134
16
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We booked into the Banff Inn as we were going on a bus tour to the Columbia Ice Field. The bus picks you up right at the front door, so this is where we wanted to stay. The room was large, the beds were very comfortable, the pillows soft and lots of them. The free continental breakfast was very good and lots of it. We had the pizza for our supper after our tour trip and it was excellent. This place was excellent and would recommend it to anyone. There was an iron, ironing board, hair dryer and a fridge. Free coffee in the room, also. After we checked out and were on our way back to Calgary realized that I left my medications in the fridge. Upon contacting them, they sent my meds by Greyhound to Calgary for pickup. I cannot thank them enough for this service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The room was nice and comfy but lighting was pretty poor. Beds and pillows were really soft and comfy. Service was average. Underground parking was free but its first come first serve. The in house restaurant only had a continental breakfast but turns into a pizza joint in the evening, not much to write home about. All in all it was a nice place to sleep that wasn't too far from the fun.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

And yes... I was with one... so I apologize to any single families that this effects. There were something like 5 buses there while we were there. As a result, I don't think the staff is as attentive as they could be. At one point I walked up to the counter and one of the staff was writing in a notebook.. but never looked up. I had to wait till another staff member came to the desk to get any answers. One night I had to walk from my room to the front desk to get a wake up call because no one answered the phone. I guess I should consider myself lucky though because one of our group didn't even have a phone in his room! When he reported it to the staff they didn't seem too concerned. It took a call from our group leader to the management to get him a phone the next night. It didn't matter because several people spoke of no wake up calls...period.
Now for my biggest complaint/concern and that's the scalding hot water in the bathroom. I am not exaggerating. The fixture in the bathtub is so sensitive, that a small tap in one direction on the water is cold, tap it in the other direction and the water can get DANGEROUSLY hot. I would be very careful about leaving children unattended at the sink or in the tub especially. In addition... if someone is using the sink or toilet somewhere, your water temp can change in a heartbeat. I was taking a shower one night and this happened and I just about jumped through the far wall. My son thought I had fallen in the tab I yelled so loud... it was painful.
The staff again was advised as several in the group complained and the group leader again approached the staff and he was told "Yes, that's a maintenance issue, and had been for some time". I'm sorry....isn't that the point of a maintenance issue? To have Maintenance FIX it?" Again... be very careful in the shower ....
The rooms are very spacious, but unfortunately, since ours lacked a couch or lounge chairs (just a round table and two wooden chairs) it felt spartan, empty. Some rooms also have three or four steps so be careful if you have trouble with stairs that you request a room without stairs. There is a refrigerator in the room which was nice, but plastic cups ..no glass.

Room Tip: The only tip I can give is that you can take the #1 Banff public bus for $2 ($1 seniors) into town b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed one night on our way through the mountains and there are only two good things I can say. The view from our room was terrific and the bed was comfy. Otherwise, the towels were like sandpaper, the room doesn't come with an iron or ironing board, it's a fair walk to town and the staff in the breakfast room were more interested in chatting than anything else. I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We found this to be one of the cheaper hotel options in the Banff area and for the price it did not disappoint. Room was clean, comfortable and spacious and the Wi-Fi worked great. I agree with others about the parking - the garage is small and if you have a large car or truck I would definitely recommend parking it on the street. The breakfast was a bit disappointing, with just cereals, cold hard boiled eggs, toast and yogurt. It definitely will not fill you up if you have an active day ahead of you. The hotel is also a very pleasant 15-20 minute walk from the heart of downtown Banff. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hotel is down the street from the "main downtown" which I think makes it cheaper. Still close to see everything. Room is small, but all you need is the basics. You don't stay in it long. Breakfast was all cold items, but still a good variety including large muffins. The hot tub was extremely hot. We got back early evening as there doesn't seem to be very many spaces in there underground parking. I don't know where I would've parked if it was full.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Inn

Address: 501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.