We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel on main Banff Avenue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Inn to your Saves list
Banff Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Decent hotel on main Banff Avenue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed at the Banff Inn for 2 nights in a 2 x queen room. the room was on the opposite side to Banff Avenue and had views of the mountains from the very small balcony.

The car parking garage was quite small, if you have a mid to large size car I would just park on the stree.

The breakfast was basically toast and cereal and was very difficult to get food during the peak times. On our final morning we just grabbed some muffins and left.

All in all I would stay again as your main purpose in Banff is stay out of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the peak times for breakfast as the room is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    158
    70
    26
    23
See reviews for
80
140
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hiking Canadian
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

A great room, comfortable bed with lots of pillows and nice linens. We were on the street side, with a corner room and two balcony doors, yet very quiet. One word of caution, this hotel takes lots of bus clients, and you don't want to be requiring front desk service or checking in behind a busload of tourists! The breakfast was tasty and filling. Check out The Keg a block to the left, well worth the visit as well.

Room Tip: Suspect that the rooms away from the street are quieter, but we found our corner front room quite qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My husband and I just got back from one nights stay at the banff inn and had a fabulous experience. The staff are friendly and helpful. Everthing was perfectly clean.
I loved that they had a few different sizes of pillows in the room making our nights rest feel more like home. And it was so quiet! It was our first night away from the kids so a quiet ad comfortable rest was very appreciated!
The pizza place/pub was great. The hot tub/sauna/steam room were great and super clean!
Breakfast was nice although very basic. We would have appreciated some things such as bacon and yogurt.
Totally recommend this hotel and will stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon,Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Best way to describe our stay, was plea envy and nice. Loved the steam room, liked the beds, hated the parking when we came back late. There isn't enough parking but we were warned in advance so it was our choice to go out. The breakfast in the morning was fairly simple but did the trick.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel on March 22nd for one night. We booked it sorta last minute and we were glad we did.

The hotel has a different parking lot than the others in Banff as it is off to the side of the building, you need a keycard to open the door so make sure you check-in first. The parking lot itself was clean but rather small, it is a first come first served basis.

Check-in was alright, nothing special, the desk agent went through all of the appropriate information with us and we got breakfast coupons for the next day which was a bit surprising - unfortunately we had plans for breakfast and did not have a chance to use the facilities.

We were in room 207 and it was very clean. It almost looked as if the room had been through a recent renovation as everything seemed new. The bathroom was a bit tiny but was equipped with all of the necessities and plenty of amenities. The beds were great and not lumpy as the other hotels we have visited in Banff so far. The TV had a bit of bad picture quality but it seemed new and not attached to a hotel movie server as in other hotels so it was very receptive and not full of advertisements etc.

The noise was very minimal, upon returning to our room one night we heard our neighbors being quite loud, but after entering the room the walls had sufficiently blocked all noise - we had a very great sleep that night.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I go on an annual ski trip to Banff, every year we stay here at the Banff Inn... there's usually about 60 in our group. The staff has always been very accommodating, the rooms are comfortable, clean and cozy. It's nothing special but it definitely is a nice regular hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed for a Saturday night during the height of the ski season. Hotel was busy but room was very quiet. Good sized room with king sized bed. Furniture was basic but functional and in good condition. No concerns with cleanliness of the room or bathroom. Large indoor hot tub. Underground parking was full when I arrived but got a spot later in the evening. The bar/pizza restaurant was very busy but had the best salt & pepper chicken wings I've had for a long time, only 1 beer on tap would have liked a couple of choices but that's a small complaint. Decent basic continental breakfast included in the room rate. Booked on-line and got a very reasonable rate for Banff. Not a luxury hotel but not at that price point either; and what do you need after a day's hard skiing? Have also stayed here a few years ago in a loft suite with our preteen children, again good sized and acceptable quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Banff Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Inn

Address: 501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Banff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.