We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Inn to your Saves list
Banff Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Regina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quite Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel on March 22nd for one night. We booked it sorta last minute and we were glad we did.

The hotel has a different parking lot than the others in Banff as it is off to the side of the building, you need a keycard to open the door so make sure you check-in first. The parking lot itself was clean but rather small, it is a first come first served basis.

Check-in was alright, nothing special, the desk agent went through all of the appropriate information with us and we got breakfast coupons for the next day which was a bit surprising - unfortunately we had plans for breakfast and did not have a chance to use the facilities.

We were in room 207 and it was very clean. It almost looked as if the room had been through a recent renovation as everything seemed new. The bathroom was a bit tiny but was equipped with all of the necessities and plenty of amenities. The beds were great and not lumpy as the other hotels we have visited in Banff so far. The TV had a bit of bad picture quality but it seemed new and not attached to a hotel movie server as in other hotels so it was very receptive and not full of advertisements etc.

The noise was very minimal, upon returning to our room one night we heard our neighbors being quite loud, but after entering the room the walls had sufficiently blocked all noise - we had a very great sleep that night.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    177
    77
    27
    24
See reviews for
89
160
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I go on an annual ski trip to Banff, every year we stay here at the Banff Inn... there's usually about 60 in our group. The staff has always been very accommodating, the rooms are comfortable, clean and cozy. It's nothing special but it definitely is a nice regular hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
70 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed for a Saturday night during the height of the ski season. Hotel was busy but room was very quiet. Good sized room with king sized bed. Furniture was basic but functional and in good condition. No concerns with cleanliness of the room or bathroom. Large indoor hot tub. Underground parking was full when I arrived but got a spot later in the evening. The bar/pizza restaurant was very busy but had the best salt & pepper chicken wings I've had for a long time, only 1 beer on tap would have liked a couple of choices but that's a small complaint. Decent basic continental breakfast included in the room rate. Booked on-line and got a very reasonable rate for Banff. Not a luxury hotel but not at that price point either; and what do you need after a day's hard skiing? Have also stayed here a few years ago in a loft suite with our preteen children, again good sized and acceptable quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Banff Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Banff Inn. The staff were all helpful and warned us that the underground parking filled up fast in the evenings so we didn't have any surprises. The beds were extremely comfortable and the price was right. It was great that breakfast was included and the selection was not bad. Great overall. Will stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were greeted by extremely rude front desk clerk.
Asked if we could upgrade to a king bed instead of 2 queens. Told us it would be an extra $60 per night. When we apparently took a little to long to think about it as it sounded a bit high she told us that it was to late, room wasn't there anymore so to bad. Then we were greeted by a bathroom full of hair when we got into our room. Front desk staff said they'd mention something to staff but were unable to do anything about it at that time. After first night discovered that sheets were giving us a skin reaction of some kind. Again were told that they weren't able to do anything and that we just must have sensitive skin. We were stuck by the kitchen so asked if we could move and again were rejected and treated rudely. I will never be back at this hotel, will never recommend it to anyone as we were treated unprofessionally and just plain rude.

Room Tip: No room is a good room in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just for a weekend. No complaints...room was clean upon arrival & although we arrived an hour prior to check-in time of 4, we were able to go straight up to our room.
Basic with mini fridge, small coffee maker and super-duper comfortable beds!
Continental breakfast was adequate (coffee not the greatest) but not a huge selection. We did not eat at the hotel other than breakfast or make use of hot tub.
I would stay here again. Friendly staff, convenient underground parking.
A no-frills hotel. If you want something super-swanky, this would not be for you but we were happy enough.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I had an enjoyable stay here! The beds are very nice and comfortable after a day of skiing! The TV was brutal but who cares About TV. The hot tub/ steam room was awesome and also very refreshing apres ski. I'd choose this hotel again as the price was very reasonable and they honored the online discount!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Inn

Address: 501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Banff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.