We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, unpretenious, value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Inn

Save Saved
You added Banff Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 33 hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable, unpretenious, value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed for a Saturday night during the height of the ski season. Hotel was busy but room was very quiet. Good sized room with king sized bed. Furniture was basic but functional and in good condition. No concerns with cleanliness of the room or bathroom. Large indoor hot tub. Underground parking was full when I arrived but got a spot later in the evening. The bar/pizza restaurant was very busy but had the best salt & pepper chicken wings I've had for a long time, only 1 beer on tap would have liked a couple of choices but that's a small complaint. Decent basic continental breakfast included in the room rate. Booked on-line and got a very reasonable rate for Banff. Not a luxury hotel but not at that price point either; and what do you need after a day's hard skiing? Have also stayed here a few years ago in a loft suite with our preteen children, again good sized and acceptable quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Banff Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    112
    51
    16
    15
See reviews for
50
98
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Banff Inn. The staff were all helpful and warned us that the underground parking filled up fast in the evenings so we didn't have any surprises. The beds were extremely comfortable and the price was right. It was great that breakfast was included and the selection was not bad. Great overall. Will stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were greeted by extremely rude front desk clerk.
Asked if we could upgrade to a king bed instead of 2 queens. Told us it would be an extra $60 per night. When we apparently took a little to long to think about it as it sounded a bit high she told us that it was to late, room wasn't there anymore so to bad. Then we were greeted by a bathroom full of hair when we got into our room. Front desk staff said they'd mention something to staff but were unable to do anything about it at that time. After first night discovered that sheets were giving us a skin reaction of some kind. Again were told that they weren't able to do anything and that we just must have sensitive skin. We were stuck by the kitchen so asked if we could move and again were rejected and treated rudely. I will never be back at this hotel, will never recommend it to anyone as we were treated unprofessionally and just plain rude.

Room Tip: No room is a good room in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just for a weekend. No complaints...room was clean upon arrival & although we arrived an hour prior to check-in time of 4, we were able to go straight up to our room.
Basic with mini fridge, small coffee maker and super-duper comfortable beds!
Continental breakfast was adequate (coffee not the greatest) but not a huge selection. We did not eat at the hotel other than breakfast or make use of hot tub.
I would stay here again. Friendly staff, convenient underground parking.
A no-frills hotel. If you want something super-swanky, this would not be for you but we were happy enough.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

I had an enjoyable stay here! The beds are very nice and comfortable after a day of skiing! The TV was brutal but who cares About TV. The hot tub/ steam room was awesome and also very refreshing apres ski. I'd choose this hotel again as the price was very reasonable and they honored the online discount!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My issue with the hotel was the late check in of 4pm and when it was time to check out at 11am, we were packing our stuff as there was a knock on the door at 11:05am asking if we were checking out. Then at 11:10am, there was a call from the front desk asking AGAIN if we're checking out. It felt like we were being harassed to leave immediately! Yes we were late for 10 minutes from the check out time but because we have a baby with us, it took us longer to pack our stuff. But there was no consideration for that. And with the late check in, they should be a little more lenient with their check out time, plus they know we have a baby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was a last minute booking and the check in was seamless. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. While I chose to park on the street, it was great to know that underground, secure parking was available.
The room had everything I was looking for, including a small fridge to chill the wine. The beds were amazingly comfortable, which made for a very restful sleep.
In the morning, I took advantage of the continental breakfast in the restaurant, which was plentiful with cereal, toast, bagels, boiled eggs, fruit and drinks. I was impressed and it certainly filled the spot.
The hotel is within walking distance of downtown (about a 5 - 10 minute walk), so extremely convenient.
I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I would request a room facing Cougar Street rather than Banff Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Inn

Address: 501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Banff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.