We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Inn to your Saves list
Banff Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Banff Inn only for one night and it was wonderful! The staff went out of their way to help us and give us a map and recommended and reassured us we could squeeze so much in that one day and night.
The clerk on the front desk showed us a few rooms as the one we requested was not available but that was ok and we ended up with better. They were very apologetic and nice. We would stay there again. The big bonus was walking in town from the Inn for supper and not having to worry about driving.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    166
    71
    26
    24
See reviews for
84
146
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Here are the good things: the bed was comfy, the TV was nice, the room had a fireplace in it, and the hallways were decorated nicely. The hot tub was pretty nice.

The bad things: the updates to this pretty old building are bare bones, and a lot of corners were cut. The bathroom was pretty weird, and the renovation was like putting a bandaid on a mortal wound. A lot of little things: the shower head wasn't clean, the hook was falling off the wall, the paint was chipped and walls were dinged.

The lobby isn't welcoming, and you have to walk right through it and past the restaurant to go to the hot tub. The free breakfast is the worst I've ever seen. We were trying to save money but couldn't bring ourselves to eat the crappy selection that was set out.

The most telling thing, I think, was the sign in the bathroom about the towels. We've been to lots of hotels that've put out signs suggesting that guests join the effort to save water and not launder towels and sheets every day of their stay. Usually it's sort of a positive tone, "Let's all save the world together!" kind of thing. This sign at the Banff in was absolutely hilarious because it's trying to make guests feel guilty if they do wash a towel.

Overall the management of the hotel seems to cut as many corners as possible and is more concerned with making money than making guests happy. Which I guess is a formula that works in a town like Banff, when so many one-time visitors come through. I don't think the Banff Inn is the only hotel that has this philosophy, but for my money I'll try one of the many other options next time I return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Definitely just an average hotel. Can totally understand the cheaper price compared to other hotels. They do say, 'you get what you pay for'. Room was very basic, and very dated. Carpets were so old, need to be replaced, as well as the old tiling in the bathroom. I remember my parents having the same type of bathroom, 50 years ago! Very skimpy with towels and believe it or not, only had less than 1/4 roll of toilet paper!
The beds were not that comfortable and the worst part was the horribly strong smell of bleach in the pillow cases, making for a terrible sleep. Walls were very thin, all night you could hear doors closing, people talking and the plumbing being used in every room around you. Lousy view of a backstreet with a bus parked right outside the room. Glad we passed on the free breakfast, guests deserve better that plastic cutlery.
There are several reviews stating that its quite a walk into town. Yes, it is approximately 15-20 minutes to get into town, but there are several more hotels with the same distance of walking other than this one. We definitely will not stay here again, best to pay a bit extra and get more for your money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Banff Inn in the beginning weeks of September. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean for the most part. My towel did have hair in it but the towel itself wasn't dirty. The hotel had a good restaurant in it and was also very close to downtown Banff as well as awesome restaurants along the way. We would stay here again but look forward to experiencing some of the other hotels in Banff just for comparison.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nice hotel, staff friendly. Room nice with attractive wooden flooring and windows with a great view of the scenery. Breakfast was just average. Was a good 15 minute walk into Downtown Banff which is a shame. Next time I would prefer to be more centrally based.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The room is large and service at the lobby is reasonable. The location is somewhat far away from the town center. The walk is about 25 mins, acceptable especially after dinner in town, good exercise. If you don't want to walk, Chilli is just next door. It has free wifi but you need to get a code for every single device. Overall, I am happy with the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and found the room to be comfortable and the staff to be reasonably friendly. The location was good though not actually in town. The included breakfast was OK though the breakfast room was too small for the number of people. I would recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Inn

Address: 501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Banff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.