We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Inn to your Saves list
Banff Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Banff Inn in the beginning weeks of September. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean for the most part. My towel did have hair in it but the towel itself wasn't dirty. The hotel had a good restaurant in it and was also very close to downtown Banff as well as awesome restaurants along the way. We would stay here again but look forward to experiencing some of the other hotels in Banff just for comparison.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    166
    71
    26
    24
See reviews for
84
145
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nice hotel, staff friendly. Room nice with attractive wooden flooring and windows with a great view of the scenery. Breakfast was just average. Was a good 15 minute walk into Downtown Banff which is a shame. Next time I would prefer to be more centrally based.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The room is large and service at the lobby is reasonable. The location is somewhat far away from the town center. The walk is about 25 mins, acceptable especially after dinner in town, good exercise. If you don't want to walk, Chilli is just next door. It has free wifi but you need to get a code for every single device. Overall, I am happy with the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and found the room to be comfortable and the staff to be reasonably friendly. The location was good though not actually in town. The included breakfast was OK though the breakfast room was too small for the number of people. I would recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a loft room for our family. The room was a bit small, but having three beds was great. The view was beautiful, and the people working the desk were very helpful. The hotel is a short walk into the main part of town. Breakfast was a bit scant (toast, muffins, bagels and cereal).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here in July 2013 in a Premium room with 2 queen beds (325). The room was very spacious and well appointed. Plenty of room for the three of us to spread out which was nice. Our bed was comfortable and supportive. Bedding was crisp and clean. The bathroom had a nice selection of toiletries and was a reasonable size but by no means large. Our view was only of neighbouring rooms but others in the hotel do have great views of surrounding mountains. Room does not have a fridge, however ice machines are available on the hotel floors so it's really not an issue. On checkin, we scored a bus load turning up at the same time. It was quite chaotic however the young woman behind the counter (apparently alone to deal with it all) was extremely helpful and efficient - a credit to her in the circumstances! Our stay included breakfast each morning - I'm not sure if every room gets it but our booking paperwork made no mention of it anywhere so it was a pleasant surprise. It is a continental affair with bagels, muffins, cereals, toast, fruit, coffee & tea. Certainly enough to set you up for the morning's adventures. I assume most get it because we were given vouchers for each morning that no one apparently wanted to see at any time.
If hanging around the "downtown" shopping central area of Banff is your thing, then this hotel is about a 750 metre (roughly half mile) walk from Elk St where it begins, however I noted a bus stop right outside the hotel (we didn't use it so can't comment on cost or schedule).
I was extremely happy with our 3 night stay at this hotel, I recommend it to you and would certainly stay again should I find myself back in Banff someday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed one night with our family of four and Mother. We booked the loft room and it was perfect for our needs. The inn was easy to find, close to downtown but not too close and the inside was quiet with the necessary amenities. The room was well stocked with toiletries and towels, which is often a rarity in most hotels. The restaurant was good and convenient after a long day of driving through the mountains. We did not use the hot tub or sauna facilities, but they looked really nice. The underground parking was convenient, but very tight spaces so if you drive a big vehicle, plan on parking elsewhere. We would stay again if we ever make it to the mountains again any time soon. It was a great value for the 5 of us

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Inn

Address: 501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Banff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.