We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Inn

Save Saved
You added Banff Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Nice location. We stayed two nights, March 29-31. We got there 2 hours before the check in time. The service personal was very friendly, gave us the key from our room without any questions... The room was nice and clean. We did't get fresh towels next day, but after a short call we had fresh towels in our room in less then 30 min. Breakfast was included, lot of food to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    113
    52
    17
    18
See reviews for
52
100
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooks AB
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Loved this hotel!!!! Our check in was a breeze. Staff was very accommodating. The lounge doesnt offer much in the way of food but its there if you need it. Breakfast was just bagels and cereal but hey...it filled a hole. We love banff and have been there many times but not to stay overnight. We went in February so it was more peaceful than summer. Not so crowded. The hotel is located on the main drag and our room was in the front but we didnt hear a sound unless we opened our patio door. The room was very clean but a little outdated. There werent many electrical outlets but enough if you need them,the TV is older style but we werent there to watch TV. :) No fridge or microwave but to me thats no biggie. the rates were great. We paid $111.00 a night and that was the internet rate,when I called the hotel they gave me that price. I have no issues with this hotel at all. As a matter of fact we are heading there again for Easter weekend. Banff is one of the most beautiful places in the world in my opinion and I love every chance to go there. We loved the free underground parking as well. The hotel is minutes away from everything. The keg is just a block away and chilli's is next door. The bed was just so comfy that I didnt want to get out :) We opened our patio door as we were on the 3rd floor and lay in bed letting the early morning fresh air in and listened to the birds singing in the trees outside our room. Just amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kananaskis Country, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Being both my boyfriend and my birthday, we decided to spend it in Banff with a couple close friends. From the moment we checked in, to the time we left, we were treated so well. The staff were very polite and friendly, the parking and breakfast were included, and the king sized rooms were great! Everything was so clean and up to date. We each had a fireplace in our rooms, and they were both together in our own little nook at the end of the hallway. It was very private and quiet. I would definitely recommend the Banff Inn if your looking to get the most for your money.
We will be coming back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights late February and found this hotel to offer good clean rooms, breakfast and parking were included. This hotel is on main road and we had a room right over the entry, however noise was not an issue. The breakfast was basic but all we needed and complimentary parking great, we had no problems parking our mid size SUV as described by some others. Internet was also included and while slow, worked for us.
Bed was comfy, shower bath fine and room was quite roomy.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for a great value stay close to snow fields with a shuttle pick up right at your door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We booked the loft sweet. Price was reasonable. We weren't expecting much.
Indoor parking is not recommended if you have a SUV. There are lots of spots but due to design issues most of the spots are designed for cars due to height restrictions. Whats worse are the inconsiderate and/or bad parkers who take up 2 spots when with a bit of time and attention they could fit into the single space they need. The staff were very helpful here and walked throught the garage and called some guests. We never had a problem after that.

Next up was our room. We had one issue with the front door in the loft. It looked like someone had kicked the door in and then a bad patch job done to get the door closed and locked. It was basically a big peephole into the sleeping area of the loft. Once I mentioned it to the staff they had no problem moving us to another loft.

2 of the 3 queen beds were amazingly comfortable. The third was a bit firmer than I thought comfortable. We all slept well so we can't complain.

Continental breakfast was filling and levels of everything provided were kept full.

WiFi was a bit troublesome but then I am an IT geek so 'slumming' it on wireless G was simultaneously nostalgic and annoyingly slow. A lot of people will sigh at my nitpicking here and they are probably correct.

First time at this property. I can see myself visiting again based on price point and the customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowtown
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

5 of us stayed in a loft unit for 3 days just after Christmas. The room was ok but quite cramped for 5 and very little space to move around or put our belongings. The continental breakfast was the usual fare of baked goods and cereal but did feature really good coffee. I have stayed in many Banff hotels and while this one isn't terrible I probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Warm, friendly, convinent, large rooms, free undercover parking....need I say more? Oh yes, the very reasonable price and the tasty I house pizzeria.
No ski in ski out in Banff....Mt Norquay - 15 mins, lake Louise - 50 mins, best of all Sunshine- 25 mins
There is a ski bus but a car makes it all more convinent , beware of the national parks permit for using a car within the park area $139 !! Got one for sale if anyone wants one!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Inn

Address: 501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;