We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Inn

Save Saved
You added Banff Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Red Deer
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not bad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here last January and now again.
This hotel is good, rooms are spacious, and clean.
Furniture is a bit outdated , big old tv , remote didn't work well , and could hear the neighbours doing It . All and all not bad place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    113
    52
    17
    18
See reviews for
52
100
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night, i wouldnt mind staying there next time again. The room is clean, the staffs are friendly, bed and blankets are comfortable. There's underground parking. I would definitely come back to this hotel. But only one thing they dont have a refrigerator.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Nice breakfast, 10min walk to town centre, good view from our window, well appointed bathroom. Really clean and private and good value for the money we paid. Staff were friendly too. It had a hot tub which looked pretty inviting! We'd definately stay again without hesitation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steilacoom, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel was a good deal price wise. However once there we realized why the price was so good. It did not have a clean feel to it. And you can actually get a better price with other hotels that include tickets to the Hot springs. The rooftop pool was not enticing. We paid the extra and went to the Hot springs. However the worst part was the tour buses that arrived in the middle of the night and then the travelers all took showers. The water ran "loudly" in our room for a good 1.5 hours from 11pm-12:30 am. and we had a morning flight to catch I cannot recommend this hotel. EC from WA

Room Tip: This is a Hotel in the Banff Hotel line, I would choose another hotel. they were doing some remode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Recently stayed at this property by mistake.......was purchased as a Groupon, but for some reason, we thought it was another property......long story short, we were pleasantly surprized! For the price point, it was very adequet.....nice clean large room with 2 queen beds.....older style TV, which wasn't centered in the room....this we quickly remedied by moving the entertainment cabinet it was in so it was centered between the two beds.......comfortable beds......not enough pillows.....only 2 per bed.....had to call down to have some more brought up......the bathroom was clean, but needed an upgrade....and again.....just the bare minimum of towels and glasses......used the hot tub which was fine......nothing fancy......continental breakfast was included in our groupon, which after taking a look at it, decided to pass......its held in the Bar/Lounge of the hotel and is mostly cold items.......very minimal, once again......ok, but I doubt we would stay there again, just because we like the extras that were missing.......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conception Bay South
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I travel lots & stay in all types of hotels... I don't mind terrible service or location if the price fits... I expected more For the price paid at this hotel... The loft room was clean but missing things and the ceiling fan didn't work making it hot upstairs in the loft... Ad promised free underground parking ( the lot was full so we had to park on the street ) front desk service was not friendly & the free breakfast was terrible ! The juice machine didn't work ! How can u offer a breakfast without juice !! There is a whirlpool but one side of the room is glass windows looking into the bar/lounge ! So the drunken men can watch u soak ! ... Again I believe in you get what you pay for... Well I paid a lot more then I got !! Honestly pay a little extra and stay elsewhere ! The hotel next door " the fox " looked beautiful !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Canada
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in one of the bi-level units that had two queens beds on the third floor and a queen bed in the loft.

The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. Our unit had a small fridge which came in handy chilling some beer while we explored Banff. My only quibble is that the pillows were a bit hard.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The free continental breakfast was okay but basic. Juice, tea, coffee, toast, bagel, jams, cereal and hard boiled eggs were available. I found the eggs a bit too hard, cold and tasteless. The breakfast room becomes Carlito's Pizzaria later in the day so they do have the facilities to provide a better breakfast. If only.

The parking is free and secure in the basement. The location is very good and it's only a short walk to everything in Banff.

Actually, we liked this place so much that we booked into a bi-level unit on our return trip.

So, yes, if there were down pillows on the beds and if the breakfast was a bit better, this would be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Inn

Address: 501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.