We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Inn to your Saves list
Banff Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Essex, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ski trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We are three guys from the UK visiting Canada for our annual ski trip and third visit to Banff, when we arrived we discovered our ski tour company (Inghams) had incorrectly sold our package and were we due to get a two bedded room for three straight blokes.. not happy!!

Our paperwork clearly showed three beds but our tour company called Inghams couldn't or wouldn't help despite all but agreeing we were in the right and their paperwork was totally misleading.. luckily Barbara on reception was more helpful and sorted out a new room with three beds for a slightly higher rate but discounted. So a gold star for her and her customer service and a big black mark for Ski Inghams in the UK.

Room was good and clean and beds made up everyday and coffee replenished, I would recommend it but would suggest taking breakfast in the Caribou two doors up

Room Tip: Rooms inside suffer from the Air con generator going off
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    144
    60
    24
    21
See reviews for
68
125
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
calgary ab
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We went for a girls' weekend, got an AWESOME deal from an online coupon website. Stayed in a standard double queen room - it was HUGE! Only down side, no mini fridge/ microwave in the room. Has a patio door that opens on a little balcony, beds were comfy. Clean, clean, clean. We got a room by the stairwell, and couldn't hear anything from any of the other rooms.

The little restaurant downstairs (Carlito's) has some pretty good food and is inexpensive.

Only thing to warn about - we got there early in the weekend, but apparently once the underground parking fills up you will have to park on the street. There aren't very many stalls in the parkade, and no one tells you this when you book, as one upset gentleman found out Saturday night.

The room even had a jetted tub! Wi-fi connection was sketchy in the rooms, but we barely even used it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

fast and friendly checking, good and large rooms. quite as well. A good parking garage is for free available. A bit far away from the banff center but still by foot reachable. If you go to banff i can recommend this hotel. Just have in mind Sunshine Valley and Lake Louise is a bit far away so consider to stay in Lake Louise if you plan to go to skiing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacremento
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

In a great spot, away from all the traffic and crowds, but still central. Easy to access, parking available. The staff at this hotel are very helpful. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. This is a nice hotel.

Room Tip: We got one with an in-room hot tub. You have to pay a little more, but its woth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keighley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

we have stayed here twice already. the hotel is clean and tidy, staff are lovely and the food is lovely. so looking forward to our third stay next year.. we would recommend that you have to stay if you want a high class home from home holiday.

Room Tip: all the outside rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

In the guide book this hotel was listed as "no frills", but my husband and I found it very charming and were definitely won over by the in room fireplace. The decor is very lodge like and the room was very clean. The continental breakfast was very basic with bagels, cereal, coffee/tea, juice. I was excited to use their hot tub & Sauna, but was a little weirded out when I saw that the bar/restaurant has glass windows that look directly into the hot tub. That was awkward.
The underground heated parking was great- just come early and leave your car there because it fills up fast.
Overall for $150/night it is one of the cheaper hotels in banff and provides a nice, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We checked into the Banff Inn, Barb was great to deal with and was super friendly. We had a problem with our TV not working, she had it replaced or fixed by the time we got back from shopping and walking the Banff Strip.
The room was a bit small on size, but made up for it with the comfort of the bed and pillows.
There was under ground parking, which is a must when the weather gets cold like it does there.
Hot tub and sauna was a nice treat after a long day of shopping.
And there was complimentary breakfast in the morning, in which there was lots to choose from.
Overall our experince here was great!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Inn

Address: 501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.