We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Brewster's Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Banff
St Albans
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Basic but good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

We stayed at Brewster's Mountain Lodge for 9 nights for a ski trip. We'd stayed at the Banff Park Lodge and Banff Springs before, and although we wanted to be in the center, we hoped that Brewster's would be upscale from the BPL.

There is no better location if you want to be in the middle of town, just off Banff Avenue in the middle. The hotel is probably because of location and it's a bit slack as a consequence. There were three downsides to it:

1. The breakfast arrangement is dreadful. Located in a windowless basement, with nothing but a bunfight over toast, cereal and a few pastries, it made for a depressing first morning of the holiday. Nowhere to sit as every chair was taken with all skiers getting up and about at the same time. We didn't eat breakfast there again, and often went to Melissa's round the corner.

2. The hotel has all the ingredients to be great, but they don't bother. They don't even light the log fire in reception for 90% of the time - in a ski resort!

3. Although the rooms were clean (we had a loft suite and were disappointed at how basic it was), if you didn't ask for fresh towels they didn't even fold and stow your used ones. They just left them where they were.

Not sure that we'd stay again - wish there was a really good, really central hotel in Banff.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Management at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the central location our hotel offers.

We are disappointed that you didn’t enjoy our breakfast facilities. This is a relatively new concept for us and we are constantly looking at ways to improve this and other aspects of the hotel. We will certainly be taking your comments into consideration.

Your comments in regards to the log fire have reminded us of the atmosphere the log fire brings to our hotel, and we will be sure to keep this in mind for the stay of our future guests.

With regard to your comments about housekeeping, we have received many awards in this department and pride ourselves on the service we provide. Be assured that we have taken the appropriate steps to rectify the concern that you had.

We sincerely hope that you choose to stay with us again, and we appreciate the feedback you have given us.

Regards,
Management Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    244
    115
    41
    25
See reviews for
111
284
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

Hotel was basic, but in a great location. Breakfast was simple, bagels, cereals, coffee and juice, but there are some fantastic breakfast restaurants close by. Rooms were clean and adequate. No hotel restaurant and limited space in foyer to sit and relax. Fresh cookies everyday go quickly, so get in first to guarantee one! Would stay again on location alone and would recommend if you want a clean, friendly, basic hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We stayed in a suite for a romantic weekend. We were expecting a large suite but basically it was a regular size room. The hotel is in a great location and walking distance to fine dining. overall a nice hotel but too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

My family and I stayed for 5 nights at Brewsters recently and it was fine. The room was a decent size, although there wasn't much storage space for 4 people. The hotel is in an excellent location, surrounded by lots of restaurants, bars and shops. It was very quiet and close to the bus stops taking you to the various ski resorts. The staff were very helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

Spent 2 nights at Brewsters recently and my wife and I really enjoyed the stay. We were more than happy with the room and the fact it had a 2 person jetted tub and the room was very clean with more than enough space. The hotel itself is right in the heart of downtown and is a great location for getting out to bars, restaurants and shopping. Though it had been about 15 + years since my last vist to Banff the town has stayed almost the same and still very beautiful. We are looking forward to our next visit and will probably go closer to December when the snow is there. The staff were very friendly and we would stay again when we go back.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — low flow from the shower
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

Although you could be forgiven in thinking that you will be staying in a secluded mountain lodge (clever photograpy on the website), this realy was a pleasant stay. We arrived and were given a room beside a very loud ice making machine in the hall way, we informed the staff and we were 'immediately' given a complimentary upgrade to a bigger and quieter room. Our location was great, centre of town, close to the 'Wildflour' for breakfast and 'Coyotes' or 'Bison' for lunch and dinner. Our stay was very cosy and enjoyable. Thoroughly recommend. We didnt use any of the hotel's restaurant or breakfast facilities.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noisy ice making machine
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights in July 2008.
Room was very yellow in colour, & full of pine furniture which is not to everyones taste - but it was clean. Needed a fridge in the room.

Breakfast was like eating in was like eating in a staff canteen. Breakfast Room is in the cellar & you have to serve yourself to a very limited supply of products & then clear your own table.

Reception not very interested in your needs. Very pricey to park your car - but no other option. Overcharged on internet usage.

  • Liked — Comfy pillows
  • Disliked — Colour of room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Brewster's Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Address: 208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewster's Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brewster’s Mountain lodge is located in the heart of Downtown Banff, steps from shopping, dining, and nightlife. This 77-room hotel features complimentary continental breakfast and wireless internet included in all of our rates. We offer a sauna, hot tub, and small exercise area for our guests to enjoy after an exciting day of exploring! Handcrafted log furnishings and western décor define the interior of our lodge, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Brewster's Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Brewsters Mountain Hotel
Brewsters Mountain Banff
Brewsters Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewster's Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.