We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Brewster's Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 2, Get 3rd Free
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Blainville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A room with a view”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed 3 nights as it was pre-booked by our travel agent. If this had not been the case, we would have gone to another hotel. The room itself was fine, but the view was horrible. We had a view of a back street and the cement wall of the neighboring building. With no air conditioning, we had to open the small window to get some air. At night, we could hear people talking in the street and young adults with their skateboards were going back and forth every 10 minutes or so in the back street. It was very noisy, unable to sleep. Breakfast was included but it was not good. In addition, there was no protein (egg, cheese, ...). There was no fruit yogurt as any other hotel we stayed, but only plain yogurt. Another point, the Wi-Fi did not work well in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time at the hotel. As we are located in downtown Banff, we do not guarantee any specific views but do take requests and try to complete the request whenever possible. Like many hotels in the area, we do not offer air conditioning as it is not often needed. Because we are a downtown location, unfortunately we cannot control the outside noise. We do hope you were able to speak with the front desk regarding your concerns. Our complimentary continental breakfast consists of breakfast pastries, toast, cereal, fresh fruit and yogurt; while it is not a full breakfast, we do find it is adequate for most of our guests and those who would like more options can always visit the front desk for recommendations in the area. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Brewster's Mountain Lodge for a more enjoyable stay should you be in the area.

Kind Regards,

Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    199
    98
    38
    25
See reviews for
95
237
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in July during a hot spell. The hotel was in a great central location in downtown but be advised...there is no air conditioning in this hotel. One window opens but due to the proximity to the street it's very, very noisy. We experienced partiers and noise well after 3:00 am as there is a bar, a nightclub and a pub/restaurant across the street. Add to that, a public alley runs along one side of the building. It's used as a main access to a public parking lot behind the hotel and revellers cruised up and down all night, screaming and laughing. Then, at 6:00 am the recycle truck arrives to dump bottles, the garbage truck empties all the dumpsters and life behind the main drag is not pretty or quiet. We were given a fan in our room but it did not help with the lack of air or quiet. The hotel itself is fine. Clean and comfortable but we will never stay there again in the warmer months. I expect more for the price. At least to be able to sleep.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a room on the inside courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations and that you did not enjoy your stay. Like many hotels in the area, we do not offer air conditioning as it is not needed often. Our front desk staff are available to provide extra fans for guests upon request. Being a downtown hotel, there can be instances with outside, nightlife noise which is unfortunately beyond our control. We hope to welcome you back at Brewster's Mountain Lodge for a more enjoyable stay should you be in the area.

Kind Regards,

Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

this nice lodge located in the center and the heart of the city cennter of banff. the rooms are very nice and the stuff are very pleasent. this lodge is offer a free breakfast with a viriaty of coffe and continental breakfast .

Room Tip: take the high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the convenient location of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back at Brewster's Mountain Lodge should you be in the area.

Kind Regards,

Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Brewster's Mountain Lodge was an amazing hotel!

I stayed here with friends for three nights in July 2014. We got a standard room with two queen beds. I knew there wasn't going to be a fridge in the room, which was a little bit of an annoyance, but we worked around it.

We didn't expect to get a balcony, which was a very pleasant surprise. It was very nice to sit there in the mornings and watch the street traffic and people walk by. Starbucks is nearby, and so are many other local coffee shops. As well as bars, restaurants, everything. Best breakfast nearby was Touloulou's. Just in the next building.

This hotel is perfectly central and is not a far walk away from the Bow River.

The room was quite hot in the nights/early mornings. The hotel does not have a/c which makes the rooms a little warm during the summer months.

The staff were very helpful when recommending day trips, especially the guy with the dreadlocks. What a cool guy. Mia was great when we checked in.

Parking was 5.25 per day, but it was very convenient and worth the price, because the other free parking lots have strict time limits.

The beds were comfortable, though all we needed was a sheet to cover us because of the heat. Bathrooms are LOVELY.

Didn't have a problem with noise, though we may have been a cause for it one of the nights, as a group of friends can sometimes be. (Sorry lol)

Overall it was a great stay and I will definitely return if I find myself in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time you write a review on your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We hope the next time you stay you are able to let us know ahead of time if you would like a mini fridge in the room; we cannot guarantee it but certainly do our best to accommodate all requests. Like many hotels in the area, we do not offer air conditioning as we find it is not often needed - especially with the cooler temperature at night in the mountains. Very happy to see that did not put a damper on your visit and are looking forward to welcome you back at Brewster's Mountain Lodge when you are in the area again.

Kind Regards,

Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were a group of 5 female friends. We booked two side by side rooms-both were very large with two double beds in each room and a couch. It was a little confusing finding our room (the rooms are build in a square with a middle courtyard). The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. One of our friends lost her wallet and passport mountain biking and one of the staff offered to go running along the trail and look for it (it showed up- someone found it and turned it into a nearby campground). It was nice to have a light breakfast each day and not take the time to go out for breakfast. There was a fresh fruit salad,yogurt, pastries, toast, cereal, juice and coffee. The hotel has a quaint log cabin type motif with handmade wood log beds and furniture. The location is very central in downtown Banff. There is a large grocery store and liquor store two blocks away. Our only complaint was the tight garage spaces (we had a large rental van) and the wifi was intermittent (worked best early in the morning) We would definitely recommend Brewster's Mountain lodge

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the courtyard are very quiet and have a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the convenient location of the hotel. We do hope you were able to fit within the parkade restrictions or that the front desk were able to direct you to other areas in town that offer parking. Thank you for your feedback regarding the complimentary wifi service; we will pass along your comments to our IT Team for resolution. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Brewster's Mountain Lodge should you be in the area.

Kind Regards,

Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We loved the location of the lodge, right in the heart of Banff. The rooms are clean and of ok size. My kids loved the hot tub and the cookies in the afternoon. However, the parking was very tight and not easy to get into. Also the WIFI service was sporadic, not dependable at all.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the convenient location of the hotel. We understand the parkade does have limitations with larger vehicles and our front desk staff are available to recommend other areas within town that offer parking. Thank you for your comments regarding Wi-Fi, we will pass along your comments to our IT Team to resolve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Brewster's Mountain Lodge the next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards,

Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brewster's Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Address: 208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewster's Mountain Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brewster’s Mountain lodge is located in the heart of Downtown Banff, steps from shopping, dining, and nightlife. This 77-room hotel features complimentary continental breakfast and wireless internet included in all of our rates. We offer a sauna, hot tub, and small exercise area for our guests to enjoy after an exciting day of exploring! Handcrafted log furnishings and western décor define the interior of our lodge, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Brewster's Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Brewsters Mountain Hotel
Brewsters Mountain Banff
Brewsters Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewster's Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.