We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lodge!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Brewster's Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebration Package
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Bodenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Me and my other half have just finished a week here for skiing. The hotel have been very accommodating in our opinion. Check in was easy and we were shown to our room relatively easily. They were very helpful when asking about ski gear hire. Ask them and get 10% off at a shop round the corner. Good recommendations for restaurants.

Breakfast - not bad. Toast, croissants, cereal. Everything you would expect. It was lovely enough for us.

Room - the room was spacious but far too warm. The temperature gauge was already on low and it was boiling. They supply a fan so we had that on. It would be useful if we could have a window open as it was quite stuffy. It was quite noisy when people walk past your room (218). And you can hear music from the nightclub opposite. But it didn't bother us too much. Cleanliness got better thankfully. There was hair in the toilet when we first arrived but ever since it has been spot on. The tv is very limited.

Staff - staff are lovely; females more so than males. The ladies were very helpful and were more enthused to help, where as the gentlemen didn't offer help straight away.

Location - perfect. If you're skiing there is a bus shuttle stop just down the road. They keep your ski gear locked up for you. All of the shops and restaurants are very close by.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Brewster's Mountain Lodge if you are back in the area.
Kind regards, Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wetumpka, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a ski vacation about a month ago. We booked our trip through Expedia and also got a room-category upgrade and free parking for being Expedia VIP members. Our room was on the bottom floor near the breakfast room, and was actually pretty quiet. I will say this from looking through open doors into the regular queen rooms - they seemed more spacious than my king room with Jacuzzi bath....it was pretty cramped in there, though very clean and well-appointed. Loved the furnishings. I hit a tree my second day skiing and spent the rest of my vacation in the hotel while hubby skied - and the staff at the hotel could not have been nicer or more accommodating. They truly seemed to feel bad for me, even offering to bring me ice packs to my room! Location was wonderful - never needed to drive a night to go to dinner - plenty within walking distance. All in all, I hope to return next year to actually get some skiing in, if I can!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Smcdonald21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay despite the unfortunate incident on the hills. We have limited rooms available on the first floor and try to avoid having guests stay in those rooms unless absolutely needed or requested because of the quiet location. We appreciate your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Brewster's Mountain Lodge on your next vacation.

Kind regards, Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a decent location, and the staff are friendly and helpful, however, if you stay on the second floor near the front of the hotel, forget the idea of sleep. The open plan lobby below acts as a natural amplifier - boosting the conversations of even the quietest of guests. Couple this with the numerous night clubs across the road and you have the perfect combination for drunken delinquents from between 01:00 and 03:00 am.

The hotel also seems to be able to generate static electricity faster than a Van de Graaff machine, literally shocking you whenever you get close to anything metallic. Very odd.

If you find a good deal and get a room on the third floor, I'm sure you'll enjoy your stay. I'm looking forward to going home for a decent nights sleep though.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We do have a staff member at the front desk 24 hours a day and encourage guests to contact them should they need anything. While we cannot control the noise outside, we do our very best to keep noise within the hotel down after 11 PM. We appreciate your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Brewster's Mountain Lodge if you are back in the area.
Kind regards, Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

:::: Rooms & Bedding ::::
Comfortable, clean and well decorated. Loved the Lodge-style... very fitting for Banff. Not too spacious but good enough for four people in the double queen room.

:::: Wifi ::::
Worked on the first day and then didn't for the other days. Worked on one of our iPads but not our laptops. Finicky!

:::: Breakfast ::::
Nice area in the basement for breakfast. Good options --offered toast, bagels, plain yogurt, fresh fruit salad, variety of pastries, spreads, juices, three basic cold cereals, coffee and tea. It would have been nice to add some eggs, bacon/sausage, oatmeal and a fresh waffle maker. Regardless, it was always well stocked and frequently replenished!

:::: Parking ::::
It costs about $5 per night to use their underground heated lot. Their lot has a maximum height of 6"4. Our pickup truck didn't fit so we just parked on Caribou Street for FREE overnight. Never had an issue parking on the street. There is also two nearby lot that have overnight free parking.

:::: Staff ::::
Very nice and helpful front desk. Easy check in and out. Lots of staff at the breakfast room restocking and cleaning the tables.

:::: Location ::::
The BEST location. Dead centre of the tourist area. Short walking distance to shops, restaurants, bars and clubs. We also walked behind Mount Royal Hotel to catch the ski resort shuttle.

Other Bonuses
- Free cookies in the lobby! Very tasty.
- Very hot and spacious hot tub

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k-existence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome both you and your friends back to Brewster's Mountain Lodge should you be in the area. Kind Regards, Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Loved this place. Lots of hand-crafted pine furniture giving it a real lodge atmosphere. We were here for a family ski vacation and had two rooms. Check-in was quick, staff friendly. There were fresh cookies available. Rooms were large and nicely appointed. Bathrooms clean and modern. Besides a duvet each bed had a beautifully designed wool blanket overtop. We used the heated underground parking for only an additional $5.00 but there was free outdoor parking. The complimentary breakfast included fruit, breads, bagels, yogert, pastries and cereal. Wifi worked fine. The location was perfect - right downtown. When checking out in the morning my husband asked for some of the cookies which were available in the evening. Staff went out of their way to supply him with extra cookies.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justvisiting50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your staff and had a good experience. We appreciate your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Brewster's Mountain Lodge if you are back in the area.
Kind regards, Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed in this hotel with a friend, she made the reservations based on previous experience in Banff.

Conveniently located in "downtown" Banff. Once we parked our car, we were able to walk everywhere. Lovely lodge decor. Staff was very friendly. The layout of this hotel is a bit odd, but added to the charm.

If accessibility is an issue, you should probably contact the hotel directly when making reservations.

When my friend made the reservation, she was told we had a "courtyard view" and would be quieter than the street side. Our "view" was nothing to write home about, consisting of a bike rack, we were not in the room much except for sleeping, but felt the "view" did not live up to what was described. If a view is important to your experience, you should mention this when you make your reservation and check-in.

Our room was quiet and comfy.

Breakfast was "continental" as advertised. Fruits, cereals, bread products, yogurt, etc. No eggs or meat.

I would definitely consider this hotel for a future stay at Banff. My friend paid the bill, so I can't comment on the cost/value.

We did not use the fitness and whirlpool facilities, so can't comment.

Room Tip: Ask when making reservation and checking in if view or accessibility are important to you. Some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJMtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Brewster's Mountain Lodge if you are back in the area.
Kind regards, Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have been to Brewster previously. Since the family day weekend was busy, there was good communication from management and staff prior to weekend stay. Friendly check in. Free wifi (decent connection). Breakfast was convenient with fresh fruit salad, bagels, pastries, cereal, coffee, juices. Do not expect warm food (ie. eggs, etc), but a good start to the day (save on money also). Excellent location. We did not use underground parking this time and was able to find free street parking (after 7 PM, free parking). Great base to go skiiing around the Banff area. Will stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DunkmanEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are happy that you chose to stay with us again on your most recent visit. We hope to have to stay at Brewster's Mountain lodge again when you are back to Banff. Kind regards, Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewster's Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Address: 208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewster's Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brewster’s Mountain lodge is located in the heart of Downtown Banff, steps from shopping, dining, and nightlife. This 77-room hotel features complimentary continental breakfast and wireless internet included in all of our rates. We offer a sauna, hot tub, and small exercise area for our guests to enjoy after an exciting day of exploring! Handcrafted log furnishings and western décor define the interior of our lodge, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Brewster's Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Brewsters Mountain Hotel
Brewsters Mountain Banff
Brewsters Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing