We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything and more!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Brewster's Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Banff
Petawawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Everything and more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Loved this place. Lots of hand-crafted pine furniture giving it a real lodge atmosphere. We were here for a family ski vacation and had two rooms. Check-in was quick, staff friendly. There were fresh cookies available. Rooms were large and nicely appointed. Bathrooms clean and modern. Besides a duvet each bed had a beautifully designed wool blanket overtop. We used the heated underground parking for only an additional $5.00 but there was free outdoor parking. The complimentary breakfast included fruit, breads, bagels, yogert, pastries and cereal. Wifi worked fine. The location was perfect - right downtown. When checking out in the morning my husband asked for some of the cookies which were available in the evening. Staff went out of their way to supply him with extra cookies.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your staff and had a good experience. We appreciate your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Brewster's Mountain Lodge if you are back in the area.
Kind regards, Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    179
    88
    36
    22
See reviews for
90
213
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed in this hotel with a friend, she made the reservations based on previous experience in Banff.

Conveniently located in "downtown" Banff. Once we parked our car, we were able to walk everywhere. Lovely lodge decor. Staff was very friendly. The layout of this hotel is a bit odd, but added to the charm.

If accessibility is an issue, you should probably contact the hotel directly when making reservations.

When my friend made the reservation, she was told we had a "courtyard view" and would be quieter than the street side. Our "view" was nothing to write home about, consisting of a bike rack, we were not in the room much except for sleeping, but felt the "view" did not live up to what was described. If a view is important to your experience, you should mention this when you make your reservation and check-in.

Our room was quiet and comfy.

Breakfast was "continental" as advertised. Fruits, cereals, bread products, yogurt, etc. No eggs or meat.

I would definitely consider this hotel for a future stay at Banff. My friend paid the bill, so I can't comment on the cost/value.

We did not use the fitness and whirlpool facilities, so can't comment.

Room Tip: Ask when making reservation and checking in if view or accessibility are important to you. Some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Brewster's Mountain Lodge if you are back in the area.
Kind regards, Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have been to Brewster previously. Since the family day weekend was busy, there was good communication from management and staff prior to weekend stay. Friendly check in. Free wifi (decent connection). Breakfast was convenient with fresh fruit salad, bagels, pastries, cereal, coffee, juices. Do not expect warm food (ie. eggs, etc), but a good start to the day (save on money also). Excellent location. We did not use underground parking this time and was able to find free street parking (after 7 PM, free parking). Great base to go skiiing around the Banff area. Will stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are happy that you chose to stay with us again on your most recent visit. We hope to have to stay at Brewster's Mountain lodge again when you are back to Banff. Kind regards, Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The location is perfect, 1 minute close to main (Banff) street.
The hotel and the facilities are much closer to 3 star than to 4 star quality, but on the other hand they operate with very helpful, polite and friendly reception staff.
The garage is heated, but surprisingly charged.
The breakfast is one of the weakest ever, if you can do, avoid it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests. We are quite proud of our customer service and our location. We do have a complimentary continental breakfast which we find satisfies most to get them on with their day but again appreciate you viewpoint and we do have covered, heated parking for $5.25 (incl of tax) which allows guest the opportunity of in/out parking and a nice enclosed location in downtown Banff, walking distance to some of Banff's best restaurants, entertainment and shopping while only a block & half from a nice stroll along the river. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back should you be in the area. Regards, Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here as a weekend getaway before he had to go out of town for work. Banff hotels were completely full that weekend, however, we were offered the king suite in this hotel for a discounted rate as this was all they had left to offer us. We arrived on Friday afternoon and checked in. The clerk at the desk was extremely nice and our reservation and check in went smoothly. We were advised at the time of check in that their underground heated parking was completely full. Luckily enough we had secured a spot right outside their garage door to the underground parking but were still charged the underground heated rate and then we were advised not to move our car all weekend as our spot would most likely be gone when we got back and we'd have to find elsewhere to park. We were then told to take a cab to anywhere not within walking distance. This resulted in us having to pay for both underground heated parking, which we didn't get, and cab fares to and from the upper hot springs in which we had booked massages for at the spa.
We got up to our room, which was nicely decorated in a rustic wood decor. The bathroom was huge with a double jacuzzi tub, twin sinks, and separate toilet and shower. We thought this was going to be a great stay at this point, then nightfall hit. We got into bed and couldn't help but notice that it felt as though we were sleeping on wooden boards due to how uncomfortable the mattress was. The hotel was so loud we were able to hear every door on our floor open and close as people arrived back to their rooms. If anyone was talking in the halls we were able to hear their entire conversation regardless of whether or not they were being loud due to partying a bit too much that night. We couldn't exactly complain as how can you complain about people opening their room doors and talking to each other in their normal tone of voice.
This hotel had a great location as it was right in the middle of downtown, however, for a room that was over $350.00 a night we were disappointed what we got for our money. At check out we were also told that we weren't allowed to claim our AMA discount as they had already given us a discount on the room, however, when we made the reservation we were told on the phone to show our card to the front desk when we checked out to get that discount.
The complimentary breakfast that came with out room rate was sufficient. It was nothing fancy but had the essentials. The two mornings we ate breakfast there were bagels, toast, parties, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, and tea to choose from. The dining room was clean and the serving counters were stocked with a lot of food and everything was kept clean and tidy.
All in all a good hotel if you paid a normal room rate and don't expect anything fancy and want to be at a place that's convenient. If you're wanting a nice couples getaway, I would suggest booking at a different hotel where you can get a lot more bang for your buck.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello Kelly S, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am writing to follow up our conversation by email and glad we had a chance to clear up things recently. I am so glad you wrote the review so that we could handle the issue. Regarding our parking it is a first come first serve and our staff usually try to give people the heads up and suggestion that they don't move their vehicle just to ensure you would have a spot but we do have "in/out" parking available and did not mean to imply that you "couldn't" move your vehicle...rather if you didn't have to then it would be a suggestion. There is complimentary parking about a half block from the hotel. Regarding the AAA rate you were absolutely correct and as you can attest we have rectified the issue with the rate and I have followed it up directly with the Front Desk agents so this would not be an issue in further. I'm sorry that we weren't able to meet your expectations during your stay but glad to see that you felt there were still positives. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Brewster's Mountain Lodge in the future. Regards, Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The hotel is in a good location for town, there is heated underground parking (at a cost) and the room was nice.
We did have to turn the fridge off as it was making a very annoying noise and the wall was a bit thin, our neighbours left their room before their alarm was set and we were unable to sleep in as it was incessantly going off (we may have been childish and let out a cheer when they finally returned but were slightly annoyed to see when we left the room they had their "do not disturb" sign up on the door!)
The shower was weak and had very little adjustment on it, the door leaked into the toilet space, the spa pool bath was nice but did not make the room as I'd hoped it might.
The bedroom was lovely, the bed was firm and there was a lot of space, it's just the little things like the wardrobe doors not closing properly and the coffee being really bitter and cheap tasting.
The breakfast in the morning, although hosted by a lovely girl was very minimal. I would probably not stay here again

Room Tip: We had one of the Deluxe King rooms, although not too expensive I probably wouldn't upgrade if I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. Our Deluxe rooms are generally a favorite as they offer a single or double jetted tub, mini fridge and more living space for a nominal upgrade fee. The complimentary breakfast is continental (cold breakfast - cereals, toast, pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee, juice) but isn't for everyone. We are centrally located to many other breakfast restaurants in town for those looking for a full hot breakfast. We are sorry to hear you will not stay again, your comments have been passed on to the General Manager for further review. Kind regards, Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Excellent Service, located at a very convenient location…Can't say enough about this place…Its just a fantastic experience staying at Brewster's Mountain Lodge…definitely will be booking again and will spread the word to my friends!!!! Wooohooo!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took time out of your day to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you "and your friends" ;) to Brewster's Mountain Lodge in the future.
Kind regards, Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brewster's Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Address: 208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewster's Mountain Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brewster’s Mountain lodge is located in the heart of Downtown Banff, steps from shopping, dining, and nightlife. This 77-room hotel features complimentary continental breakfast and wireless internet included in all of our rates. We offer a sauna, hot tub, and small exercise area for our guests to enjoy after an exciting day of exploring! Handcrafted log furnishings and western décor define the interior of our lodge, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Brewster's Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Brewsters Mountain Hotel
Brewsters Mountain Banff
Brewsters Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewster's Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.