We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location for downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Brewster's Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99/taxes STD Rm Mid Wk
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Banff
London
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Brilliant location for downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in August and found this a very good location as it was in the centre of town and we could walk to restaurants etc. Our room was very quiet as it was away from the street and we weren't at all disturbed either by street noise or neighbours. We had a pleasant large room which was nicely decorated with Pendleton bedding to give it a lodge type feeling.
Very good continental breakfast. The hotel has parking at an extra cost but we couldn't find a space but there is a car park very close by where we were always able to park when we came back in the evening.

Room Tip: Make sure you go for one which does not overlook the street if you have a choice - we had a few of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    219
    102
    38
    25
See reviews for
100
256
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Nice hotel & reasonable rates,however it was because of the time of year. Parking can be a huge issue if you drive anything larger than a car. Their parkade has a maximum clearance of 6'4" & a very narrow entrance. Not made for a full size truck. We booked one of the suites & the bed was equal to sleeping on a pool table. Very hard & uncomfortable. We had amazing views from our balcony, but also got the street noise to go with it. We could here every single train whistle as they passed by at 3 hr intervals. Very much enjoyed our time in Banff, just wish these hotels would supply a more comfortable bed, especially for $250/night!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights here at the beginning of our tour. The location is perfect, right in town and a stone's throw away from all the eating places, shops and supermarket. Yet the room was very quiet. Our room was large and comfortable, with all the amenities working. There was nothing amiss. Breakfast was simple but very good and sufficient to set us up for a day of touring. We found the staff particularly helpful, polite and knowledgeable. The coin operated laundry was very convenient. Good to have a lift too.Our only gripe was that the wifi was weak, even in the main lounge in front of reception. Took lots of pictures of the nice decor.
We recommend this place very highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel in mid September with my friend for a much needed vacation from work for the both of us. We both work full-time jobs, and ironically, I work in a luxury hotel. We took our things in at around 2pm, walked up to the desk (where 3 people were working) and none of them even acknowledged us for a good minute. (They weren't busy). Confused if this was where I even check-in, I awkwardly cleared my throat and said I have a reservation. The girl looked us up and down very judgementally (we are young) and said "Your room's not clean, check-in after 4pm." Working in the same position as her, I know that early check-ins aren't guaranteed, no sweat. I then asked her if there was a place I could store luggage while we wait. She said, "Yea, under the stairs." Which was an open area in the middle of the lobby, accessible to anyone passing by... Once we checked in at 4, we saw the room which was dingy, sunken in beds, old tv, no appliances, very outdated and looked out into an alley. The wooden staircase to the rooms was pretty, but that's about all I can say. All in all, I would definitely not recommended this hotel. If I ever acted with the same attitude ad these employees at my hotel, I would be fired in a second. You may want to look up hospitality in the dictionary, because you clearly don't understand the concept.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My family and I spent five nights at this hotel on June 2013. As it just so happens, this was the same week that saw torrential rains of historic proportions hit most of central and southern Alberta, but that's another story. Maybe I'm asking too much (doubtful) but the hotel itself, once you go beyond its novelty log cabin motif, is nothing special. The one thing that it has in spades is a perfect location in central Banff suitable for walking downtown, visiting museums, going to restaurants, etc...however, that's to be expected since you're probably paying handsomely for the privilege of staying in downtown Banff. We had breakfast included as part of our room and while filling, it was nothing out of this world, just your regular combination of cereals and other cold breakfast foods that require little to no effort in preparation or placement. Our room was nice enough, comfortable, able to fit a family of four without much problem and with a large balcony. In sum, I would stay here again provided I got a good deal on the room, otherwise we'd look at other locations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Right in downtown. Lovely rooms, great staff, continental breakfast, clean and treated like a special guest. Many restaurants within walking distance. Would stay here again and again. Loved the decor and the lobby was so inviting with a roaring fire. Met great people and highly recommend this hotel
for a cozy get away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brewster's Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Address: 208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewster's Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brewster’s Mountain lodge is located in the heart of Downtown Banff, steps from shopping, dining, and nightlife. This 77-room hotel features complimentary continental breakfast and wireless internet included in all of our rates. We offer a sauna, hot tub, and small exercise area for our guests to enjoy after an exciting day of exploring! Handcrafted log furnishings and western décor define the interior of our lodge, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Brewster's Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Brewsters Mountain Hotel
Brewsters Mountain Banff
Brewsters Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewster's Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.