We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Brewster's Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Bouquet Package
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Best location in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a pleasant hotel I have stayed at previously. Rooms are adequate and clean, although can be a bit small depending upon which room you get. The hotel is also not as modern as some. Still, I stay there as it is the best location I have found, right in the middle of town and yet not noisy (despite there being a night-club across the road). It really is in the centre of things, and particularly when the weather is colder that is a big advantage since you don't have to walk a long way to get anywhere. It also has its own underground car park and the staff are very pleasant.

Room Tip: We specifically asked for a very quiet room, and they have some which are well away from the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    238
    113
    40
    25
See reviews for
106
277
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for several days and definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to be centrally located in Banff township. Our room was located facing an interior courtyard and was very quiet (we unplugged the not-that-loud mini-fridge for extra peace and quiet). Its a very short walk to lots of restaurants and shopping (and even a bit of hiking and sightseeing). Our room was relatively modern and clean with a spacious bathroom. We didn't spend much time in the room outside of sleeping, though.

The hotel breakfast is available early (at 6:30am) which was a big plus. Its a pretty basic spread (coffee, several cereal choices, pastry, bagels, and fresh fruit), but worked well for us. (We picked up oatmeal packets at the grocery store to add some variety to the breakfast after a couple days.)

Room Tip: 3rd floor is the top floor; interior-courtyard facing worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for three nights recently and loved it. It's a tad out of date and old fashioned but the rooms are large. It's very central and you can walk everywhere. The staff were brilliant and one even planned me a special trip, complete with map when I asked where we could go visit that wasn't too touristy. If you like a quiet night, ask for an inside room with a balcony: it's no extra cost and lovely for sitting out in the sunshine. Other guests said the road side rooms were very noisy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed her for you wedding in 2009. Came back for our 4th wedding anniversary. We just reserved a plain Jane room this time and it was still cozy and nice. Only downside was I didn't realize standard rooms don't come with a fridge :( still a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have stayed in several Banff hotels and this was as good as most of them. It is within walking distance of everything in town and we thought that was a plus. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The complementary breakfast offers less choices than what I am used to, but at least they had one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location just off Banff avenue. Check in staff were friendly and informative.

We had a standard room which was adequate but nothing special. It was clean and had tea and coffee making facilities. It was however quite noisy, the walls are very thin and noise from other rooms and the corridor outside disturbed us late into the night. Also, we seemed to be near some sort of central plumbing area as there was a regular sound of running water which continued all night.

Continental breakfast is provided which is very basic, in a canteen environment they call the Birds Nest. Everything is self service and plates have to be cleared into a big plastic box before you leave. I didnt like all the signs around giving instructions on what should and should not be done.

Yes, this is a good location, but I would stay somewhere else next time having seen some of the other accommodation available in Banff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. Reserve the third floor lodge suites. Balcony and loft arrangement are lovely. Hotel is remarkably quiet for downtown location. Hotel is, however, understaffed. Twice in a week our room was not made up before3:30 pm. Thus a post-hike nap on one day caused us to lose the opportunity to have a clean room. Do not expect to eat the continental breakfast. There is only a very limited selection of cold cereal, some fruit, and poor pastry. Expect to go across the street to theWild Flour bakery for granola or muesli.

Room Tip: Definitely the lodge suites on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brewster's Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Address: 208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewster's Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brewster’s Mountain lodge is located in the heart of Downtown Banff, steps from shopping, dining, and nightlife. This 77-room hotel features complimentary continental breakfast and wireless internet included in all of our rates. We offer a sauna, hot tub, and small exercise area for our guests to enjoy after an exciting day of exploring! Handcrafted log furnishings and western décor define the interior of our lodge, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Brewster's Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Brewsters Mountain Hotel
Brewsters Mountain Banff
Brewsters Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewster's Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.