We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable hotel with history!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Brewster's Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 Night Stay W/ Wine
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Banff
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable hotel with history!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Such a lovely hotel, great service and lovely appointed rooms. It has lovely pine decor and the rooms are clean and ours had a mountain view. But in Banff, I doubt there are many places without a glorious mountain view.

There is underground parking. It is small and not all spaces have easy access (I am not the greatest parker'!). But it is underground, secure and clean.

The hotel is right in the centre of Banff with easy access to everything downtown, including shops, dining and hot springs. Great place to stay and fantastic value. Check out the suites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    167
    75
    34
    22
See reviews for
79
193
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This time we came back with friends for ten nights in March 2013. The whole group of seven people found the hotel great. It is very central to down town Banff, and so yes, occasionally, you hear street noise late at night especially on Saturday, but it didn't seem to last very long. I guess if you want to avoid such noise altogether I would recommend you stay slightly further out of town. The beds in the standard rooms, in which we all stayed, are exceptionally comfortable, the bathrooms were clean and well stocked with towels, soaps, shampoos, tissues, moisturisers, etc and a really good hair dryer. You get both a kettle and a coffee maker to use in your room with stocks of tea and offer replaced by housekeeping daily. There's also an iron and ironing board if you need one. Breakfast is a basic continental style, with a variety of cereals, fruit, breads and pastries, very convenient before heading out for the early ski bus. The hotel staff are super helpful and friendly, everyone from those on reception to the lovely ladies keeping the breakfast room ticking over each morning, nothing seems to be too much trouble for anyone. The smallest and only criticisms would be that the net curtains in the room were slightly torn and the lamp shades wobble because they don't fit over the low energy light bulbs properly, but hey such small insignificant things. We will be back next year!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've stayed at the hotel on several occasions and I WAS a huge fan and recommended the hotel to friends and colleagues. Until my recent stay.... I was unbelievably dissappointed. I understand it was a weekend but the price was much higher than normal and I was put in a room that was incredibly LOUD. I had street noise from 11pm till 4am. The noise from the room above me was undesirable. I was unable to sleep at all. I called the front desk throughout the night and the next day seeking a different room but the staff were unfortunately unhelpful.
The front desk staff told me that street noise is common in that room?? it wouldve been great to have been told that when i checked in and before i paid. After little to no sleep, I went to have a shower and found a pile of hair on the floor. And a used cotton bud that had cleaned someone's ear left on the floor of the bedroom.
I intended on staying an extra night, instead I checked out and stayed at a different hotel for a smaller price tag and a much better quality of sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Brewsters Mountain Lodge in March 2013 and I have to say it was an exceedingly comfortable Hotel with very friendly staff.
Our room was a decent size with ok bathroom and the beds were exceedingly comfortable and with the fantastic front staff made our stay very relaxing and ready for the boarding each day.
I think that prehaps the breakfast could be expanded a little but that was a minor point for us.
Overall an excellent place to stay in Banff

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Canada. We were impressed by the friendly attitude from everyone we encountered in Canada. It is such a pleasant experience so much better than we usually encounter in Europe.
Brewsters Mountain lodge is ideally positioned within the town. There are plenty of restaurants & bars within 200 meters of the hotel. The hotel does provide breakfast which is adequate but not what you would normally expect for a continental breakfast. You get tea coffee fruit juices cereals toast and bagels with a few pastries there is fresh fruit salad and natural yoghurt . If you want a cooked breakfast then don,t worry as there are many local cafe/ restaurants offering cooked breakfast. We also discovered that you can get cooked breakfast at the mountain lodges at lake Louise and Sunshine Village ski resorts.
The hotel provided cookies in the afternoon but not sufficient for all guests. If you returned by 4 pm then you were likely to find one.
The hotel has a rustic look throughout with an arrow theme which is not for everyone. The website images are a good reflection of what is provided. There is a lift to all floors.
The front of the building faces opposite a night club which to be honest did not affect us at all.
Our group of 5 had a fabulous experience throughout our holiday . We certainly would return to Brewsters Mountain lodge and will recommend a stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I would stay here again.
Overall great location and nice room. The only thing's i didn't like is our toilet ran for quite a while after flushing and you had to jiggle the handle to make it stop and at night the mini fridge was kind of loud. The fridge probably would have been fine if it was somewhere else in the room and not right beside the bed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, Cumbria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A group of 12 of us stayed here for an 11-night skiing holiday. The rooms were roomy, clean and comfortable with openable windows. The room was supplied with a coffee maker, kettle, iron & ironing board, although short of storage space and a bedside cabinet. There was some noise from rowdy people, but it was very occasional. The ski locker is great, although very tight if several people were trying to get skis out at the same time. The complimentary breakfasts were good and plentiful, but would benefit from a little more variation, if possible. There's small spa/fitness area that several of the group put to good use. The location is unbeatable, handy for all downtown Banff and the ski buses that stop at the rear of the Mount Royal, and the Banff Park Lodge, only a few minutes walk. The staff were available & very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brewster's Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Also Known As:
Brewster`s Mountain Hotel
Brewster`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Brewsters Mountain Hotel
Brewsters Mountain Banff
Brewsters Mountain Lodge
Address: 208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewster's Mountain Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brewster’s Mountain lodge is located in the heart of Downtown Banff, steps from shopping, dining, and nightlife. This 77-room hotel features complimentary continental breakfast and wireless internet included in all of our rates. We offer a sauna, hot tub, and small exercise area for our guests to enjoy after an exciting day of exploring! Handcrafted log furnishings and western décor define the interior of our lodge, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Brewster's Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewster's Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.