We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Brewster's Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Banff
Birmingham
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for 11 nights, as a base for skiing. The hotel is right in the centre, and good spot for all the night life. There is an underground car park, costs $5, but it is worth it when its -20 outside. It is first come first served though, and it was full on the weekends. The check in was quick and efficient. The rooms were great. Comfortable beds. There was an ironing board and kettle as well as the coffee machine. The kettle was a bit strange to use though.included is a continental breakfast, drinks, pastries etc. If you wanted to eat out there is plenty of choice.We used Coyote's which was just around the corner, and Melissa's which was a block away. There is a small gym, a sauna and whirlpool, The whirlpool can fit about 12 people, but was never full when i was there. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay there, the staff, were all brilliant and courteous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    186
    89
    37
    23
See reviews for
94
219
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was my first time staying at the Brewster Mountain Lodge. I booked this using Hotwire because I have had really good deals in the past. I read all the reviews after finding out I was staying at this hotel and saw that they were mostly positive with some noise complaints.

We stayed in their standard room and found the room was dated but it had everything we needed. Something I noticed was that there were not fitted sheets on the bed and the fleece blanket caused lots of static electricity within the sheets. I was woken up several times throughout the night from people coming back from the pub. The hotel did have a notice on the front door stating that noise was not tolerated and they only gave guests 1 warning before being asked to leave. The mattress was also very firm and was very uncomfortable.

The continental breakfast was not so great either. The yogurt did not taste fresh and the fruit they had was all canned and soggy.

So to conclude my stay, I was disappointed especially after reading the great reviews.

Pros:
Great location

Cons:
Noisy
Outdated
Continental breakfast
Mattress firmness

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at Brewster's Mountain Lodge Jan 18 - 20, 2013. The check in staff were polite, courteous and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The central location was great as we could park the car and walk to everything in town. The downside was that the TV remote control didn't work and the building was noisy. Now when I say noisy I am referring to things like the floors squeaked, so you could hear everyone around you and above you walking on the floor. The walls were paper thin so you could hear people the the room next door. That being said, the price of the hotel reflected that these were things we would have to tolerate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at Brewsters for a night and it was satisfactory. The room was clean and the wood decor was a nice touch. We had a third floor room with a balcony and even though it faced the alley, there was little to no noise to complain about. It was nice being so close to everything because trying to park in Banff in the winter is insane. The staff were friendly and courteous and knew what was going on around town. The beds weren’t the most comfortable, but they did the trick. The continental breakfast was, continental. Nothing overly impressive, but continentals aren’t supposed to be full fare. We were allowed to stay parked in the parkade after we checked out so we didn’t have to try and park outside. Would like to try other places in the future, but would go back to Brewsters in a pinch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here over Christmas and New Year and had a great time.
A great central location allows getting around really easy especially as it is so cold.
Stayed in one of the loft suites and really enjoyed the traditional log cabin feel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here on 14th December 2012 for 2 weeks. We had a room with two queen beds looking onto Bear Street. We could not hear the night club as mentioned in some reviews. The room was perfect. Great size, good heating system, good bathroom and very clean. It's a shame there wasn't a mini fridge.

The location was perfect! Close to all restaurants and shops but tucked back from the busy Main Street. Close to supermarket also. The hotel was a fantastic price for the service.

The breakfast was really nice and good quality (toast, bagels, cereal, fruit and pastries). The breakfast hours were very good; open until 10:30.

As we stayed over Christmas, the hotel organised Carroll singing, wine & cheese on Christmas eve which was nice.

The reception staff were great, always happy to help on any queries and advice about where to eat or where to go to rent equipment etc.

The whirlpool was a great touch to the hotel. We were always in there alone as others didn't seem to use it. The sauna needs turning on in advance so press the button before you get in the pool so it will be heated once you get out.

The hotel charges $5 per night to park in the car park. It's heated and secure. We didn't have any problems parking our hire car in there. I recommend hiring your car from Budget which is linked to the hotel, they charge a good rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel is smack dab in the centre of Banff on a quiet street. Hotel staff are most helpful, the hotel is within 30 sec. to two minutes from great restaurants - an advantage especially when temperatures hover around -30C. Parking on site is a bonus, breakfast allows for wholesome choices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brewster's Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Address: 208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewster's Mountain Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brewster’s Mountain lodge is located in the heart of Downtown Banff, steps from shopping, dining, and nightlife. This 77-room hotel features complimentary continental breakfast and wireless internet included in all of our rates. We offer a sauna, hot tub, and small exercise area for our guests to enjoy after an exciting day of exploring! Handcrafted log furnishings and western décor define the interior of our lodge, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Brewster's Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Brewsters Mountain Hotel
Brewsters Mountain Banff
Brewsters Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewster's Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.