We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Both elegant and cozy, it's the perfect place for a vacation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Brewster's Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99/taxes STD Rm Mid Wk
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Both elegant and cozy, it's the perfect place for a vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Brewster's Mountain Lodge is one of the best hotels at which I have ever stayed. It has a cozy lodge-like atmosphere with modern spacial rooms some of which include a jacuzzi bathtub. The location was excellent, specifically due to vacationing in snowy November. The hotel is one block away from the main strip of shops and restaurants. A nice breakfast is included with lots of fruit and pastries. I would highly recommend staying here especially for a couple vacationing in Banff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    218
    102
    38
    25
See reviews for
100
256
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Great 2 night stay on a Friday and Saturday night in the centre of downtown Banff. Definitely a very conveniently located hotel and with $5 a night underground parking it is certainly easy. The parking garage is tight and people with large vehicles will have fun.

My standard room looked out onto Caribou Street which people have mentioned was noisy. If you close the window, then it isn't an issue. There is more noise coming from the interior door as it is located on the main walkway for the second level.

The room itself was spacious and had heaps of room and a table. The free internet wasn't very good and was quite slow at times but no big deal as there are numerous coffee shops nearby with complimentary wifi. Bed and shower appeared clean enough and made for a comfortable stay and sleep especially after long days exploring the magnificent natural scenery.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

This hotel has a great central location regardless of the purpose of your trip to Banff. There is ample underground, secured parking which a nice extra. The hot tub and steam room are more than sufficient but nothing to rave about. Rooms are spacious and well maintained. Our only complaint was that our room overlooked a back ally to some of the nearby businesses. At 7:00am on a Saturday we woke to garbage trucks and snow plows directly outside our room, and the noise persisted for 45 minutes.

Room Tip: Ensure your room does not overlook the alleyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Just returned from our 3rd ski trip to Banff, and our 3rd stay at Brewsters.
We upgraded to a loft suite this time - if your budget can stretch the extra space you get in these is fantastic. The room itself was really quiet, and kept immaculate by the team there throughout our 11 night stay.
The complimentary continental breakfast is decent quality and served up in the (surely ironically named) Birds Nest. If you fancy something a bit more substantial, theres plenty of choice within a couple of minutes stroll.
You can't beat Brewsters for location - nothing's more than a 5 minute walk, including the ski bus stops to Sunshine and Lake Louise. Oh, and there's cookies waiting on the front desk for you when you come back from the slopes.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Director of Sales at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Hi Mr. Paul,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your 3rd stay with us, and had the opportunity to upgrade to our spacious 2 level Loft Suite. We hope we can welcome you back next winter as well!
From all the Staff at Brewster’s Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Stayed at Brewster's for a week at end February 2011. Having only ever skied in Europe and stayed in french chalets, Brewster's Mountain Lodge compared favourably. Our room was spacious with 2 queen beds and housekeeping was regular and very attentive. Location was fantastic, right in the centre of town, only a few minutes from the bus stop to the three ski areas and with a wide selection of good restaurants within a minute or so walk. Our room was generally quiet although we did occasionally hear the guests in the adjacent room or room above, but it wasn't loud enough to disturb us particuarly.

I had read some criticisms of the breakfast on this website, but we thought the breakfast was ideal - selection of cereals, bread/bagel/croissants and pastries with a toaster, fruit juice, coffee and selection of teas and even freshly made fruit salad every morning.

Sauna was quite big, the hot tub was always hot and fresh towles were provided down in the spa area. My friend was training for a run and found the gym with just 2 eliptical machines and 1 static bicycle a bit limited.

Only suggestion for improvement would be to improve the coffee/tea/kettle facilities in the guest rooms. We only had 2 sachets of coffee and 2 or milk each day which was never enough. Being used to the afternoon coffee and cake at the end of a day's skiing in French ski chalets, we really missed this. How about even having a coffee machine and mugs laid out at 4pm on the table in the communcal area where the computer is?

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

I had a week snowboarding with my wife and 6 friends at the end of Feb.
The hotel was great, friendly staff, great room, and breakfast.
The checking in process was good, I had everyone's rooms in my name and had been allocated 4 rooms next to one another, this made organising thing so much easier. The staff were very helpful with suggestions for eating and how to get around.
Facilities at the hotel were very useful, not only was there a warm ski/snowboard storage area, free lock were provided with the room to keep your gear safe.
The location was superb, easy walk to both ski shuttle locations, and to town.
I think my only complaints would be the size of the towels, and the bed rug. The towels were slightly smaller than I would like, but I asked for an extra one for our room and this made up for it (4 large towels 2 small was enough for the wife and I), the bed rug is me being picky, I had a suitable duet so the rug was more for show, like a throw sort of thing. Rooms were great size, with tea and coffee making facilities.
Basically Brewsters is the first place I would look to stay if I go back to Banff.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Around the corner from the shuttles to both Lake Louise and Sunshine, fun bars and great restaurants!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brewster's Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Address: 208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewster's Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brewster’s Mountain lodge is located in the heart of Downtown Banff, steps from shopping, dining, and nightlife. This 77-room hotel features complimentary continental breakfast and wireless internet included in all of our rates. We offer a sauna, hot tub, and small exercise area for our guests to enjoy after an exciting day of exploring! Handcrafted log furnishings and western décor define the interior of our lodge, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Brewster's Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Brewsters Mountain Hotel
Brewsters Mountain Banff
Brewsters Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewster's Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.