We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faether mattresses a bonus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Warwickshire, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Faether mattresses a bonus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

An excellent very well run hotel. Rooms are very clean and well equipped. The feather mattresses on the beds are a welcome bonus. Also has an excellent restaurant.

This was the best hotel we stayed in of four in the Rockies, and one in Vancouver.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    488
    137
    61
    22
See reviews for
229
609
45
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2006

Unfortunately it was only a one night stay for us at this lovely little hotel. Staff were very friendly, polite and efficient. Breakfast was not included in our deal but we paid C$12.99 for the buffet and it was excellent. The best night's sleep I'd had in a long while in the beautiful king size soft bed. OK the rooms are not luxurious and the bathroom quite small, but I'd stay there again if I visit Banff again.

  • Liked — The comfortable bed and huge breakfast
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — If breakfast is not included in your rate, go for the C$12.99 buffet
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

Expected this hotel to be just an average lodge but was pleasantly surprised. The room was nothing special but was confortable nonetheless and had everything you would need in a room. The best features of the stay were the staff, the breakfast and the free shuttle bus into town. The staff recommended and booked for us a horse riding trip which they had been on themselves and gave us tips on what to do and see. The breakfast was included and consisted of a buffet which was not only very good but was very nicely displayed and replenished. The staff were very attentive. The hotel offers a free shuttle bus to the centre of Banff which was such a bonus. Overall the hotel was very good value for money.

  • Liked — the breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — take advantage of the free shuttle bus to the centre of Banff
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

Stayed here for two nights. fine place to stay in banff, if a little overpriced, but seems like most places in banff are. It's about a 15 minute walk to town. you pass other hotels along the way and it's completely safe.
I also stayed at one of the other hotels the same company owns -- the driftwood inn. it was much closer to town and cheaper. the rooms arent as nice as caribou but you do have access to the whirlpool and health club at the place next door.

  • Liked — comfy bed
  • Disliked — out of the way
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

Nice clean rooms, with 2 double beds with duvet, which is way better than itchy wool blankets, it was just like a typical American room! We went to the restaurant on the first night which stays open till nearly midnight, my sister has very strict dietary requirements and they kindly offered to go off menu for her and mix and match 2 meals which is very rare that restaurants will be so kind to her!

The only thing I could fault about the hotel is the free shuttle bus which runs from early evening until 10.15pm then you will have to walk, which takes about 10/15 minutes and the fresh air is quite sobering but considering the shops stay open until 11pm, I think 10.15pm for last pick up is not very good!

You do have to pay for hotel parking but in hindsight we could have probably parked in the residential streets behind the hotel as there weren't many parking restrictions, mind you an elk might have head butted the car as we saw a few elk roaming one night near our hotel. The hotel is one of the first few on your way into Banff on the main road and when first driving into the car park if you have a big hire car like I did then the access into the car park is scary, especially if you drive through the entrance, just cheat and drive in through the exit otherwise you nearly hit the walls and pillars on the bend down to the car park!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The limited time the free shuttle bus run for
  • Tips/Secrets — Drive in through the exit to access the underground car park
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2006

We stayed at the start of our tour of canada. just two nights.
We upgraded our room and asked for a quiet area. Had both with a balcony on the side of the hotel.
Reception was helpful and we were assigned a basic room by our tour company. It was well worth upgrading and they did throw in the car park costs. The room was adequate but no air con which might nhave been needed if we had had the weather that Banff had had the previous week.
The hotel was fine for a two night stay.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2006

We spent two nights at the Caribou Lodge during a recent trip to Canada. As appears to be standard throughout Canada, the desk staff were extremely friendly and welcoming on our arrival. We were advised that the room, unbeknown to us, would not be available until 4.00pm and that it overlooked an inner quadrant. We were offered a larger, road-facing room for a modest additional fee and accepted it. The room was indeed large though only had one small window in the corner of the room. It was difficult to tell whether the room faced the road since there was another large building facing us that blocked much of the view. On this basis I would recommend that anybody staying at this hotel ask to see the rooms first before accepting an upgrade. I doubt the room we were originally to stay in would have been any less appealing.
The hotel itself has a warm and friendly atmoshpere. Minor requests were dealt with in a polite and efficient manner by members of staff. We dined on one occasion at the hotel's Keg restaurant. The food was good without being exceptional and the atmosphere seemed a little frantic. The level walk into town is not onerous - it takes about fifteen minutes. Some guests may be a little surprised to discover the Caribou Lodge has no air conditioning. We had a large fan in our room which compensated for this adequately though was a touch noisy. I would certainly be very happy to stay in this hotel again though would be inclined to turn down the offer of a room upgrade. If you do decide to take the upgrade save your hotel receipt and reclaim the tax at the airport.

  • Liked — the foyer
  • Disliked — small window in corner of room
  • Tips/Secrets — Lovers of Mexican food should dine at the Magpie and Stump
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.