We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edinburgh, Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We travelled to Canada in April 09 to get married in a Heli-Wedding just outside Canmore. Having stayed at the Caribou Lodge on a few occassions before I really couldn't think of a better, more relaxed hotel to stay at in the area. In fact it was Jim, the Front of House Manager, that originally gave me the idea of Banff for a wedding, when I was over on a boarding holiday a few years prior - I went home and proposed to Helen a few days later! It was just myself, and Fiance/Wife who were there, and from the minute we arrived the hotel staff made us feel at home. From sorting us out with a fantastic room, to helping us arrange romantic dinners and even the spa staff helping Helen out on the morning of our wedding.

We owe a huge a huge thanks to Jim and all the staff of the Caribou, Spa and the Keg for making our wedding/honeymoon the most perfect time we could have ever imagined.

If you are travelling to the area the Caribou should be your first choice hotel - it will always be ours.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    516
    140
    63
    22
See reviews for
237
635
50
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

The Caribou Lodge is grouped with the other main tourist hotels about a 10 min walk from central Banff, or use the complimentary pass provided by the hotel on the frequent bus service. If you have a car, there is complimentary parking in the underground garage, and free parking all over the town.

The lobby at the Caribou is huge, but unfortunately the rooms are not. Our top-floor room was barely big enough for the 2 beds (it would have fitted 3 times into our room at Vancouver's Blue Horizon!), but also had a small sideboard and dining set. There was no fridge or, surprisingly, wardrobe, just an alcove with a rail. No wonder the walls and furniture were showing signs of distress, particularly in view of winter sports usage and all that clobber! Also lacking is aircon, just a table fan provided for those hot summer nights. Having said all of that, we did enjoy a very comfortable stay.

The bathroom was probably the smallest we have come across in all our travels, being tucked away under the eaves and so small the door would not fully open. If space is so tight, it would surely be better just to provide a shower, and no bath.

The on-site restaurant is The Keg, and it is excellent. We found the buffet breakfast OK but not particularly sparkling, but in the evening, the meals really are worthwhile, in terms of quality, size, and service. There are also on-site spa and leisure facilities, which we did not sample and cannot therefore comment on. The hotel is heavily used by British tour companies so constant comings and goings, and very often corridors littered with luggage awaiting collection. One evening we looked into the Fox Hotel just a block away, and were surprised to find it almost empty. In contrast, the Caribou was rocking!

Although we enjoyed the Caribou, there are other nearby hotels in the same group we would probably try on another occasion. This time, notwithstanding the small rooms, the Caribou fitted the bill very well.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

We had travelled to Canada to meet up with out daughter who lives there and had mixed results with other hotels in Jasper and Lake Louise - my daughters reaction when entering the Hotel was - well this is more like it! And it only got better, very pleasant young man offered to upgrade our room for 25$ a night, by the time we decided it was $15 - lovely room with views over the mountain. Breakfast was good value too. Only slight downside is the cramped parking area underneath the hotel - we are pretty sure our rental car received its dent there. However I would not hesitate to stay at the Caribou again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

It is located in the main street of Banff but in a quiet position. The hotel is very comfortable, especially the room and the wide bathroom. The breakfast is very good; with a wide choose of fresh salads, fruits as well as warm dishes.
The staff is very kind, giving also suggestions how to spend time in Banff. To notice that the garage is underground and heated to prevent problems to the cars.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

The Caribou lodge is a great hotel in almost all ways.
We stayed in a very nice twin room with two very comfortable queen size beds, but be warned there is not a great deal of storage space especially if skiing with a family. Only two drawers and a small area with hangers ! Dont let that put you off , in every other respect the hotel gets top marks, especially for its friendly service and excellent food . The breakfast buffet is very good value for money providing you have a good appetite and the prime rib steaks are highly recomended.
The spa has a very nice and large hot tub which is great for easing those aching muscles after a long days skiing but there aren't many oter facillities in the spa unless your willing to pay for them.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BILSTON UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

The Caribou Lodge and Spa hotel in Banff is an excellent welcoming hotel of which I found no problems with.
The rooms have a pine effect. With large multi channel TV, The beds have are very comfortable. Free use of the spa is available.
Free heated under ground parkade.
The restaurant is part of the Keg group with an excellent choice of Steaks amongst other choices. (Reservations recommended at all times)
Although a short walk 5-10 minutes into Banff town centres this is not a problem because customers are given a free unlimited bus pass for the duration of their stay.
Banff is the best town in Canada by far (being I believe the highest town in Canada) it is full of Tat shops for your present hunting and a wide choice of Restaurants.
You may see various wildlife walking the streets of Banff town centre.
While in the area go to the Banff Gondola an 8 minute ride up Sulphur Mountain. Also next to the Gondola entrance is the hot springs where the water is 40 degrees all year very refreshing. round you will not regret visiting these two attractions.

A stay is recommended at Banff and the Caribou Lodge and spa

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

Stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed the Banff area. Lots to do and the hotel is close to it all. I got this room through priceline and got a great deal. Good atmosphere. Felt very homey. Staff was helpful. No real complaints. Rooms were on the small side, but we spent little time there since there was so much to do.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#13 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.