We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked the hotel via an online website and so all cost were pre-paid. Upon arrival my booking didn't existing - luckily there were still a few available rooms. The manager looked into it and was very friendly, apologetic, helpful. Problem solved and he honored the price that i paid (believe the drop in rate was much high than what i've paid).

The room

Clean, spacious and beautiful bathrooms. The basic room isn't that bed especially where there are two double beds in it. Be aware that there is no air conditioning in any of the rooms, but they provide you with a small fan. It wasn't that hot when i was there but i can imagine it being toasty during those hot summer days.

Pool

There is a giant hot tub there but no cooler swimming pool. The area is nicely appointed and it was great.

Parking

Plenty of underground parking!

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    562
    170
    68
    28
See reviews for
259
717
53
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Caribou Lodge - clean, extremely friendly. Well suited for easy access to downtown Banff - Bus stop at park next door to the left. Quiet location. Room balconies were great for relaxing and observing. Bus service is free with card from hotel. Rooms were very clean. Staff very friendly. Two issues - no air conditioning in the room - uncomfortable during warm spell. Old Pillows and foam mattress pad not all that comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel for two nights, room 435 floor 4. Room was clean, reasonable good size, with tea/coffee making machine and fridge. Though they had put a fan in the room and the window was open it was a very warm room (there was no air conditioning, only heating). The bed was very comfy and well as the pillows. The room itself was'nt my cup of tea in the decoration, as it was painted in quite a dark sage colour and the lighting was dull. The room carpet probably has had its day and needs replacing and if you are not a lover of antlers, well this is not a place to stay, everywhere you looked there were antlers, carpets, ends of curtains, beds, lights etc. I take it you get my drift! The staff were friendly and helpful and our second night we went for dinner in The Keg restaurant. I must admit the food was very tasty my husband said it was the best steak he had tasted in a while and I had the chicken which was also very nice. The prices we thought were good and the waitress was lovely! There was free wi-fi in the rooms which was good. The walk into the town took about 15 minutes, were there was plenty of shops to look in and wander around. If you needed a supermarket (Safeway) this was only about 5/10 minutes down the road from the hotel. Would stay in this hotel again, but would have to check whether they had proper air conditioning before hand.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We checked into the hotel and were treated like royalty, nothing was too much trouble for the lovely reception staff, they are a credit to the hotel, nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed in a suite which was on 2 levels with a balcony from the bedroom overlooking the lounge area below. The bedroom has a Jacuzzi bath in too.
The room was serviced every day and was left immaculate each time with new lotions and soaps, coffee etc. No complaints at all.
The hotel has the Keg restaurant attached to it where we had breakfast every morning and 3 evening meals. The staff were exceptional yet again, nothing was too much trouble and the food was excellent.
We spend a couple of nights in the bar too which was run very efficiently.
Please remember to tip these boys and girls as they work very hard to give that extra special service.
We will defiantly be visiting again, this was our first time in Banff, we loved the hotel, the place and the people. Thank you for a great weeks holiday.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel was ok. It is true that even though you would think you don't need air in banff, the hotel was stuffy and we moved rooms so as to keep the window open and not here traffic noise. Pool is a big hot tub so keep that mind and air and pool very hot. Rooms are very small but beds comfortable. Bathroom shower did not work well either.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of June and thoroughly enjoyed out stay. Our room was a fair size although not massive. Unfortunately we also didn't have any sort of view, just a 'courtyard' view but for the amount of time we were actually in our room, this wasn't a deal-breaker.
The hotel is in a great location just a 10 minute walk from the center of Banff or you can hop on the local service bus courtesy of the hotel which was very handy.
The hot pools at the hotel were a massive plus point! We visited twice during our stay and each time we were there, we had the entire place to ourselves - awesome! I can imagine the hot pools to be busier place during the winter months however!
Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel lobby was very well presented and maintained, as were the rooms. We would happily come back!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice property and I LOVED the locally made lavendar soaps. There were problems with W-Fi while there. When I talked to the person at the desk the first time he was rude and told me his Wife-Fi reception was fine and he didn't know what my problem was. When the problem continued I went back to the front desk the person there explained the problem and said they were working on it. I told her about my previous encounter and she immediately explained to me that this was not how they handled customer service. She immediately comped my dinner which I tried to refuse as that was not my intent in complaining. That evening when we returned to the room there was a very nice personal letter from the manager. Problems happen. To me it is how a business handles them that tells the true story. Know that at this lodge they have your best interest at heart and your problems will be handled in a kind courteous manner. That kind of gold star customer service is worth 5 stars to me. Oh, and by the way breakfasts were awesom. Cooked to perfection. And with the one exception everyone there was friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 943 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.