We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but no air con” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Banff
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel but no air con”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Fine hotel with great food (particularly breakfast) but no air conditioning in the room. Probably not a problem for winter skiing but rather uncomfortable in the summer. We tripped the electricity fuse trying to run a fan, kettle and hairdryer - thankfully sorted very quickly

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor for better views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    537
    148
    64
    24
See reviews for
244
664
51
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in June 2013. It was supposed to be just a one night stay, but due to roads being closed because of the flooding going on in the area, we ended up staying 4 days. It was great! The room was beautiful and clean, staff was helpful, and we loved the pool!

Every day we would get up and check out with the hopes of being able to drive out. And every day we would come back, they would greet us warmly, give us the same room, and lower their rates. I heard of other hotels raising their rates, but not this hotel.

Will definitely stay here whenever we return to Banff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uddingston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed in this hotel in February for a two week ski holiday and we had a fantastic stay. The hotels has a warm cosy atmosphere and welcome as soon as you enter. The rooms are clean, modern and have everything you could need. Breakfast is in the restaurant every morning and has a great selection of hot and cold choices - you won't be disappointed. We dined in this restaurant a few times but would recommend if you are staying over a weekend and want to dine, make a reservation as it tends to get very busy and a bit loud! This was the only time I could find any problems as there were a few hen and stag parties in. The hotel is located near the end of banff ave. but it's a nice walk up the street only taking around 10mins - even in the snow! The hotel also provides free bus passes if you don't fancy the walk. For a skiing trip I love this hotel. It has lockers in the heated underground car park and the busses pick you up right outside the hotel for all the resorts, the added bonus is that you are the second stop so get dropped of very quickly! All in all we had a good stay at the caribou - this was our 2nd stay. I would go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Was shocked when told I was given basement room. I'd asked for courtyard view but was given basement room with car park view. We found ourselves facing cars and people cleaning their cars outside the only window of the room. We were thus unable to open the window.

though I'd paid for 4 persons in room, we'd found only 3 sets of bathroom towels and toiletries. Otherwise room was as expected.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The four of us had a very good experience at this hotel. The service at the front desk was excellent, we received a warm greeting and the clerk was very helpful with suggestions of restaurants and activities. The room was tastefully decorated and the bed was comfortable. All we needed.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not facing the main street of Banff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were given a good size room with a very uncomfortable bed. Some towels were torn and had to be changed. The hotel is 20 minute walk to town but there is a bus and hotel provides free 3 day passes. Hotel does provide all the usual amenities but for us was a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Our trip with the Rocky Mountaineer was for the most part wonderful. The exception was the Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa. We stayed for two nights. They seemed to be cutting corners in every way. There was no air conditioning or fan. We were given one washcloth for two people for two days. They gave us one small sliver of soap for both the sink and shower for two days. There was long black hair on the bath towel which obviously belonged to neither of us. We had one orange which we cut up on the first day. Since we did not have a plate to put it on, we used the top of the ice bucket. It was not cleaned - found with the dried orange juice on it the next day. The mattress was ridiculously soft - probably old and worn. The carpet was in very bad shape.

Room Tip: Do not choose this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#13 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.