We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed only one night, more hotel like than the other accommodation we used previously in Banff. Room we had was a suit with a jacuzzi in the room which was very nice indeed. Room could have used a tad brightening up or more light sources as a few other reviewers have mentioned. Wifi is faint when at the room we had which was pretty much as far as you could get away from the reception. The restaurant in the hotel is absolutely superb as is the location. :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    485
    134
    61
    22
See reviews for
228
606
44
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The place was alright. The lobby shows great potential for what you might feel could be within. Even the room looks like it will be nice. But once you're in, you realize that all windows lead to the same inner court. This means that any music blasting from your neighbours will be echoed into your room.

Close your window? Not so fast. You will want your windows open - trust me. While I was there in winter, the room was pretty stuffy. Even when you do give up and close them, that noise and yelling, screaming, laughing and general partying by all of your neighbours still intrudes with ease.

There is a no-noise policy after 10 or 11, but... Lets face it, the town is full of young and inebriated folks. The setup of the hotel works against them.

If light is a problem, you may laugh at this, but the smoke detector light is incredibly bright. It's one of those high intensity LEDs that shines down and bores into your brain, much like Kenny Rogers Roasters to Cosmo Kramer on Seinfeld.

All that said, the hotel does have laundry on site at a reasonable price, underground parking, plenty of restaurants nearby, and a short walk into town (maybe 1.5km). This place does have a lot of potential, but it needs to invest a bit more to overcome the problems that come with younger folks staying.

Room Tip: Come at a time where you suspect there won't be many travellers staying. If the place is packed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Front Office Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Lodge. I am sorry that we did not provide more options to make your stay more comfortable, as our superior rooms all have an exterior view of the hotel, I am certain we could have moved you into a more suitable room.

We have noted your comments regarding the light of the smoke detector and will look into making improvements. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

For future guests travelling with us, we would like to point out that our quiet time is indeed at 11pm and we have security on site from 11pm until 5am. Any excessive level of noise after that time is always dealt with in an efficient and professional manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Location 10min walk to city center.
Good Restaurant The Keg.
Friendly front desk and restaurant staff.
Red Earth spa nice, but w/ 40°C too hot to use in summer (we came in July).
We got a quite small room in 4th floor to main street "Banff Av" w/ free underground parking and Wifi.
Decor was "all green" -- if one likes it...
BUT only way of cooling room was via A/C in hotel floor (e.g. open door) or small fan and open window (which did not open very wide). We could not really cool down room below 23°C. No ventilation or A/C in room.
Beds & sleeping comfort only average.
Some noise from main street (max. 40km/h) & railroad tracks.

Room Tip: I have no idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We love Trip Advisor and people's comments steered us toward this hotel. I read about some people not liking it because it was too hot because they don't have A/C. It is true that they do not have A/C and maybe we were lucky staying here during a cooler spell in the middle of summer but we have loved this property. Everyone has been so nice and courteous. Kudos to Cairen (I am pretty sure I did not spell his name correctly!) for moving us from an inner courtyard room to one in the back of the property with a balcony. The airflow and light really is much better in a balcony room so if you can get that, you will be a happy camper (or is that a hoteler?). I must admit I was concerned about the room at first because it is right across from the elevator AND the ice machine and I am a light sleeper BUT the in-room portable fan creates enough white noise that I don't hear anyone or anything when it is on. So I have been sleeping great! The restaurant here is a bit pricey BUT it is excellent food. Pretty much anywhere you eat in Banff is going to cost you money. You should at least splurge on one dinner on property while you are here. There is an in-room mini fridge so you can always go a few blocks up to the local Safeway and get some breakfast and lunch stuff to keep your food bill more in check. The whirlpool in the spa area is fabulous. I don't usually touch one with a 10-foot pole when I'm in a hotel but this one is huge AND while we were there this afternoon a staff member came in to take a sample of the water so I know they are checking the quality and cleanliness. Some people in earlier reviews griped about the property not being right downtown but if you can walk 5-6 blocks it is no big deal. If we come back to Banff, we would stay here again. We have had (and are having as I am writing this while we are still here) SUCH a great time. :)

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a room on the backside of the hotel. The front rooms overlook the main street in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Front Office Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are pleased to hear you had an excellent time, and appreciate your loyalty. Whether it be for a ski trip, or perhaps a summer hiking trip next time, we hope to welcome you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Wow, almost $300 bucks a night, for a Super-duper small room, and no AC. We had to get two fans from guest services to cool off during the heat wave last week. Granted Banff dose not get that high of temperatures. A hotel for that price should invest in an AC system of some sort...
So we hit up the pool. Nope, no pool just a fantastic photo shopped picture of the hot tub, to make it look like a pool. kudos! Hot tourist soup. Just what we needed.
No Breakfast included. Pretty disappointed.

On the positive- clean room, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you are claustrophobic. Small rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My 3 girlfriends and I stayed here June 2013. Right after all the flooding. The front desk gave us an amazing discount because they had had so many cancellations and appreciated the length we drove to come (6 hours instead if 3 due to the floods). We were on the bottom floor very close to the spa, which was perfect for our group! The spa offered awesome packages and it's the best facial I've had anywhere in the world! It was also great having the Keg resteraunt attached. The bathrooms were awesome and there was enough room for two people to be in there getting ready for all banff has to offer! The only thing I could say that could be better is if the rooms were cooler. They did have fans in each room but the a/c could have been better. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms are cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Beautiful common areas, everywhere; upscale feel; great for couples, others too; much nicer and somewhat pricier than our usual 2.5-3 star hotel choices, but worth it

It's so nice I immediately looked for a bellhop at the entrance (didn't see one, luckily, for us anyway), and so nice that if I were just checking it out, I'd normally do a U-turn before getting to the front desk...It's a definite step up in quality from its sister property, Inns of Banff, across the street.

Pros: Beautifully remodeled room (typical 2-bed hotel room layout), particularly the bathroom; underground parking (good for winter); beautiful indoor pool/steam room/fitness room (all in the same area)
Cons: Difficult parking underground, with so many pillars and SUVs/minivans; chilly hallways (good temperature for summer in Arizona or Florida, not the Canadian Rockies); over-chlorinated indoor pool (eyes stung after a while without even putting head under water); slow-draining tub
(Stayed July 21)

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.