We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Sedgley
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was worried about this hotel, but in the end was proven wrong.

The staff are friendly and helpful. Particular mention should be made to the barman in the Keg originating from Ipswich, who went out of his way to assist us and showed great kindness to my wife who was ill when we went in for a meal.

The rooms are dark but nicely furnished, and the fact that they did not have AC was cured by a fan provided and the fact the window could be opened. I would imagine however that in very hot conditions a fan would not be sufficient to cool the room.

The Keg also doubled has the breakfast room, with a decent selection of food, but the scrambled eggs you could have used for filling in potholes. Their Egg Benedict was however not bad at all. Because of my wife's stomach problem we only ate once in the Keg in the evening, she did not have a full meal at all, but what I had the quality was very good.

Overall a nice hotel, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Front Office Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We hope everyone is in good health, and hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    538
    151
    64
    24
See reviews for
244
671
51
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We also had a dark room on the inside of the property, but it was clean and comfortable with an excellent bathroom. The Keg restaurant which is attached to the hotel does excellent steaks in the evening and a good pint of draft IPA. I found the full buffet breakfast rather disappointing but the continental had a very good selection. The staff were all friendly and helpful. it's a bit out of town, but there is an infrequent bus service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolkUK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

It's 10pm. I am in my hotel room. It's 29degreesC. Sleep will be impossible.There is no air conditioning. I'm dripping with sweat. No, I don't mean it's broken. In a class, expensive hotel with 1st floor spa and pool, with all sorts of luxury services (paid for of course), they are too money grubbing to bother to fit air conditioning. This in an area of continental climate known to have hot periods, on the same latitude as southern England. They will give you a fan to move the hot air around.
All this for $200 a night?
The restaurant attached has priced that are high for dinner and eye-watering for breakfast.
The general décor is adequate.
In comparison to the 2 hotels of similar price so far used on this tour, this hotel is by far the worst
Location is poor- on a main road and much further out of the centre than the competition. Fortunately, other hotela close by will take in waifs and strays and feed them at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: If in June-September, unless it's raining or cold, find another hotel. Rooms on the southern si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The room was clean and comfortable. Not much natural light, though overlooking a small court-yard/garden area. The restaurant/bar area is good and kept busy. You need to book a table to have an evening meal. Service was excellent. Breakfasts are ok, but there are other equally good and more reasonably priced options down the street. The location is fine. Twenty minutes from the town centre and as many bars/restaurants as you might want. We did a river/forest walk out of town: it's an easy place if you are prepared to walk. An elk joined us for breakfast one morning, and some travelling companions were within arms reach of a grizzly ambling along a street. Surreal if you're not Canadian. No complaints about our stay here......except when the fire alarms went off at midnight and no-one told us it was a false alarm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here for two nights for our visit to Banff. The only downside was the room we had was a bit on the dark side. The window let no light in whatsoever being at the side of the building and the décor was brown and olive green. Other than that it was nice and comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Perhaps an upgrade to a brighter room may be possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Brilliant value and cozy are two words to best describe this place. Great location (about 10 mins walk straight to downtown), adequate parking on site, neat and clean. Can't go wrong for 99$ a night, especially given all the other lodges/hotels right next to AND opposite this location.

Only gripe was lack of good onsite dining options, especially for breakfast. The Keg on-site was a real let-down with stale, distasteful options. Food was cold, undercooked and severely lacked variety especially given a price of $15 for the buffet...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This, like most hotels in Banff are built & decorated in Alpine style. It is a bit dated & it does not offer complimentary breakfast. Instead, they have all parked-up with the chain restaurants to take advantage of the limited real estate space & lower overhead.
They have made a few higher than average quality upgrades such a faucets but still has the old windows.
What it does offer is a great spa, great natural soaps & the best sheets & pillows to date.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.