We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the park lodge ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Better than the park lodge ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The lodge is right off the main strip and I was expecting more noise but it was nicely quiet at night. Free underground parking and good wifi make my day and a free coffee in the morning too.

The room was nicely renovated and lacked the sixties charme of many other places in the region (sarcastic comment). Room was small but very clean and the bathroom spotless. All I need.

The Keg is right downstairs which is for lazy people nice for a steak after hiking - no discount for hotel guests :).

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    537
    147
    64
    24
See reviews for
244
664
51
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This place is fantastic , if you're staying in Banff don't look elsewhere......

The staff are are great , check in was easy they even provide you with free bus passes to get around town and some of the attractions.

You can walk into town in around 15-20mins if you prefer.

There's free car parking under the hotel , it also has laundry and a spa.

The rooms are are very nice with fantastic beds and a great TV and a good sized bathroom with shower etc etc.

Probably the thing we enjoyed the most was the food in the Keg restaurant , we had the same thing three nights in a row the food was that
good, breakfast was excellent the French toast is the best we've ever had.

So if you're staying in Banff this is the place to go.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Booked. Superior room and got a small room for 4 people. After long argument got a different room... Same size one floor higher. Complaint again and got yet another room, facing the street on the 3rd floor, no AC with a small window that opens half way only.
Needless to say we are very disappointed

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Used trip advisor to find family friend hotel in Banff. Excellent customer service in every aspect from the front desk staff to the Keg staff. The rooms are elegant and well maintained. Great atmosphere. Definitely would return.

Room Tip: Does lack a pool for kids but the park across the street makes up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We arrived at about 1pm after travelling from Calgary, although we were early for check in they gave us a room and so we were able to put our bags in and have more time to do some sight seeing. A very nice hotel and comfortable room.
We were given a free bus pass that saved us using the car for local sight seeing and the problem of parking. Buffet breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had 2 days at the Caribou Lodge in early June. We were delighted with the hotel. Pleasant staff, nice room and very good food (Keg Steakhouse and Bar on site) and in a good location, just a 10 minute walk from the centre. If we pass through Banff again we would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Banff Caribou Lodge. The front desk staff was warm, helpful, welcoming & made for a very hospitable stay. They answered all our questions in detail courteously.

The property is located approximately 0.7km from downtown, but it is a very manageable walk into town (about 15 minutes, even with kids in tow!). It is in a safe setting & nicely maintained. It's nice to have free parking on (under) the property as well. Additionally, as a guest of the hotel, you have free access to Banff's Roam Buses to take you into/around town. The frequency of the buses isn't optimal, but it's a great option, especially during the busy seasons.

Our room (a double w/ 2 queen beds) was comfortable, clean, & spacious. WiFi access is complimentary & reliable. The bathrooms are also clean, spacious & have everything you need. Storage space in the room is also great.

The hot tub area is awesome- kids loved it & it is a great place to relax after a day out & about. It is clean, modern, & soothing.

Overall, this is a great property & hotel & we would definitely stay here again when in Banff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#13 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.