We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Banff
Erbil, Iraq
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

My mom and I stayed here for 2 nights in mid April. Check in was a breeze and the fact that they have free underground parking is great. Especially since the weather can be pretty cold and snowy in Banff. Our room was pretty nice though a touch on the small side. I paid an extra $15 to secure a balcony and frankly it was pretty small and shared with the room beside us. The toiletries were decent and I really liked the small handmade bars of soap that were from a local company. The beds were very, very soft and the pillows were not so comfortable. I also found our room very warm, even with the heat turned down all the way, the second night we actually slept with the balcony door open. We did the breakfast offered at the Keg. It was pretty standard, though I thought some of the fruit tasted funky, maybe something they put on it it keep it looking fresh? The strawberries were the only fruit that tasted normal. The muffins are pretty yummy though. Their coffee is also really terrible there, I had one sip and didn't drink the rest. Honestly I'm not sure it was worth the $13 but the convenience of it was nice. The hot tub looked pretty nice but I feel the pictures of it make it look bigger then it really is. All in all a good, reasonably priced place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    494
    479
    131
    61
    21
See reviews for
226
596
43
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here for a week over Easter and loved it so much we returned for an extra night before flying back home. The Front Desk Staff are fabulous and could not have been more helpful, informed and efficient (especially a young Dutch woman whose name escapes me). The superior rooms are spacious and comfortable and the beds are simply the best I have slept on in any Hotel. The hot pool was a lovely way to relax after a day on the slopes and the buses to the mountain resorts are ALWAYS on time. The food in the restaurant was very good and a strong pound made eating out comparatively cheap to UK prices. The wonderful sight and smell of a big log burning fire in the reception area will stay with me forever. Well done Caribou Lodge, I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on 3rd floor are better designed than the ones we stayed in on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here with my husband for 2 nights. Arrived and found our king room to be really really small. The staff at the front were polite and moved us to a different room right away, which was nice. The room is adequate, but nothing special. Bathroom would be much better with a larger bathtub or at least a tapered back. The bed didn't have a fitted sheet which was weird.. I read that in one of the previously written reviews too. We were also surprised at the amazing reviews for The Keg. Our dinner was again, average, and when we went for the breakfast buffet yet next morning the food was lukewarm, hard, and picked over. We got there at 10, and breakfast ends at 11.
The redeeming quality of this hotel is the pool/sauna. It was quiet, relaxing and clean. The hotel staff did a good job. Overall, an average hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel has been updated. The room is nice and staff are friendly and helpful. Parking is free (this is only one of a few in Banff) as is Wi Fi. Location is near the end of the strip but the walk is not that far to downtown. Beds are OK. Rooms are hot as there is no air conditioning. We stayed one night.Rate was good for Banff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here for one night. The hotel is very pleasant, as was our room. The staff were helpful and friendly. However, it was too warm, and we were told it was nor possible to turn the heating down but to use a fan instead. There did not appear to be a working extractor fan in the bathroom either. We had to leave the window open meaning that road noise was inevitable. The breakfast buffet was ok, but somewhat limited. The spa pool was pleasant but spoiled by brash kids making a lot do noise and drinking beer, in spite of notices not to! It was ok for one night, but I would not have wanted to holiday here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Beds are terrible. We got the "superior" room with "mountain luxury beds". Not sure what their definition of luxury is but these beds must have been bought at uncle Ed's bargain basement.
Elevator seems like a death trap
Not enough parking in the hotel parking lot so you have to park way behind the hotel.it would only make sense that there would be enough spots for hotel guests since they give you a pass to put on your dash board. Nope not the case, they seem to let everyone in considering when I couldn't find a spot and saw no passes on some dashboards. Front desk didn't seem to really care when I raised the issue.
Too many loud mouth skids that made noise at all hours of the night..... Front desk didn't seem to care.

On a positive note the spa is excellent and the hotel was very clean

Room Tip: Go to another hotel, there are many good ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We spent one night at the Banff Caribou Lodge and Spa and really enjoyed it. We were very surprised at this hotel given the really affordable rate we paid. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the beds were super comfortable. There is a Keg restaurant in this hotel which was also very good, although super expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.