We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Nice hotel. The whole hotel smells like woodsmoke, but I like woodsmoke so no problem there. The breakfast package was a bit sketchy. We went down...not breakfast buffet like the website says..you just get seated and get to order something from part of the menu during the weekdays. Room was nice kinda a weird shape and a long walk from the elevators. We did the spa too and the pool was nice. Nice underground parking.

Room Tip: ask to stay up high if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    507
    138
    62
    21
See reviews for
232
627
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed at the hotel over Christmas, this was our third stay, every time the hotel has been clean the staff have been really polite and more than helpful with all our requests. The amenities are great with the spa and pool Second to none for a hotel this size. The added bonus is also having the Keg restaurant attached. We would only ever use this hotel on any of our future stays at Banff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Pros:
Easy to locate/access when you first come into Banff
Fresh lodge atmosphere
Friendly Staff
The Keg restaurant downstairs puts on an amazing breakfast buffet for a fair price.

Cons:
Long walk into the centre of town, but refreshing the time of year we traveled (end of March)
Tight parking, the underground parking is full of pillars and its a tight squeeze into some of the spots, park carefully
Rooms a tad small, we did not do any upgrades, just a basic room

Overall a nice hotel in the beautiful town of Banff. Do have the breakfast buffet, it's wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent New Years Eve at the Caribou Lodge. Room was so extremely hot and smelled of wood smoke. The fire alarm went off at 2:30 am, false alarm thank goodness.
The manager made our stay worthwhile after hearing our numerous complaints, gave us 1/2 off room and free breakfast, very accommodating for sure.
Pleasant surroundings, hope they check out the fire place and the heating.

Room Tip: Not a pool for those travelling with kids wanting to "swim". It is a hot tub, and it is sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Front Office Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Caribou Lodge.

I’d like to apologize on behalf of the Caribou Lodge for the unpleasant experience you had over New Years Eve. Unfortunately we were not able to identify those who caused the false alarm; however, we are hopeful that we managed to mollify any poor experiences that resulted from it.
We’ve forwarded your concerns about the heat and smoke that also affected your stay to our maintenance department in order to try and avoid this in the future as well.

I would also like to mention that the Caribou Lodge is part of the Banff Lodging Company, which has multiple properties including ones which do have swimming pools should you be looking for this during a future visit to Banff.

It is great to hear that upon learning of your negative experiences that our team was able to make up for some of the errors you experienced while here and we hope that you’ll give the Caribou Lodge another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed at the Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa for several nights in December for work-related meetings. Nice ambience (huge fireplace in the lobby), underground parking, great spa (had a wonderful massage and pedicure) and beautiful "hot pool" (big hot tub), good meeting facilities, and nice to have The Keg restaurant on the main floor. Cute rooms with nice bedding, although the regular rooms are a bit on the small side. Nice location in Banff, right on the main avenue.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Just got back from an amazing weekend in Banff. Had booked online, for my fiancés birthday. When we arrived, we were surprised to find out we had been upgraded to a suite. The room was gorgeous, loved the Jacuzzi, fireplace and Christmas tree. The staff at the Caribou Lodge toke the time to make this weekend special, he was given a handwritten Birthday card , and a bottle of Champagne. Was the Perfect Weekend away ! Would Stay here again and again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were booked in as part of our Rocky Mountaineer trip. What a lovely hotel! Very friendly and helpful staff, lovely clean rooms, wonderful hot tub and spa. Caught the bus in to Banff (given free pass by hotel) but walked back as not far. Breakfast very good although service a little on the slow side. Would definitely stay again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.