We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, very welcoming.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Tours, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, very welcoming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We originally booked into Caribou Lodge & Spa for a single night but ended up staying four making it our base while touring the Rockies. Having checked in we requested an upgrade to a balcony room to which they obliged free of charge. The rooms are nicely decorated and the beds amazingly comfortable. The complementary spa pool, although small is very relaxing. The Keg restaurant within the hotel serves very good full English breakfasts as well as great evening dinners, the "baseball top sirloin" is superb. We would definitely recommend this hotel.and look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony to allow you to open the patio doors to benefit from the fresh air and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    507
    138
    62
    21
See reviews for
232
627
48
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were traveling through the Rockies and decided to stop in Banff during a crushingly cold storm. Went online and found the Lodge site. Real easy to book a room for my wife and I. We arrived and were warmed by the great mountain lodge lobby and numerous greetings by staff as we headed to check in. Check in was quick. Simple overview of the hotel and amenities. We were in our room within 5 minutes of checking in. Heated underground parking was a bonus even for my truck.
The room was perfect. Overlooking the rear wooded park and quiet residential area. Clean, warm, nicely decorated. Well done BCL. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: If your looking for peace and quiet, ask for a rear view. It was our luck but if you want to assure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here with the girlfriend on the Rememberance day long weekend and the trip itself was a last minute decision. Rate was fair considering it was a busy weekend and a lot of other places were booked up.

The hotel itself was on the outer part of Banff and to walk to downtown took a few minutes. Check in went smoothly and they give free underground parking which is a bonus. The parking itself was kind of cramped but was acceptable. The hallways smell like campfire and baked potatoes which was great at first, but after 2 days started to give us a headache.

Our room was situated on the 4th floor with a nice view of the main street. The windows opened and the area was nice and quiet, not a peep from our neighbors. The room was super clean and well appointed.

The bed was kind of lumpy and we woke up several times during the night.

The keg in the hotel was a bit of a disappointment, not from a service point of view but the food was lacking, as well as the atmosphere. But thats a different review.

We did not interact with the staff much, other than the front desk when checking in and getting an internet password. But they were quite friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel is beautiful! The room was comfortable and it's nice to have The Keg restaurant right in the hotel. My father was very impressed with the lobby and happy to see a nice wood fire. It is also great to have access to an interior parking as finding parking in Banff is not always an easy thing to do.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed two nights in a loft/king/jacquzzi Suite. It was a nice get-away. The room was super comfortable. We ate breakfast at the Keg twice, great buffet choices. Also used the spa for a couples massage and a workout in the morning. It was nice to be able to dip into the hot pool afterwards....a very relaxing day. I would recommend the Suite for a special night, worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed for two night at The Caribou Lodge , when we went through the Rocky Mountains in the Great Rocky Mountaineer train , which was a great experience . When we went into the hotel , just at the right hand side of the check in desk was a roaring log fire which was a great welcome for me .All the staff were very helpful the food was very good . Our room was very comfortable with great bathroom . We could not say anything about the swimming pool and spa , so we cannot comment on that side of the hotel , but the rest was excellent .

Room Tip: Our room was very comfortable and nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Booked 'bed & breakfast' promotion online. Fantastic value. Room was very clean and well appointed. Bathroom was nice but toilet was situated so close to the vanity it was laughable. Angle seating required if you are larger than a 10 year old girl. The included breakfast at the Keg was more than ample.
Only complaint was that we returned late after a movie to find the parkade full. No access code required to park and a few vehicles did not have passes so that is bound to happen.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.