We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent loft suite.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Banff
blackpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent loft suite.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This place was very good value for money with an in room hot-tub and a two story suite with two bathrooms for a bargain price compared to some other canadian hotels. It has an underground carpark which must be nice in the Canadian winter and a very nice breakfast with complimentary take away coffee. The in house restaurant is average for dinner. The spa area has a giant hot tub that is very hot with a sauna and a very very small fitness area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive review, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our Loft Suite. We hope to see you again in the future should you make your way to the beautiful Rockies again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    484
    134
    61
    22
See reviews for
228
601
44
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killam, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Although the rooms were neat and clean they were so incredibly hot that we had one of the most uncomfortable stays we've ever had at a hotel. We knew the hotel didn't have air conditioning but we figured travelling in October that shouldn't be an issue. We travelled with two other couples and one couple after one night had to change rooms with a balcony just to get fresh air coming through the room to make it tolerable. My sister and her husband along with myself and my husband were not as fortunate. They did give us 20% off our stay but didn't seem to care how our stay was. Frustrating experience, what's the point in staying at a hotel when it's uncomfortable to even sleep at night. I don't know how people can tolerate it in October let alone the summer months. We will not be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not pick inside corridor rooms....rooms on the outside with balcony's seem to get better air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We apologise that your stay was uncomfortable, or if we made you feel like there was a lack of customer service. To clarify, we offered to move you straight away to another room of the same type which was cooler, this was declined. We then suggested a move to a balcony room the following night, but this offer was also refused. As to reach our goal of 100% guest satisfaction, we tried to make amends by giving you a discount, which we were hopeful would be acceptable to you. For future travellers or yourself if you come back to Banff, we do have other properties which offer air conditioned Suites, please contact our Reservations Department for more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing sussex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here as part of a Titian rail tour holiday.
Hotel good, rooms clean and large comfortable beds. Staff were helpful and cheerful without being
Intrusive.
Had breakfast in the restaurant which was very good and worth the money.
Enjoyed a evening meal in The Keg, melt in the mouth steak, but was a little pricy.
Didn't use the spa so can't comment on that.
Enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A lovely hotel with friendly welcoming staff. The burgers in the restaurant are to die for.
Rooms were clean and spacious with big comfortable beds. I would certainly recommend this hotel and look forward to going back one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Good location in Banff Avenue with a 10 min stroll into the main shopping area. Free bus passes provided if you wanted to make use of them. Rooms were spotlessly clean and care was taken to ensure that the bathroom corners were also spotless! The restaurant offered some excellent food for breakfast and dinner although this was a little pricey. However the quality of food was excellent - the steaks were thick, juicy and cooked to the diner's requests. Would certainly stay here again if in Banff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sandy, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have stayed twice in as many months at this hotel & would go again in a heart beat! LOVE it!!! The staff is wonderful, the rooms are so comfortable as are the beds. My husband loved the soap so much that I am going to order some for home! We had two rooms & enjoyed our stay so much. Dinner in the Keg was awesome as was the breakfast buffet! The views & location were the best too.

Room Tip: Book early & stay as long as possible! Beds are great, food is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A great hotel not far from the center of Banff, nice touch from the hotel with the free bus pass into town. Good overall service from the staff in the hotel and the keg restaurant. You get a book of discount vouchers to use at some of the local attractions/restaurants/shops etc, we used the voucher for the Alpine helicopters tour and got a 15% discount. They have a great open fireplace in the lobby area, and you can get complimentry tea and coffee there, upto 11am.
All in all a very good hotel with some great ammenities and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#12 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.