We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Hove
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A great hotel not far from the center of Banff, nice touch from the hotel with the free bus pass into town. Good overall service from the staff in the hotel and the keg restaurant. You get a book of discount vouchers to use at some of the local attractions/restaurants/shops etc, we used the voucher for the Alpine helicopters tour and got a 15% discount. They have a great open fireplace in the lobby area, and you can get complimentry tea and coffee there, upto 11am.
All in all a very good hotel with some great ammenities and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    495
    137
    62
    21
See reviews for
230
616
46
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Caribou lodge was a very nice,comfortable,affordable and well located hotel. The rooms were well heated and quite,windows could be opened if need be. We did not use the pool or the spa but they looked very nice & well maintained there also was a sauna for guests use.
The in house Keg restaurant was an excellent restaurant we had great meals there on both nights.
We were provided with free passes for the bus which stopped right at the font of the hotel and there was free good under hotel parking with the lift going to the parking area.
The staff were very friendly & helpful all in all it was a lovely place to stay in a beautiful town amid magnificent scenery.

Room Tip: The room we had looked out to the front street and was on the second floor.we had 2 queen beds &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Located just outside Banff centre but easy to get to town using the free bus pass. Plenty of restaurants around hotel and a good one, The Keg chain attached.
Nice welcome.
Room OK, bed comfortable but the down comforter/mattress topper wasn't fixed to the bed and kept slipping as sheet wasn't big enough to stay tucked in. Get some elastic on the corners or bigger sheets.
Loo is placed too close to the vanity unit, strange when they have a decent wall length.
Rooms warm and no air con but fans are provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed two nights here in Banff as part of our trip around the southern Rockies. The hotel was ideally suited for us away from the cenre but only a 10 minute walk away from all the shops, restaurants - we prefer some peace and quiet. The room was very comfortable and all the other facilities in the room were of high quality. We had breakfast in The Keg and it was exactly what we wanted with an excellent choice but having eaten on a cruise liner for 7 days we really enjoyed the healthy breakfast we could have of yoghurt, granola and fruit. The normal breakfast looked very good as well. The staff were very attentive and helped us visit the type of places that interested us - we were given good information and all the places we visited were excellent from the Indian Store and museum, the caves and hot springs then up the gondola for teh most amazing views.

We would both highly recommend this hotel when staying in Banff.

Room Tip: What makes a good room to us is a comfy bed and lovely bathroom with hot water and all the facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed at the hotel quite a few times during the ski season and you can't find a better small hotel with a rich feeling. Has an attractive appearance. Good price during winter months (Nov.-April). Well appointed rooms-newly updated, nice welcoming staff, nice pool/spa, easy indoor parking (possibly not with a ski box on top--ask first), nearby restaurants plus has the great "The Keg" steakhouse within the building. Ask for special treatment if one of your family members has a birthday/anniversary. Updated info at the front desk regarding ski conditions in the early am sometimes evening before.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A very comfortable Hotel, friendly staff, very clean, value for money, in very good position. Good food in the Keg restaurant, really enjoyed our three night stay.
Banff is a beautifull town, with lot's to see & do, would stay again at the Caribou Lodge again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

On arrival at caribou lodge,I found the reception staff excellent,very informative and helpful,
We had just travelled the inside passage of Alaska,with n.c.l cruise line and arrived in Banff on the rocky mountaineer, we always travel gold class where ever we go, we were allocated a suite upgrade on arrival, which I can only say was spectacular in space over two floors of luxury,
A huge hot tub in the bedroom area,large comfortable bed, large flat screen t.v with DVDs and free Internet, lovely bathroom with large wet room and fantastic pressure shower,
All the toiletries you require.
Down stairs in the lounge area was a huge log fire which lit remotely as you sit on the Sofa to watch the large screen tv , you can easily see the luxury of this hotel, a downstairs toilet and wash area,plenty of space for our 3 large cases, towels,robes plentiful what more could you ask,
I was highly delighted and it made my stay in Banff more magical, well done Caribou lodge I will return and highly recommend you to my friends. Regards a seasoned well travelled happy customer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your upgrade, and thank you for the positive feedback about our staff. At Banff Caribou Lodge we take pride in our high level of service, and I am grateful to you for recognizing this. I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.