We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights in Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Banff
Essex UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Two nights in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed two nights here in Banff as part of our trip around the southern Rockies. The hotel was ideally suited for us away from the cenre but only a 10 minute walk away from all the shops, restaurants - we prefer some peace and quiet. The room was very comfortable and all the other facilities in the room were of high quality. We had breakfast in The Keg and it was exactly what we wanted with an excellent choice but having eaten on a cruise liner for 7 days we really enjoyed the healthy breakfast we could have of yoghurt, granola and fruit. The normal breakfast looked very good as well. The staff were very attentive and helped us visit the type of places that interested us - we were given good information and all the places we visited were excellent from the Indian Store and museum, the caves and hot springs then up the gondola for teh most amazing views.

We would both highly recommend this hotel when staying in Banff.

Room Tip: What makes a good room to us is a comfy bed and lovely bathroom with hot water and all the facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    485
    460
    121
    57
    17
See reviews for
212
573
40
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed at the hotel quite a few times during the ski season and you can't find a better small hotel with a rich feeling. Has an attractive appearance. Good price during winter months (Nov.-April). Well appointed rooms-newly updated, nice welcoming staff, nice pool/spa, easy indoor parking (possibly not with a ski box on top--ask first), nearby restaurants plus has the great "The Keg" steakhouse within the building. Ask for special treatment if one of your family members has a birthday/anniversary. Updated info at the front desk regarding ski conditions in the early am sometimes evening before.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A very comfortable Hotel, friendly staff, very clean, value for money, in very good position. Good food in the Keg restaurant, really enjoyed our three night stay.
Banff is a beautifull town, with lot's to see & do, would stay again at the Caribou Lodge again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

On arrival at caribou lodge,I found the reception staff excellent,very informative and helpful,
We had just travelled the inside passage of Alaska,with n.c.l cruise line and arrived in Banff on the rocky mountaineer, we always travel gold class where ever we go, we were allocated a suite upgrade on arrival, which I can only say was spectacular in space over two floors of luxury,
A huge hot tub in the bedroom area,large comfortable bed, large flat screen t.v with DVDs and free Internet, lovely bathroom with large wet room and fantastic pressure shower,
All the toiletries you require.
Down stairs in the lounge area was a huge log fire which lit remotely as you sit on the Sofa to watch the large screen tv , you can easily see the luxury of this hotel, a downstairs toilet and wash area,plenty of space for our 3 large cases, towels,robes plentiful what more could you ask,
I was highly delighted and it made my stay in Banff more magical, well done Caribou lodge I will return and highly recommend you to my friends. Regards a seasoned well travelled happy customer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your upgrade, and thank you for the positive feedback about our staff. At Banff Caribou Lodge we take pride in our high level of service, and I am grateful to you for recognizing this. I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have recently returned from a holiday in Canada where we stayed for three nights at the Banff Caribou Lodge. We found it very comfortable and the service was very good and the hotel was in a good position and not too close to downtown Banff but near enough to enjoy a stroll to the shops etc. We really enjoyed the breakfast and dinner choices in the Keg in fact it suited us better than anywhere else we stayed in Canada.

After Banff we went on a Brewster tour and ended up in our next holiday destination Jasper. On the way I realised I had misplaced my mobile phone and wasn't sure whether I had left it behind or what I had done with it. We told the Brewster coach driver and he said that if it was at the Caribou Lodge it could be arranged for the following day's tour coach driver to pick it up and bring it to our hotel in Jasper.

We contacted the Caribou Lodge as soon as we got to Jasper and received a phone call a short while after to say that my phone had been found and they would take it to the bus depot in Banff so that it could be put on the right coach in the morning. My phone duly arrived in Jasper the following evening.

What can I say but a big Thank You to both the Caribou Lodge and Brewsters.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive review, and I am very pleased to hear that you were returned your mobile phone in a timely manner. I will be sure to forward your thanks to Brewster as well. In hopes of perhaps welcoming you back to our town in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of a fly-drive in Canada. Very comfortable and good service. Ideal for exploring Banff and its environs - although we did drive to get to downtown Banff. Watch the parking in Banff - I picked up a $50 ticket. Excellent steak in the Keg restaurant and handy free coffee in the lobby in the morning made it all seem very friendly. Did not have breakfast here but lots of diners in Banff serving good breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a room with two queen beds at the back of the hotel. It was nicely decorated and there was plenty of space. There wasn't a view but we weren't there to spend lots of time in the room! There is complementary access to the hot pool and sauna which was really appreciated after a long day hiking! The hotel is a fair walk to town - about 15 to 29 minutes I'd say, but the hotel gives you free bus passes so you can use the bus all over town. Breakfast and dinner were average, I'd choose to eat in town next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.