We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located & great restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Conveniently located & great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our room had twin double beds which had mattress toppers and were very comfortable. Unfortunately the bottom sheets were not quite large enough to tuck in with the topper on the mattress, so I ended up with it all wrapped round me the next morning. Housekeeping changed the sheets and it was better the second night.
The other bed squeaked a lot. We reported that on departure, but i didnt feel very confident they were going to fix it.
The hotel has no aircon in the rooms, but whilst we were there we did not need it. The bathroom was very well equipped and the shower was large and modern.
Our standard room overlooked an internal atrium. Not impressive, but we were not there for the view from the room, you just had to step outside for that.
We ate in the Keg restaurant for bot breakfast and dinner. Very professional and great food.
Breakfast was $15.75 for the buffet. All I could eat for sure.
The concierge was very helpful with tips on things to visit on our way to Lake Louise. Ask for the guide he has put together.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    507
    138
    62
    21
See reviews for
232
627
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West of Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Banff is a lovely little town, plenty of people but not crowded. Lots of different little shops to wander through. Caribou Lodge was ideal after visiting many superb sights during the day. The rooms were spacious with 2 queen sized beds. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast buffet was excellent. A first class choice of food. So much better than the Sheraton in downtown Calgary and not as costly. The lodge had a warm friendly atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

An excellent place to stay in Banff away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. The rooms were small but had many good features including lots of hooks to hang hats, coats, towels and robes. The Keg room restaurant was noisy but the service and food were top notch. A small negative was the
uncertain feeling in the elevators when they seemed to yoyo.

Room Tip: Room away from main drag quieter. Small negative, elevators tended to yoyo. Room most comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights with my wife. The hotel provides free wi-fi and parking, and also free local calls. The hotel room was very modern, spacious and clean, and the decor was in keeping with the character of the hotel, although it did not have air conditioning. We booked a double room which had a very large and comfortable double bed, as well as a very handy fridge and seating area. The hotel also provides a laundry room with washing and drying facilities, the washing machine is $2 and the dryer is $1, there is also a vending machine selling washing powder at $2 for one wash. We found this very handy, especially as the machines were quick and efficient. We booked on a room-only basis, but we decided to have breakfast in the hotel on one of the mornings. The hotel provided an excellent buffet style breakfast with continental choices as well as bacon, sausages, scrambled egg, eggs Benedict, breakfast potatoes, french toast, pastries etc for $16, there was also an a la carte menu available for breakfast. The hotel restaurant, The Keg, was excellent. When we dined in the restaurant we were unaware that this is a chain of restaurants. I had a steak, which was cooked to perfection, whilst my wife chose the salmon, which was again cooked perfectly. The staff were very friendly and obliging, and nothing was too much trouble. Our waiter, Keith, could not have been more helpful, he was very knowledgeable, advising us about which steak to choose, as well as offering us tips and hints about the local sights and attractions. He even took me on a guided bike ride the following day, when he realised that I was a keen mountain biker! He greatly added to our experience and enjoyment of staying in this hotel. In general all of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights after getting off the Rocky Mountaineer train and picking up our rental car.

It is one of many hotels, some very similar in design (one day we drove into the underground car park of another similar hotel just down the road thinking it was ours!!), along the one main road in Banff.

It was a very nice room, the restaurant had a nice buffet breakfast, and we had one dinner there too. Staff were friendly and helpful. There are lovely early morning sunrise views of low clouds clinging to the mountains around you.

This was an enjoyable start to our driving tour of the Canadian Rockies.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A cozy, luxurious spot to retreat to after a day of walking around downtown Banff. From the beautiful, peaceful to the extremely comfortable beds and spacious upscale bathrooms...this hotel delivers. I had mentioned that it was my birthday trip and they even surprised me with a handwritten card and complementary bottle of champagne. Wonderful huge hot tub attached to the nice gym/spa. Wonderful experience all around. I'll be back for SURE! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Having read some bad reviews of this motel , we were a bit nervous of staying here. But our stay could not have been better. The lodge is situated about a 10 minute walk from Banff centre and as you walk into Banff you pass all the other motels which are situated all along the main street.
The motel staff were polite and very helpful and check in was really quick and efficient. The motel also has a Keg Steakhouse which looked nice and a large lobby which serves free coffee every morning which was a nice touch.
To be honest walking into Banff all the motels looked the same standard and Banff itself was very pretty and had a lot of shops and places to eat at. The motel rooms were very clean and had a lot of space. Would recommend staying here to anyone , but the main attraction are the Rocky Mountains and Banff itself which were simply stunning.
The only reason I didn't give the Lodge five stars is the noise some guests make in the early mornings when they are leaving the motel. Usually when you leave hotels early in the morning you try and be as quiet as possible , but for some reason guests were shouting at each other and laughing which you could hear really clearly. But you cannot hold the motel responsible for guests behaviour and apart from this our stay was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.