We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base to explore the Banff area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Banff
Wymeswold, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A great base to explore the Banff area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Caribou Lodge for two nights at the end of our Rocky Mountaineer train excursion. We thought the hotel was great and no complaints at all.

Rooms were spacious, beds very comfortable and overall it was very quiet. As mentioned, there is no aircon, as I imagine that for the majority of the time there is no need - except for just a few days over the summer. However, the hotel had provided fans in the rooms so they were just as good, really.

The pool really is a hot spa pool and heated to 40 degrees. I'm sure this is great after a day's skiing, but it was a bit hot in the middle of summer. However, the whole spa area is really nice.

WiFi in the rooms worked fine. Worth mentioning that you can hire bikes from the hotel at just $5 per hour, and it is well worth it just to explore some of the great rides and trails around Banff.

We did treat ourselves to the buffet breakfast on the second morning which was $13.75 for the adults and $7 (I think) for the kids. I stocked up for the day and it was well worth the money!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    486
    465
    123
    58
    19
See reviews for
213
580
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had three nights in this hotel and loved it. On the second night we were upgraded to a larger t
Room which was lovely. Beds were comfy and the rooms nicely decorated. The staff could not do enough to help and the free bus passes into town were excellent although the walk isn't far or hard and after a big evening meal it was quite nice to stroll back.

We used the spa facilities which were lovely and ate as drank in the Keg which was always very very busy so make sure you book. It's very good.

The only downside was how hot the rooms were, there was no air con and they do provide fans in the room which help but aren't great.

That said this would not put me off staying here again it was great and we really enjoyed it all

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded you never know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had read mixed reviews about this hotel but were very pleasantly surprised. We stayed for 4 nights and had a lovely, spacious room with terrace overlooking the mountains. Staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Walking distance of Banff and good bus service (free pass given by hotel) to sights and attractions nearby. Loved afternoon tea at the Fairmont.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed a total of 3 nights and found this a attractive, comfortable, well-priced lodge. Staff is very good,and the restaurant is good also. Our only complaint was that wifi didn't work in our room. Staff seemed surprised by this, but this was our experience. I would return to this hotel if we were heading back to Banff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My Wife and I were traveling with our 14 yea old Son, so we need a room with at least two queen beds. The caribou rooms were average in terms of being clean. The first room they gave us was a very small double room on the first floor which is partially below grade (basement) with a small window overlooking a parking lot. So we asked for room that was not in the basement and they did agree to move us to a double room on the third floor no charge. That room was small and also had no view. We spend on night in that room and then paid another $106.00 to upgrade to the best room they had in the hotel Cascade AKA the Mountain Loft Room which was very nice with a great view, a fireplace, a large whirlpool tub, loft, etc. It was well worth price. The Keg Restaurants which is in the hotel is open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner. We spent more money on meals at the keg then we did on our room. The food and the service was good. I have been going to the Caribou for about 20 years. I think it now needs some updating but it will always be one of my favorites.

Room Tip: no swimming pool just a big whirl pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

spent a very nice day here in august. friendly, helpful people at the desk. underground parking, nice clean rooms. comfortable beds. great hot tub. spa in hotel too which I didn't use. room a bit warm at night and no a/c (but that is typical in Banff). located within walking distance to shops and restaurants. very pleasant stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had booked for four nights. Ended up with only two double beds. I am tall so this did not work for us. Online booking said could be double, queen or king rooms. I would think with a four night stay we would get a better room. When checking in we were told it was full but could check next day to get moved. No one did anything about it so were stuck with small, cramped double beds room. Room was stuffy with no AC. Had to open windows to 'courtyard view' which meant we could hear all the kids and other conversations from other guest rooms all the time. Doors are not very soundproof and could hear any persons speaking in hallways. By the way, hallways are not playgrounds so control your children!
There was a VERY small fridge in room that froze everything no mater what setting you used.
Hotel location is near end of main road from downtown but definitely walkable in about 15-20 minutes or take the Roam bus that runs every 40 minutes.
Not sure if I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe add a complimentary breakfast to the hotel service package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.