We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beyond our expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had read mixed reviews about this hotel but were very pleasantly surprised. We stayed for 4 nights and had a lovely, spacious room with terrace overlooking the mountains. Staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Walking distance of Banff and good bus service (free pass given by hotel) to sights and attractions nearby. Loved afternoon tea at the Fairmont.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    582
    178
    69
    28
See reviews for
268
741
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed a total of 3 nights and found this a attractive, comfortable, well-priced lodge. Staff is very good,and the restaurant is good also. Our only complaint was that wifi didn't work in our room. Staff seemed surprised by this, but this was our experience. I would return to this hotel if we were heading back to Banff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My Wife and I were traveling with our 14 yea old Son, so we need a room with at least two queen beds. The caribou rooms were average in terms of being clean. The first room they gave us was a very small double room on the first floor which is partially below grade (basement) with a small window overlooking a parking lot. So we asked for room that was not in the basement and they did agree to move us to a double room on the third floor no charge. That room was small and also had no view. We spend on night in that room and then paid another $106.00 to upgrade to the best room they had in the hotel Cascade AKA the Mountain Loft Room which was very nice with a great view, a fireplace, a large whirlpool tub, loft, etc. It was well worth price. The Keg Restaurants which is in the hotel is open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner. We spent more money on meals at the keg then we did on our room. The food and the service was good. I have been going to the Caribou for about 20 years. I think it now needs some updating but it will always be one of my favorites.

Room Tip: no swimming pool just a big whirl pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

spent a very nice day here in august. friendly, helpful people at the desk. underground parking, nice clean rooms. comfortable beds. great hot tub. spa in hotel too which I didn't use. room a bit warm at night and no a/c (but that is typical in Banff). located within walking distance to shops and restaurants. very pleasant stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had booked for four nights. Ended up with only two double beds. I am tall so this did not work for us. Online booking said could be double, queen or king rooms. I would think with a four night stay we would get a better room. When checking in we were told it was full but could check next day to get moved. No one did anything about it so were stuck with small, cramped double beds room. Room was stuffy with no AC. Had to open windows to 'courtyard view' which meant we could hear all the kids and other conversations from other guest rooms all the time. Doors are not very soundproof and could hear any persons speaking in hallways. By the way, hallways are not playgrounds so control your children!
There was a VERY small fridge in room that froze everything no mater what setting you used.
Hotel location is near end of main road from downtown but definitely walkable in about 15-20 minutes or take the Roam bus that runs every 40 minutes.
Not sure if I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe add a complimentary breakfast to the hotel service package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neerim South, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in June, following a trip on the Rocky Mountaineer. We fell in love with Banff itself and were delighted when we were given a corner room with a balcony with a view to a mountain. The room was not overly large, but big enough with a queen bed, table and chairs, and chairs on the balcony. The bathroom had a shower over the bath. All very comfortable and clean. I made use of the day spa, and also the guest laundry. The hot spa pool looked inviting but ran out of time to use it! The hotel offers a free bus pass which was great to visit the Banff gondola and springs. We walked into town a few times, which only took about 15 minutes. All in all a lovely hotel with friendly, helpful staff. We will be back!

Room Tip: We loved our room with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

First hotel having flown in from London. Pleasant spacious room which would have been improved with AC. Apart from that, all good. Food in restaurant extremely good. Would stay again. Staff helpful especially when we asked for tourist information. Nice touch, tea and coffee available in lobby all day

Room Tip: Our room overlooked an internal stone garden. I would guess the rooms on the front of the hotel wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.