We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Loveliest Gift” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Loveliest Gift”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I got the stay at Caribou Lodge in Banff as a Christmas gift from my friends in Calgary. After a couple of hours on the bus I arrived at a nice little place - just as nice and small as most of the hotels and other house on the street - and still smart-looking. The inter-city bus stop was comfortably situated right in front of the hotel. Turned out I was getting a great room upstars, you know, the room where the roof is actually the incline of a real roof - I actually like such rooms very much, and at last I got to spend at least a couple of nights in such!
The room was simple and not big at all, but it was just me. There were two not-so-small beds set up, and it was just fine as the second bed was just a surface for my clothes and souvenirs )
I pretty much tried to get as much information from the front-desk staff as possible, and I succeeded, and they still stayed very calm and smiling and helpful ) I still remember a guest service guy with a nice last name - England - he was on the last that I was on and I believe I asked him some same question several times - just because I still couldn't understand what choice would've been best in something.. They also found a charger for my Blackberry, so I was relieved to at last be able to contact my friends as the battery went dead quite fast due to cold weather outside.
Banff itself is just a fairy-tale town that you see in movies all in snow and colored lights and just want to suddenly be there. The lodge was almost on the edge of Banff, and when you start off to the center, you see all of it. I was provided with a 2-day (duration of my stay) bus pass, but used it only to get to the cable-railway, and walked at other times just 'cause it was so cold and - great! outside )

Room Tip: I just liked the one I stayed in - with an inclined roof. Felt like I live in a big house, and all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    584
    180
    70
    28
See reviews for
270
744
54
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We booked this hotel through bookings.com, and were quite surprised. It was a wonderful hotel to start off our holidays. The staff were friendly, knowledge about the area. The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated. The beds were incredibly comfy, they provided a playpen for my son at no extra cost. The bathrooms were a great size, especially when getting my three boys readyfor the day. We loved the hot pool, a favourite for my boys. If we are ever in Banff again, we will most likely stay here.
Oh, and because the hotel is a bit of a walk from downtown, they provided us with bus passes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights here. Had originally only booked for one but loved it so much we wanted to stay a second night. The hotel was quite heavily booked but the front desk manager was able to fins a vacancy in one of their suites which is just beautiful. We loved the style the hotel was decorated in, very different to typical boring hotels in the area. A great choice, were disappointed to leave.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in a suite, it was lovely - comfy bed, jacuzzi with a view and all the usuals you would expect. Staff were friendly and happy to give advice (you can get a free travel card at reception which gives you free bus travel). Food and service in the keg restaurant was good.
Only negative was that there was no air con in the room (although this seemed to be the case in most of the hotels in this area).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
717 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Located about 1.5km from the centre of Banff, the Caribou Lodge has well presented, clean rooms that do not have air conditioning but a fan is provided to cool the room during warm nights. Staff were pleasant and friendly although check-in was a little slow as only 1 clerk on duty. Our room faced the street but we were not affected by outside noise although movement of other guests from around 6:30 am did disturb our sleep during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The setting for this hotel is hard to beat and the rooms and service dont disappoint - good value for money and a nice experience - good pub / restaurant in the hotel and all amenities you could hope for

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here on two occasions - both experiences were very good.
Hotel has a rustic/western feel which is nice. Rooms have been renovated with bathroom upgrades and flat screen tv's. Gigantic hot-tub located on the lower level is very nice! The Keg restaurant right in the lobby was also a bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.