We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly well located, nice spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Banff
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fairly well located, nice spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We visited during our honeymoon and decided to treat ourselves to a treatment at the spa. The staff were really nice and we enjoyed the hot pool (which is available for all guests) too. Our room was on the ground floor but not at all noisy. The only downside to our room was that the toilet had been positioned right next to the vanity unit so you hit your legs every time you tried to use it - badly designed bathroom! The location is good if you don't mind walking/waiting for buses as it isn't central. As it rained during our stay we were grateful for our car to head out exploring so we didn't have to wait for the bus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    466
    123
    58
    19
See reviews for
214
580
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waihola, null, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Got in late to find the power out, impressed by how they got through the cue of check ins. Room was lovely bed very comfy, as was everything. Wee walk downtown to a restaurant but staff gave us a three day bus pass even though we were only there one night. When i asked if we could store our luggage while we waited for our washing to finish the very helpful young man on reception decided to give us a late check out instead which was great. Only neg would have been the fan which was noisy and pretty ineffective given how hot the room was.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I (60+) had a very enjoyable 3 night stay in this hotel. The room was very comfortable and clean and the staff attentive and helpful. Whilst situated some 15 mins walk from the main centre, the hotel provided courtesy bus passes. The bus stop is just outside and you can get a bus to Tunnel Mountain, Sulphur Mountain and the Cave & Basin Historic Site, as well as down town. Very useful indeed. Buffet breakfast very good at 15.95CD. The hot pool was very relaxing.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights Banff very quiet due to the Calgary floods. but the hotel was quite busy with coach tours and people from the Rocky Mountaineer. We stayed in a 4th floor room which was adequate but a little on the small side due to the eaves, good clean bathroom with all the amemities. The hotel is a little way out of the main town but an easy stroll to the many shops and restaurants easier to walk than to find somewhere to park. The Keg restaurant is on site but make sure you get in there before the coach tours arrive. Would stay again if visiting Banff

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great hotel had a really charming feel to the place. Rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Enjoyed the spa facilities and the reception staff were extremely helpful in advising us of places to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a modern lodge/hotel on the outer rim of Banff about 10 mins walk into the main town. They provide free bus tickets so you can explore Banff and the local attractions via the bus service. The Hotel is decorated as a Lodge right down to the fake deer heads. It is actually reasonably attractive but very masculine and our room was a little on the dark side. The large stone fireplace in the lobby hides the lifts and would be great to sit around in winter.

The in-house spa was handy but couldn't accommodate a same day booking so book ahead if you think you will use it. The large indoor hot pool looked great and had all the required amenities.

The Lodge has a Keg steak restaurant attached which also provides a limited room service menu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st albert
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

expedia quoted 129 they wanted 179 and as soon as we mentioned the internet we got the cheaper price but a room downstairs outside the spa. ok room but a tile floor outside the room makes lots of noise as suitcases start rollng by at 530 am you think they would have upgraded us since the entire town was empty due to the flood in calgary

Room Tip: no air so stay off the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.