We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Value in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed at the property while attending conference in Banff. It is located on the main street, but is a bit of a walk into the main shopping/dining area of town. Rooms were clean and spacious. The only complaint was location of our room and lack of sound proofing. Was woken up on a few occasions because of hallway noise. Request a room on the far end of the hallway to avoid interruptions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    485
    459
    121
    57
    17
See reviews for
211
572
40
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We arrived in Banff the afternoon before the rains washed out the Calgary to Banff road and they closed all the roads in and out of Banff. Despite the uncertainty, the hotel staff managed to maintain a calming presence and were as helpful as they could be in the circumstances. The rooms were clean and well furnished. We enjoyed a dinner in the keg restaurant. We also had a breakfast which was OK, appreciated in the rain, but if it had been dry we probably could have found better with a 10 minute walk into town. The complimentary Roam bus passes were much appreciated given the incessant rain. This hotel is one of many on this road, but we would recommend this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation, it is greatly appreciated. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future, this time around without any road closures!...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great hotel with the exception of the beds. Someone made a decision to put a down-like quilt on the mattress which gives a warm but lumpy feel to your sleep. We stayed here during the Alberta flood crisis and the roads in and out of Banff were closed. FRUSTRATION! This is where the great front desk staff came in to calm everyone down. They were extremely pleasant no matter how many times stranded guests asked the same questions. The "Keg Restaurant" in the hotel is excellent. Too bad other "Kegs" don't have the same quality. Nice pool and workout area. Good underground parking. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for such a good, well-balanced review. As for our Mountain Luxury Feather Beds, we do carry them throughout our company, however we will gladly take them off our beds for you, please be sure to request this next time you come. We are very pleased that your experience, although hindered by the unforeseen circumstances that hit our little town, was enhanced by our Front Desk Staff, thank you for the wonderful mention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A Great welcome had by all staff here are a credit to this hotel
rooms are spacious and are clean and comfortable a reasonable price for a reasonable hotel will return again - really liked the Keg resturant had a great meal there

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here one night prior to joining the Rocky Mountaineer. The rooms were large and comfortable. There was a restaurant and bar adjoining the hotel. Free coffee etc in the lobby.
Short distance to the station although getting a taxi through the hotel was a bit challenging! I believe there was a spa and swimming pool but there was no time to use it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Banff Caribou lodge this week during the flooding that was going on in southern Alberta. Originally we, a friend and I, were only supposed to stay for one night as a mini getaway but due to the flooding all over and the subsequent road closures we got trapped in Banff for three extra days. Jaycee the manager of the hotel was so helpful and kind to us. Many people were stuck in the same situation as us but we were so impressed with the great service that Jaycee gave us, the suggestions for routes to get home to Calgary and her compassion. It felt like staying with friends as opposed to a hotel. We finally made it home thanks to her help. Thanks so much Jaycee and staff!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

nice hotel with fantastic staff! Clean hotel with 2 double beds and nice bathroom, ideal for a single traveller! A little far out of town but a free bus pass from the hotel made it easy to get in to town! I booked through canadian affiar and they advised the hotel i was staying for 3 nights but it was actually 2 nights, due to the confusion i thought my future booking in vancouver that came the day after i left this hotel would be incorrect the girl on reception contacted the hotel in vancouver to check the dates were correct, this was fantastic customer service! Overhall this is a good hotel for any stay in banff, don't expect the ritz but it does a job!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.