We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an amazing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“an amazing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

fantastic holiday, people so friendly, couldnt of asked for a better place to stay,
we will go back there again. Rooms so big and decor was really nice, a very clean
place. would recommend to anyone. We had a fantastic stay and holiday, and hired
a car for 10days.

Room Tip: rooms are so big and very clean and lovely decor, a holiday of a life time, very freindly people an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    511
    139
    62
    22
See reviews for
232
632
49
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carms.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was the first time visiting banff and found the whole experience wonderful. The caribou lodge was comfortable and because we had free bus passes it was very well positioned. We had a meal in the keg restaurant which was very good. The spa was good fun we sat in it for some time, it was also free. The town is so beautiful and surrounded by mountains while I was there the peaks were all covered in snow. One evening we went to the hot springs where we had the joy of sitting in lovely warm water with the snow around on the slopes around us. We journeyed onto jasper and the route was great we actually so a black bear alongside us just of the road. Don't be tempted to rush or shorten the route it would be a shape to miss anything as every turn brings on more fantastic views as you cross the rockies. We stayed in the jasper lodge for one night, I'd always wanted to sleep in a log cabin, it was very good and led down to the river a wonderful place. 2 of us went in the gondola up the mountain where the views were terrific, definatly not to be missed, not far out of jasper are the alphabaster falls I found them every bit as good as niagara so much to see the mind boggles I'm sure possible I will do it all again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This seemed like a charming place when we first checked in, but as our 4 days in Banff progressed, we found less and less to like about the hotel, or at least the room they gave us.

The room had at least two fatal flaws. First, it was too small. It seemed decent sized at first, but as we settled in, we realized it was really quite cramped. A large part of the reason is that we were on the top floor and the the window was a dormer style. This meant it was a small window that jutted out from the roof, and the rest of the outside wall was canted inward along the roof line. This isn't meant to be a comment on design - it really affects the usefulness of the room because the inward sloping wall cuts off use of most of the space on one side of the bed. We couldn't walk there because the ceiling was too low (and we are short people); it was even difficult to set a suitcase on a rack there because opening the lid of the suitcase was impeded by the low ceiling.

The second problem with the room was ventilation. The small dormer window didn't allow much air to move around in the room. This was early June when the temperatures were very cool in Banff -- 50s during the day and 40s at night. Yet the room was always stiflingly hot even with the heat off (there was no air conditioning in the room). The hotel provided us with portable fans that we had to run all night with the window open just to bring in barely enough cool air to keep us comfortable while we slept. I should add that there is no view from this tiny window - just another wall of the hotel so that from the room you would not know you were in one of Canada's most beautiful settings.

A third problem with the hotel is the restaurant, which we never ate at because the prices were high, even for a popular place like Banff.

So to conclude, after 4 days we were more than done with the hotel and were happy to move on. We cannot recommend it after our experience.

Room Tip: Make sure the hotel does NOT give you a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had travelled several hours by coach from Calgary to Banff. No delay in booking us in. Room spacious, a bit disappointed that we looked out on road but could still see sulphur mountains. We were given a free bus pass to use on buses which came by hotel every 15 minutes, we found this very useful. Took about 20 minutes to walk into Banff village. When we arrived we had meal in restaurant, although a bit expensive was very good. Breakfast was buffet style, continental was ok but cooked breakfast still not hot enough for my husband. We did find that the restaurant did not offer just sandwiches. Banff was so clean and we wished we had been able to do more sightseeing but we were booked to go to Lake Louise on our 1st full day and then on our 2nd day we left Banff to go on Rocky Mountaineer Train. Banff was a lovely place to visit and we were happy with hotel. Would recommend.

Room Tip: A room looking out on the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddington, Beds
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Was assigned to the Caribou Lodge by my Travel Agent as part of a wider package including the Rocky Mountaineer and Alaska Cruise. I had not expected to enjoy a facility of this class. Really lovely property on the edge of the town centre, shops a pleasant 15 minutes walk away, very well appointed rooms. All staff we encountered were well presented, polite and endlessly helpful. We had some difficulty confirming one of our road tours and the desk staff just took over and sorted it all out for us.

Used the attached restaurant for excellent breakfasts, dinners and an afternoon snack.

The whole experience was extremely positive. Only wish I had thought to pack my swimmers then I could have used the spa but never really thought of it when packing for a trip in the mountains and then Alaska.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

After our superb journey on the Rocky Mountaineer we felt very let down by the standard of accommodation At Caribou Lodge. We stayed there for an extra 3 nights assuming it would be.a reasonable standard if used by The Rocky Mountaineer for its passengers. We were wrong! Our room was dark, and shabby and the housekeeping was poor. The only redeeming feature was the excellent bar/restaurant. I would not stay there again and would recommend that the Rocky Mountaineer find somewhere else for their Silver Leaf passengers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

On our way through the Canadian Rockies we decided to spend a few days in Banff. Last minute we called the Banff Caribou Lodge and Spa. This time of year is right before busy season, so we were able to get a room for two nights. Warm and cozy best describes this hotel. Room was average in size, but very comfortable. Coffee, tea, fridge, nice bathroom. Hotel is in walking distance to downtown Banff. Free parking on street and garage. Free bus pass which takes you to many of the parks attractions. Keg restaurant has nice bar, cold drinks. Good steak dinner and breakfast. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: No A/C but windows open and there is a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.