We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Banff
Caddington, Beds
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Was assigned to the Caribou Lodge by my Travel Agent as part of a wider package including the Rocky Mountaineer and Alaska Cruise. I had not expected to enjoy a facility of this class. Really lovely property on the edge of the town centre, shops a pleasant 15 minutes walk away, very well appointed rooms. All staff we encountered were well presented, polite and endlessly helpful. We had some difficulty confirming one of our road tours and the desk staff just took over and sorted it all out for us.

Used the attached restaurant for excellent breakfasts, dinners and an afternoon snack.

The whole experience was extremely positive. Only wish I had thought to pack my swimmers then I could have used the spa but never really thought of it when packing for a trip in the mountains and then Alaska.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    494
    483
    131
    61
    21
See reviews for
227
598
43
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

After our superb journey on the Rocky Mountaineer we felt very let down by the standard of accommodation At Caribou Lodge. We stayed there for an extra 3 nights assuming it would be.a reasonable standard if used by The Rocky Mountaineer for its passengers. We were wrong! Our room was dark, and shabby and the housekeeping was poor. The only redeeming feature was the excellent bar/restaurant. I would not stay there again and would recommend that the Rocky Mountaineer find somewhere else for their Silver Leaf passengers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

On our way through the Canadian Rockies we decided to spend a few days in Banff. Last minute we called the Banff Caribou Lodge and Spa. This time of year is right before busy season, so we were able to get a room for two nights. Warm and cozy best describes this hotel. Room was average in size, but very comfortable. Coffee, tea, fridge, nice bathroom. Hotel is in walking distance to downtown Banff. Free parking on street and garage. Free bus pass which takes you to many of the parks attractions. Keg restaurant has nice bar, cold drinks. Good steak dinner and breakfast. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: No A/C but windows open and there is a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estevan, Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed all weekend and had the chance to enjoy the spa, the restaurant, and many if the off site attractions. It's only a 15 minute walk to the heart of downtown. The room was clean and cozy with a comfortable king size bed. The spa was great, hot pool adequate, with a Keg restaurant attached. It's rustic feel and friendly staff were both appreciated. Overall, a little pricey but a relatively decent price when compared to other hotels of similar quality. Would stay again, even if its just to see the elk out front!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in late May when it was wet and cold (the weather not the hotel) and the hotel’s hot pool was extremely welcome. Bring your swimming costumes.
We liked the hotel very much. The staff were friendly and helpful., the room was nice with a comfortable king-size bed and a really nice bathroom, and everything was really clean. It was also very quiet. I don’t know if the rooms either side were occupied but if they were the walls are solid because we didn’t hear a thing.
We liked the location too. It’s easy to find, just on the left as you enter Banff from the Calgary direction. It’s a 10 minute stroll (or 2 minute walk) into town but we were glad we weren’t more central, especially Saturday night when the centre was quite noisy. The hotel has a free underground car-park and, very conveniently, there’s lift access directly from the car-park to your floor.
We didn’t eat in the restaurant but did have a drink and a light meal in the bar. We had veggie flatbreads (ok) and scallops with bacon (lovely) with a mega glass of a nice dry white plus a couple of excellent local beers.
Overall, very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the hotel as part of a Canadian tour. We were there on a holiday weekend, so the town was full of hormonally charged youths, lounging about town in great drifts of affected ennui... but Banff is still a very pretty place, in a beautiful location. The hotel was a mixed experience for us, and we may well have had a different experience, at a quieter time - but here's what happened. We arrived late afternoon and checked in - the room was quite dark, but well furnished and equipped. We were tired , so decided to book a table for dinner in the hotel restaurant - which turned out to be part of a chain, rather than part of the hotel itself, although we didn't know that at the time. We asked at the reception, where the staff told us it was nothing to do with them and to ask at the restaurant ( just across the reception hall) We duly asked to book a table for dinner, and were told that the restaurant was fully booked for the evening - all night, apparently. We asked for any recommendation, not too far, since we had been travelling all day, and they simply shrugged their shoulders, and said that it was a holiday weekend.... We were a bit stunned at this, since we had never been in a hotel, where the staff didn't seem to care that you might have to go hungry all night. However, we eventually managed to get some food in the bar ( which is the nicest thing about the hotel - cosy and friendly) and took the precaution of reserving a table for breakfast the next morning,at a specified time. We watched a s the reservation was written into their book. We turned up at the restaurant in the morning, and joined a queue of people waiting to go into the ( very busy) restaurant for breakfast. As were waiting we chatted to a couple in front of us, who said they had just walked into the restaurant the previous evening and were seated, no reservation, nothing. ( Booked all evening...??) As we got nearer the top of the queue, we said that we had a reservation - assuming that we might not then have to queue much longer. The young woman in charge looked lost and then said that she couldn't see any reservation.... and proceeded to seat other people while we stood, feeling like second class citizens. When we finally got into the long awaited Nirvana of the restaurant, the food was fine, good quality. At no time during our stay were we made to feel that we were valued customers, or that our comfort was of any importance to them, so we wouldn't use this hotel again. The location is fine - a ten minute walk to the centre of town, which has a range of lovely walks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great Hotel on main road to Banff. Staff were very helpful on arrival. Had a really great evening meal in the Keg Restaurant though prices quite high compared to what we are used to in UK, Staff attentive. Buffet breakfast was very good and staff very attentive. Room very comfortable with two double beds. Had bag of dirty washing cleaned and returned to our room by 6.00 o'clock, must be down by 9.00 oclock. Great having underground carpark which was included in price.

Room Tip: Room overlooking side street quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.