We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking in hospitality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Banff
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lacking in hospitality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the hotel as part of a Canadian tour. We were there on a holiday weekend, so the town was full of hormonally charged youths, lounging about town in great drifts of affected ennui... but Banff is still a very pretty place, in a beautiful location. The hotel was a mixed experience for us, and we may well have had a different experience, at a quieter time - but here's what happened. We arrived late afternoon and checked in - the room was quite dark, but well furnished and equipped. We were tired , so decided to book a table for dinner in the hotel restaurant - which turned out to be part of a chain, rather than part of the hotel itself, although we didn't know that at the time. We asked at the reception, where the staff told us it was nothing to do with them and to ask at the restaurant ( just across the reception hall) We duly asked to book a table for dinner, and were told that the restaurant was fully booked for the evening - all night, apparently. We asked for any recommendation, not too far, since we had been travelling all day, and they simply shrugged their shoulders, and said that it was a holiday weekend.... We were a bit stunned at this, since we had never been in a hotel, where the staff didn't seem to care that you might have to go hungry all night. However, we eventually managed to get some food in the bar ( which is the nicest thing about the hotel - cosy and friendly) and took the precaution of reserving a table for breakfast the next morning,at a specified time. We watched a s the reservation was written into their book. We turned up at the restaurant in the morning, and joined a queue of people waiting to go into the ( very busy) restaurant for breakfast. As were waiting we chatted to a couple in front of us, who said they had just walked into the restaurant the previous evening and were seated, no reservation, nothing. ( Booked all evening...??) As we got nearer the top of the queue, we said that we had a reservation - assuming that we might not then have to queue much longer. The young woman in charge looked lost and then said that she couldn't see any reservation.... and proceeded to seat other people while we stood, feeling like second class citizens. When we finally got into the long awaited Nirvana of the restaurant, the food was fine, good quality. At no time during our stay were we made to feel that we were valued customers, or that our comfort was of any importance to them, so we wouldn't use this hotel again. The location is fine - a ten minute walk to the centre of town, which has a range of lovely walks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    463
    436
    111
    53
    16
See reviews for
197
539
36
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great Hotel on main road to Banff. Staff were very helpful on arrival. Had a really great evening meal in the Keg Restaurant though prices quite high compared to what we are used to in UK, Staff attentive. Buffet breakfast was very good and staff very attentive. Room very comfortable with two double beds. Had bag of dirty washing cleaned and returned to our room by 6.00 o'clock, must be down by 9.00 oclock. Great having underground carpark which was included in price.

Room Tip: Room overlooking side street quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night during our Ruby wedding tour. Hotel surprised us with a card and a bottle of champagne. We had 2 lovely lunches and the staff were all very efficient and friendly. Free bus passes and discount vouchers to lots of the shops also came in handy. 2 double beds in our room!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Eds
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Lovely Hotel on the main road into Banff , the lobby had a huge log fire to welcome you, on this cold day, the staff where most welcoming and as l arrived early graciously found me a room
straight away. The room was very comfortable, and included a set of antlers in the bathroom!
The restaurant/bar was also very relaxing with more open fires, and attentive staff.

Room Tip: Just enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We arrived late in the evening without a reservation. The front desk staff was very accommodating and got us a room. The room was well appointed, clean and quiet. We received a package of coupons for activities and retail stores in the area. Underground parking was included in the room rate. The buffet breakfast in the Keg restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here while on a skiing holiday. Room was very big, comfy and clean. Bathroom spacious and clean also. Shuttle bus arrives at hotel so no need to walk to get the bus to Lake Louise. Staff are very friendly and a short 15 minute walk into downtown Banff is a variety of shops and restaurants. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had 2 nights here. It is a little further from downtown than some others but close enough to walk. Rooms were spacious and clean. Bed was not the most comfortable. Reception staff were helpful and efficient.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel
Banff Caribou Lodge
Caribou Lodge
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.