We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Welland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Small but very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Enjoyed our weekend stay. Room was small but beds comfortable. Really liked the Rocky Mountain Soap Company lotion that was provided. It was not as close to the downtown as we had hoped but the weather was wonderful and the walk to the downtown area was great exercise. The Explore Rockies Tour Buses pick up right at their front door. Friendly helpful staff. Also the local Roam bus stop is just a few steps to the left of the front doors, which the hotel hands out free passes to use during your stay for this service. The price others may have mentioned may seem a bit high but one has to remember that this is a tourist town. The fact that it was clean and comfortable to us, is what matters most.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    499
    137
    62
    21
See reviews for
231
620
47
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The fireplace in the lobby is really nice. On a cold winter's day, it provides for a pleasant ambience. On a warm summer's day, it gives you the feel that you are in the Canadian Rockies and looks the part of a cosy lodge.

Front end staff at all of Banff Caribou Properties (Best of Banff) are all great. I have personally stayed in this hotel over ten times during the past ten years and always feel welcome. It is a good, well priced hotel property for those looking for value.

While the appearance of the exterior of the hotel and lobby are excellent, one must realize that Banff is one of the most visited tourist destinations in Canada and rooms have a very high turnover rate and wear and tear happens. Summer temperatures also mean that many hotels in Banff do not have air conditioning, but there are hot days. If you are elderly, this location may be too far from town for you to walk in.

This is the best choice for skiers looking for a value deal and for summer guests spending one night in Banff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed at the Caribou for a fortnights skiing.

The ski bus stops outside, so saves having to walk to another hotel to get the bus.

Its some way from downtown Banff, so its a bit of a walk, or you can get a bus, not from outside the hotel, but only 30 seconds from the hotel. The plus side is its quiet at night, though our room was not overlooking the road anyway.

The room was nice and certainly warm enough.

Their is a massive spa pool, which certainly helps the legs after a day on the mountain.

The Keg restaurant is ok, was underwhelmed with it to be honest.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the basis of the good Tripadvisor rating. I'm struggling to understand how they got that rating. Perhaps people stayed during the winter when the superb heating system makes them cozy in the small rooms. Perhaps they don't mind paying a 4-star price for 2-star accommodations. Whatever the reason, I spent a very warm, sweaty, noisy and sleepless night at this hotel. Yes, it does get warm in Canada, and this is still spring. I would hate to stay at this hotel on a really hot summer day. A 3-star hotel without air conditioning? If the room is warm, open the window, was the answer from the front desk. The window? A tiny hole in the wall without any air circulation but with plenty of noise coming from traffic on Banff's main street. Oh, and the fan. Yes, there's a tiny desk fan in the room, great if you're driving and want some fresh air from the dashboard, but totally inadequate to cool a room. There are only a few basics that a hotel should deliver: clean bed, comfortable room, good night's sleep. The Caribou Lodge failed 2 of the three.

Room Tip: If you come in summer bring your own window AC unit or a large fan. Short of that, perhaps a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Everything about this vacation was excellent. The entire environment had a very positive feel about it, beginning with the friendly approachable staff. I was very pleased to be in a fresh, clean, updated room. The decor was pleasing and fun, and bathroom was fabulous. There was plenty of space to store our things and we loved having the mini fridge to store our drinks and snacks. We did a mother-daughter get away, booked their Everything Caribou package, and felt it was a perfect combination and value. The convenience of having both the Red Earth Spa and the Keg in the building made the experience so much sweeter. We really appreciated the bus pass and easy access to the center of Banff. This hotel really took care of us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

If you like dark rooms with no natural light, no A/C and your room smelling like campfire smoke than this is the place for you. If you prefer a comfortable bed, sunshine, clean room and a newer hotel than look elsewhere in Banff. The service at the Keg for lunch was so slow I ended up being late for our conference. I would not stay here again because of the reasons above plus terrible wi-fi, stained sheets and shower curtain. The shower does not regulate in temperature and the rooms are so hot but freezing in the hallway. In Banff there are no hotel reward chains. Recommend a hotel where you can actual see something from your window other than your neighbors window.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Here as part of a tour hotel more than I expected room lively food fab and staff fab too hot tub good too Banff is beautiful too would I come back YES I'm lovin it people relaxed and friendly great steaks I the resteraunt

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.