We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Sherwood Park, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Everything about this vacation was excellent. The entire environment had a very positive feel about it, beginning with the friendly approachable staff. I was very pleased to be in a fresh, clean, updated room. The decor was pleasing and fun, and bathroom was fabulous. There was plenty of space to store our things and we loved having the mini fridge to store our drinks and snacks. We did a mother-daughter get away, booked their Everything Caribou package, and felt it was a perfect combination and value. The convenience of having both the Red Earth Spa and the Keg in the building made the experience so much sweeter. We really appreciated the bus pass and easy access to the center of Banff. This hotel really took care of us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    512
    140
    62
    22
See reviews for
233
632
50
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

If you like dark rooms with no natural light, no A/C and your room smelling like campfire smoke than this is the place for you. If you prefer a comfortable bed, sunshine, clean room and a newer hotel than look elsewhere in Banff. The service at the Keg for lunch was so slow I ended up being late for our conference. I would not stay here again because of the reasons above plus terrible wi-fi, stained sheets and shower curtain. The shower does not regulate in temperature and the rooms are so hot but freezing in the hallway. In Banff there are no hotel reward chains. Recommend a hotel where you can actual see something from your window other than your neighbors window.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Here as part of a tour hotel more than I expected room lively food fab and staff fab too hot tub good too Banff is beautiful too would I come back YES I'm lovin it people relaxed and friendly great steaks I the resteraunt

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Will most definitely return to this hotel. Lovely rooms, fully updated, clean, quiet. Staff most accommodating and helpful. Really nice hot tub area with loads of large towels. Very good value. We recommend without hesitation. Located within walking distance of shops, restaurants. Local bus stops right at hotel if you don't wish to walk or drive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Because this hotel was #6 on tripadvisor, i booked one night for a girl's weekend. there we're four of us ladies. The outside and lobby we're quite nice. The staff were ok, the spa was FANTASTIC, but once we got our room, we were in for a shock! VERY small, really dated, holes in the sheets, NO MIRROR IN ROOM BESIDES THE SMALL DARK ONE IN BATHROOM, extremely hot at night and no air conditioner! I have stayed at many hotels and motels that had better rooms! I will not be recommending this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Initially I booked a Superior King room, requesting a balcony. The day before we arrived I received a call from the hotel saying there wouldn't be a King room with a balcony available, but would I consider a room with two queens beds and a balcony? I was very impressed that someone would take the time to actually read the reservation and rearrange the booking to meet my request. The front desk staff were very friendly and efficient. I did find it a little odd to be given a coupon book at check-in that expired on April 30, 2013 when we arrived on May 3, 2013. The room was very clean and had all the basic necessities. The room did get quite warm as there's no A/C, which made it somewhat difficult to sleep. Also there's no continental breakfast unlike most other Banff hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Made reservations at the Banff Caribou Lodge after looking at the website and reading online reviews, looks great from the outside and in the lobby, but the rooms were quite small and dated. Parking is on the street, and we were able to find a spot right behind the hotel, so no problem there. The lobby was nice and cozy and the front-desk staff were very welcoming and open to any questions, they recommended some good restaurants in Banff and how to access hiking trails in the area. The rooms were very small, just enough space for 2 beds and a table, hardly enough for luggage, can’t imagine fitting ski equipment in there. The view was a tiny window overlooking the neighboring hotel’s carpark, and with no fan in the room, it quickly got stuffy (they did bring a few electric fans up to help, but were too noisy at night). On a positive note, the beds were comfortable and the room and hallways were very clean. The location is great, just on the main strip within walking distance of the main town. And the hot-tub/sauna and spa were very comfortable and relaxing. I enjoyed my stay, and you get what you pay for. If you are looking for a well-priced hotel in Banff, the Caribou Lodge fits the bill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.