We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Honeymoon stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional Honeymoon stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Banff for our honeymoon and chose to stay at the Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa for a week. We booked the "Corner Lot Jacuzzi Suite" and couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations. The suite was cozy, comfortable, quiet, clean and you just couldn't beat the gorgeous mountain views. The hotel staff was super friendly and even provided us with a bottle of celebratory champagne upon our arrival...what a nice touch! The staff was always helpful in recommending places to eat and places to visit within Banff. The hotel is located within walking distance from downtown Banff and is the most perfect location! We couldn't have been happier with our honeymoon hotel selection and would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    512
    140
    62
    22
See reviews for
233
632
50
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here a weekend in Feb after getting a good deal on Expedia. The hotel is on the main hotel drag in Banff and about a 10-15 min walk to downtown. The lobby is nicely decorated and has a big wood burning fireplace. We had underground parking(6' clearance I think) and were in a standard room with two doubles. The room was nicely decorated, updated and clean. It was a pretty small room for 2 double beds...if there were four people staying here it would be very tight. One thing to note is that the pillows are very big and we both had a really hard time sleeping on them...the beds were comfortable though. Within the hotel is a hot tub area for guests, The Keg restaurant, the Red Earth Spa. We were going to go to The Keg restaurant in the hotel but without reservations it was a very long wait so we went downtown.
Over all we enjoyed our stay at the Caribou Lodge and would stay here again when it goes on sale. I think it is over priced other times of the year...but most of Banff is.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary,AB
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed a single night on a busy weekend between ski days. I've stayed at many hotels in Banff before, there was nothing special about this place.

Pros
- Nice decor, the room, lobby, restaurant, hallways and street appeal are all very nice, the hotel has a nice mountain theme to it which is suitable for Banff
- Clean.
- Access to the Keg in the lobby. Fantastic meal, no need to hoof it all the way down town if you're staying for only one night this is a great option
- SPA and Pool access in the hotel. Not a big deal, and we didn't use it but I could see this being a plus

Cons
- Mattress, pillows and duvet.Worst sleep I've had in a long time. The duvet cover was too big for the actually duvet and it was obviously old. Pillows were exceptionally lumpy and uncomfortable. The mattress was obviously old and was lumpy as well. We had a terrible sleep.
- Temperature regulation in the room - thermostat was not working well. Generally it was way too hot, and with the window it quickly dropped. The radiator was also making loud lengthy clicking/buzzing noises.
- We had a room on the top floor on the inside courtyard and paid less for it. The room had a cut in on one corner from the slanted roof. It was like having a vaulted ceiling start a foot off the floor. I whacked my head on it multiple times, I would ask for an outside facing room, I'm assuming those are more expensive.

We will choose another hotel when we come back, this was okay but there are so many choices I wouldn't bother with the Caribou again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Caribou Lodge
We stayed at the Caribou Lodge for 5 days in March. Overall, we were very happy with our experience.

There are several things we liked about the Caribou Lodge. First, the hotel was recently renovated so all of the rooms received some nice updating – lighting, wallpaper, bedding, and bathrooms. There was a pool as well, but it was more of a large hot tub then a swimming pool. It has a spa feel to it, rather than a family pool. The Keg restaurant in the hotel offers a buffet and a la carte breakfast. Not only is this convenient, but breakfast was also reasonably priced. The lobby is really warm and welcoming. The staff are very friendly and helpful and there is always a wood fire crackling in the fire place (the smell is awesome!). The hotel is located on Banff Avenue, which is also where the majority of shops and restaurants are located. It is no more than a 10 minute walk from the hotel to this shopping area (and if it’s really cold, it’s an $8 taxi ride). We also really liked that both parking and wifi are free (a rarity at many hotels these days).

The only negative we had – dust and dryness. The dressers had quite a bit of dust build up on them. And the hotel rooms were quite dry, so sleeping was a bit uncomfortable. Having said, it’s hard to find a hotel room that isn’t dry!

Overall, we really enjoyed our experience at the Caribou Lodge. It really is fitting that it is called a lodge, as it is simple, warm, and friendly.

Additionally, some things to do in the snowy months that we really enjoyed:
1. Take the gondola to the top of Sulphur Mountain
2. Drive to Lake Minnewaka (breathtaking)
3. Drive to the Tunnel Mountain Trail and see the Hoodos
4. Enjoy Lake Louise (Morraine Like is also incredible but closed during winter months due to risk of avalanche along the road)
5. DRIVE! You are in a National Park – every road, twist, and turn, takes you to somewhere beyond incredible.
6. Discover Banff Tours is a great company to go with if you are looking for a tour
7. Ski (of course)
8. Eat at the Waldhaus Pub – it’s part of the Fairmont Banff Springs. It was created in 1920 and used to be the old Golf Club House. The top floor is a restaurant (beautiful, but pricey and fine dining). The main floor is a ‘pub’. I use the word pub lightly however because the food is glorified pub food (delicious). And if you get a window with a view – it’s amazing because you look onto the Bow Valley river
9. Eat at the Juniper Hotel's Restaurant - When you pull up, you may question your decision because the hotel looks a bit dated (1950s). But inside, it is beautifully renovated and makes you feel as though you are in a museum. Once you walk into the restaurant and see the views of the mountains, you won't regret it. And the food - outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We travelled to Banff with another couple for a ski and snowboard holiday, the first time we had done so to North America. Our arrival at the hotel was pain free- quite a pleasant experience really after a long day travelling from the UK.
The room was more than adequate with 2 queen sized beds in a comfortably large room. The beds were really comfortable. The room was en suit with a shower/ bath( the bath was rather small with you not being able to submerge your hole body at once) other items in the room included mini fridge, kettle, coffee machine, iron& board, hair drier, and of course a flat screen TV.
There is a hot pool and spa with a small gym. The hot pool was large enough for about 28 people and was really warm. Towels were available in the changing rooms.
With in the hotel was "The Keg" bar and grill. The staff were extremely helpful and the food and beverages good. Breakfast is available Buffett style at about £10 a head- good value it you like a full breakfast! If you didn't fancy the full buffet you could choose individual items from the menu but this seemed more expensive on the whole.
The Grill menu was good and I would recommend the prime rib.
Other dining option are available within a few minutes walk or down town is approx a 10 minute walk. I think i have doubled in weight in the 2 weeks we were there as the food was not only tasty but the portions were quite large too. A Safeway supermarket is available in town for those who want a cheaper option for breakfast/ lunch.
There is underground parking available but height clearance is limited. Ski lockers are also available in the parking area.
There is a train line that runs through Banff throughout the day and sounds its whistle as it goes through- this happens through the night as well. If you have your window open you are bound to hear it ( we had our window open even when it was minus 15 outside as the hotel was so warm)
Would I go back? Of course- it was a thoroughly enjoyably and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: There is not much real difference between the standard double and the superior double. Our friends h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here. My only complaint was blood stained blanket cover. I could tell by looking at it that it was washed , but still... I don't want to look at that.

Staff was great, The Keg was great as always!

I would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

a girlfriend and i decided pretty last minute during the holidays that we should do a little overnight spa get away in the mountains. we got a great room with a balcony - which was really not as expensive as i had thought - and booked ourselves treatments at the red earth spa which is on the lower level of the hotel.

overall i was really pleased. it was not an outstanding but the room was very clean with lots of space. the bathroom was also clean. the place is modern and updated with cozy bedding and that semi-exaggerated mountain rustic charm that all of the hotels in banff play on.

pool was nice... i had hoped there would be an outdoor pool but this one is indoor only. it is a sitting pool, not for swimming so it was a little boring sitting there staring at the tiled room.

note - definitely worth checking out the spa. great treatments.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.