We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Lodge Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Lodge Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Caribou Lodge
We stayed at the Caribou Lodge for 5 days in March. Overall, we were very happy with our experience.

There are several things we liked about the Caribou Lodge. First, the hotel was recently renovated so all of the rooms received some nice updating – lighting, wallpaper, bedding, and bathrooms. There was a pool as well, but it was more of a large hot tub then a swimming pool. It has a spa feel to it, rather than a family pool. The Keg restaurant in the hotel offers a buffet and a la carte breakfast. Not only is this convenient, but breakfast was also reasonably priced. The lobby is really warm and welcoming. The staff are very friendly and helpful and there is always a wood fire crackling in the fire place (the smell is awesome!). The hotel is located on Banff Avenue, which is also where the majority of shops and restaurants are located. It is no more than a 10 minute walk from the hotel to this shopping area (and if it’s really cold, it’s an $8 taxi ride). We also really liked that both parking and wifi are free (a rarity at many hotels these days).

The only negative we had – dust and dryness. The dressers had quite a bit of dust build up on them. And the hotel rooms were quite dry, so sleeping was a bit uncomfortable. Having said, it’s hard to find a hotel room that isn’t dry!

Overall, we really enjoyed our experience at the Caribou Lodge. It really is fitting that it is called a lodge, as it is simple, warm, and friendly.

Additionally, some things to do in the snowy months that we really enjoyed:
1. Take the gondola to the top of Sulphur Mountain
2. Drive to Lake Minnewaka (breathtaking)
3. Drive to the Tunnel Mountain Trail and see the Hoodos
4. Enjoy Lake Louise (Morraine Like is also incredible but closed during winter months due to risk of avalanche along the road)
5. DRIVE! You are in a National Park – every road, twist, and turn, takes you to somewhere beyond incredible.
6. Discover Banff Tours is a great company to go with if you are looking for a tour
7. Ski (of course)
8. Eat at the Waldhaus Pub – it’s part of the Fairmont Banff Springs. It was created in 1920 and used to be the old Golf Club House. The top floor is a restaurant (beautiful, but pricey and fine dining). The main floor is a ‘pub’. I use the word pub lightly however because the food is glorified pub food (delicious). And if you get a window with a view – it’s amazing because you look onto the Bow Valley river
9. Eat at the Juniper Hotel's Restaurant - When you pull up, you may question your decision because the hotel looks a bit dated (1950s). But inside, it is beautifully renovated and makes you feel as though you are in a museum. Once you walk into the restaurant and see the views of the mountains, you won't regret it. And the food - outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoneXploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We travelled to Banff with another couple for a ski and snowboard holiday, the first time we had done so to North America. Our arrival at the hotel was pain free- quite a pleasant experience really after a long day travelling from the UK.
The room was more than adequate with 2 queen sized beds in a comfortably large room. The beds were really comfortable. The room was en suit with a shower/ bath( the bath was rather small with you not being able to submerge your hole body at once) other items in the room included mini fridge, kettle, coffee machine, iron& board, hair drier, and of course a flat screen TV.
There is a hot pool and spa with a small gym. The hot pool was large enough for about 28 people and was really warm. Towels were available in the changing rooms.
With in the hotel was "The Keg" bar and grill. The staff were extremely helpful and the food and beverages good. Breakfast is available Buffett style at about £10 a head- good value it you like a full breakfast! If you didn't fancy the full buffet you could choose individual items from the menu but this seemed more expensive on the whole.
The Grill menu was good and I would recommend the prime rib.
Other dining option are available within a few minutes walk or down town is approx a 10 minute walk. I think i have doubled in weight in the 2 weeks we were there as the food was not only tasty but the portions were quite large too. A Safeway supermarket is available in town for those who want a cheaper option for breakfast/ lunch.
There is underground parking available but height clearance is limited. Ski lockers are also available in the parking area.
There is a train line that runs through Banff throughout the day and sounds its whistle as it goes through- this happens through the night as well. If you have your window open you are bound to hear it ( we had our window open even when it was minus 15 outside as the hotel was so warm)
Would I go back? Of course- it was a thoroughly enjoyably and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: There is not much real difference between the standard double and the superior double. Our friends h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRIS_n_TARA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here. My only complaint was blood stained blanket cover. I could tell by looking at it that it was washed , but still... I don't want to look at that.

Staff was great, The Keg was great as always!

I would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

a girlfriend and i decided pretty last minute during the holidays that we should do a little overnight spa get away in the mountains. we got a great room with a balcony - which was really not as expensive as i had thought - and booked ourselves treatments at the red earth spa which is on the lower level of the hotel.

overall i was really pleased. it was not an outstanding but the room was very clean with lots of space. the bathroom was also clean. the place is modern and updated with cozy bedding and that semi-exaggerated mountain rustic charm that all of the hotels in banff play on.

pool was nice... i had hoped there would be an outdoor pool but this one is indoor only. it is a sitting pool, not for swimming so it was a little boring sitting there staring at the tiled room.

note - definitely worth checking out the spa. great treatments.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinderhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed as a solo traveller for two days prior to my family arriving. The hotel was perfect for my needs. Staff was helpful and the room was very clean. Pool was terrific. Would definitely stay her again. Only 10 minute walk to downtown Banff which is nice after a meal.

Room Tip: Far enough from the main strip that all rooms are good - always stay away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

on arrival staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was really nice two big double beds.
They have a hot pool which is great after a cold day in the snow.
We both had treatments in the day spa which was so relaxing.The restaurant was really good.
I would definitely return to this lodge

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanna61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights (two adults two kids) for a weekend of skiing. We used the Ski Norquay promo code and the price of the room was fantastic ($79). We found the hotel room to be very comfortable with great beds and a large bathroom. Everything seemed recently upgraded. The hot tub area was also quite nice. I also enjoyed having the Keg attached to the hotel and we ate there for breakfast on both days (buffet was good) and also for dinner one night. Downtown Banff is a bit of a walk and we were tired after skiing so we just hung out in the hotel. Another nice thing is that in the morning, the hotel had a booth were you could buy your lift tickets and that was very helpful as it avoided some of the lines at Sunshine. Underground parking was good too. I would give this hotel a five star rating except the only downside was that our room did smell of smoke/campfire from the large fireplace in the lobby. My wife and kids got used to the smell fairly quickly but it took me most of the stay to get used to it and it was fairly unpleasant at first. also, on the second night, there was quite a bit of partying going on in an adjacent room and I don't think anyone from the hotel did anything about this. I find that this is luck of the draw when staying at hotels and not necessarily a specific problem with this hotel. All in all, it was a pretty great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,804 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#5 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing