We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all, pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Banff
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“All in all, pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights (two adults two kids) for a weekend of skiing. We used the Ski Norquay promo code and the price of the room was fantastic ($79). We found the hotel room to be very comfortable with great beds and a large bathroom. Everything seemed recently upgraded. The hot tub area was also quite nice. I also enjoyed having the Keg attached to the hotel and we ate there for breakfast on both days (buffet was good) and also for dinner one night. Downtown Banff is a bit of a walk and we were tired after skiing so we just hung out in the hotel. Another nice thing is that in the morning, the hotel had a booth were you could buy your lift tickets and that was very helpful as it avoided some of the lines at Sunshine. Underground parking was good too. I would give this hotel a five star rating except the only downside was that our room did smell of smoke/campfire from the large fireplace in the lobby. My wife and kids got used to the smell fairly quickly but it took me most of the stay to get used to it and it was fairly unpleasant at first. also, on the second night, there was quite a bit of partying going on in an adjacent room and I don't think anyone from the hotel did anything about this. I find that this is luck of the draw when staying at hotels and not necessarily a specific problem with this hotel. All in all, it was a pretty great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    466
    123
    58
    19
See reviews for
214
580
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrhead, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in January for a family ski weekend. It's a bit of a walk downtown at the end of the day, but the free bus pass that the hotel provides is a great option. Rooms are nice, ski lockers in the basement handy. Not too much for outdoor parking when driving an oversized vehicle, but that would be my only complaint. I would recommend this hotel and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at this hotel for four nights and had a great time. The location is perfect as it is only a 10 minute walk from downtown. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I read a few reviews that some travellers thought the room was small but we found it just fine. The shower is also very nice. There is a Keg restaurant in the hotel, we did not try it but I heard that it was good from others. The hot pool is also wonderful after a day of snowboarding, hiking or skiing. Free wifi is handy as well. Staff at front desk were very nice as well.
The only thing I can really complain about is that the elevator made very loud noises when it was going up to the fourth floor and the lights were flickering as well. This was a bit concerting to us.
Overall wonderful trip to Banff and the hotel was perfect for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We only stayed here one nite but the beds were great and having the keg in house was nice. The price was in the ball park for the area(99.00) and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

We were snowbaording at Sunshine for the day, upon arrival we checked in put down the luggage and then went for appies and wine at the Keg (located inside the caribou), always a winner in my book!

After a shower, we took a fairly long walk down the street to the action ( its doable, we walked both ways). We were recommened Giorgio's Trattoria for dinner and I recommened the same to you for excellent Italian Food. I thought the pricing was moderate to high but in the end you get what you pay for.

After Dinner a little dancing and then we opted out of the taxi home and just walked back to the caribou. There are a few a closer hotels but I wouldn't worry too much about the distance the lodge is located from the action, all the hotels are going to be within 5 minutes of each other.

The room (3rd floor)was nice and was not noisey, the shower was good and the beds were very comfortable. Underground parking is awlways nice in the middle of winter.

All in all worth the money spent and will have no problems returning in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, highly recommended. Hot tub is to die for. Rooms are lovely, service pretty good. A little farther from town, but not bad. Keg co-located is definitely a bonus. Love the soap. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We appreciate it and hope to get the opportunity to welcoming you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here one night before driving to Lake Louise for skiing. Located a good 20 minute walk to downtown. Our room was 110 which is directly across from the pool. Inquired about moving due to the noise and were told all sold out. The first floor is actually BELOW the lobby, so almost a basement type of window, though we faced a residential lot so no window noise, but the hall noise from the elevators to the pool was significant. Tolerable for just the one night stay however. Room itself nicely done, great shower and natural soap. Pillows too firm for our liking. Coffee maker in the room, fridge, fan, safe. Since we were so close to the lobby we simply grabbed coffee there in the morning very easy. Ordered breakfast and delivered under 25 minutes, which they were apologetic for the "delay" but we thought was very efficient. Indoor "hot pool" looked very cool, but didn't utilize. Overall, if we stayed here again, would certainly request a higher floor, not first floor.

Room Tip: Try to avoid first floor as it is actually BELOW the lobby so the windows are basement type of windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your well-balanced review. Should you make your way back here again please be sure to ask for softer pillows, and of course a room on a higher floor. We hope to get the chance of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I picked this hotel for a one night trip. I lived up to all expectations. It is located on the main street into Banff with a walk of about 10 Mins to the Town centre. Local transit stops nearby as do ski buses. On site Keg restaurant good and breakfast worth adding to stay.
Rooms clean and although the room I had was not airconditioned was able to adjust temperature well.
All in all good value for money and parking is free.

Room Tip: The room I had was facing a small courtyard, front ones may get road noise in peak times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will choose us again for your next visit to beautiful Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.