We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Stamford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Winter holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Friendly and helpfully staff make this clean and well kept hotel very comfortable. An exceptional restaurant and cosy bar add to its attraction, ski lockers in the heated underground garage mean you don't have to carry them up to rooms. The ski bus stops directly outside the hotel giving maximum convenience and flexibility.

Room Tip: Request a room with a window and view. We had a rear room that was very quiet, front of property roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are please that you enjoyed your ski trip with us, and found the amenities and service to be clean and accomodating. We hope you can visit with us again, perhaps for a hiking trip in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    485
    134
    61
    22
See reviews for
228
606
44
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Banff Caribou Lodge has everything you would want from a hotel, it didn't feel like a beat-up ski lodge like some other places I've stayed in the area. The bed was a very comfortable pillow top with cozy bedding, ample pillows. There was a MP3-compatible radio in the room, mini fridge, kettle & coffee maker, flatscreen TV. There were kitchy caribou accents throughout the room and bathroom, including a plaster caribou head & antlers over the john. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, and having the Keg in the hotel was a bonus (they took our name on the waiting list to be seated for a table, and offered to call us in our room when our table was ready - we sat in the bar and were seated at a table there before we had even decided on appetizers). We did not visit the pool/hot tub/spa area, but wish we had. There are towels and changing rooms at the pool so no worries about scampering around the hotel in your bathing gear.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are happy to hear you had a fantastic time with us, and enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. Be sure to check-out The Red Earth Spa on your next visit, the massages are highly recommended.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed at a number of properties in Banff but always come back to this one. It is comfortable, tastefully decorated, the staff are very friendly and I am able to relax fully. It is in a perfect location; just a nice little walk to the downtown (incredible view). It is the perfect getaway from the busy city. The Red Earth Spa is a definate asset to this property as well. I just love it.

Amenities in room include a mini-fridge, kettle, coffee maker, alarm clock, shampoo, conditionner and bath gel, also a blower dryer, and, of course, free wi-fi. I hope I'm not forgetting anything...

Room Tip: My room was 309.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We appreciate your positive review, and thank you for informing potential guests of our amenities. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Good stay for sure a nicer hotel.
Although our room did need an upgrade
The end of the bed was broken.
And it's kinda far away from all the shopping. But nice.

Keg awesome!
HotTube Awesome!
Service Awesome!

The ladie at check-in was very helpful accommodated me in a good manner.
Very friendly!

Probably will stay in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for a well-balanced review. We have informed our maintenance team and corrected the issue with your bed. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Banff Caribou Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

You will really enjoy your stay. The staff is very helpful! I was traveling with a friend and she got sick. They helped with finding the clinic and asked several times after that how she was doing. You will find great amenities. Free Wi-Fi, Free city bus pass (great added value), free access to the spa which has a hot tub, showers (hot or cold) and a steam room. Perfect for those cold winter days! The rooms are just big enough and the bed was really comfortable. You cannot go wrong!
Shuttles to and from airport stop at the door and so do the shuttles that will take you to Lake Louise, Sunshine Village or Norquay! And they have ski lockers for free!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Our comfortable beds can be credited to our luxurious feather-top mattress which makes for a very relaxing sleep. We hope everyone is in good health, and hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This will be the 4th or 5th time we have visited the Caribou Lodge and cannot say enough about the hotel. The staff are most helpful and really go out of there way to assist. The general environment of the hotel, the Keg and the Spa facilities is excellent, giving you a real feeling of warmth and home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive review, we truly appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern alberta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We travel a lot to banff in the winter for skiing. The banff caribou lodge most certainly is the best place to stay, super comfortable beds and nice clean rooms. Our last stay was just myself and 2 kids, walked into town for dinner and came back and watched a movie. We will be back for sure!
Only downside was we were close to the pool, and was quite loud but not the hotels fault, next time I will ask for a room away from the pool area. Front desk staff we nice and friendly. Went to the keg for breakfast had a good meal before skiing for the day. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We were in room 108, busy hallway if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your positive review, and your tips for any future travellers. We greatly appreciate your loyalty, and look forward to welcoming you back to our Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.