We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our second time at the Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa. The service and facilities were very good when compared to the price. The staff were very helpful and cooperative. I would always luv to be there when I am in Banff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    512
    140
    62
    22
See reviews for
233
632
50
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our second stay at the Banff Caribou Lodge. We had a nice time 2 years ago and decided to come back. We were in a 2nd floor room with 2 double beds, which are comfortable and clean. There is a little mini-fridge, which is nice when traveling with kids. Our view this time was not terribly great. We faced the adjacent parking lot of another hotel. Definitely ask for a room that faces the front street. Those rooms often have small Parisian balconies that open, which is nice in the summer. The front desk is very friendly and parking and wireless are included. The only suggestion I have is that if you want to eat at the Keg steakhouse restaurant downstairs, you should make reservations in advance. We waited over an hour to get in on a Thursday night. Lovely property, though! Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room that faces the front street. Those rooms often have small Parisian balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The look chalet is a total success, you really feel you're in the mountains. Wood everywhere, the decorations are spot on. We really liked the Keg, the best Steaks ever, in bonus the breakfast are great too. The personnel was friendly and helpful. The hot pool and spa added a warm touch too the overall experience.

Room Tip: Just ask them, give a call, they are very friendly and helpfull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We at the Banff Caribou Lodge pride ourselves in not only our product, but also our guest service standards. I am happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A generally decent hotel but the standard king room on the 4th floor has a terrible obstruction in the middle of the room! It is a slant in the roof so that both myself and my wife have to bow our heads so not to hit our heads. You will not see it in the website pictures! Definitely upgrade to the larger (but more expensive) room.

They should take real pictures of these rooms on their website. When I booked I asked what the difference is and all they said it was a smaller room, but they never mentioned the roof. Not fair or I wouldn't have booked this type of room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just spent 6 nights here over Xmas. The hotel was decorated nicely and had a lovely christmas feel. The restaurant is typical Canadian and we ate there twice - good standard grill meal but not exceptional. The hotel has a lovely hot pool - very large and very hot! Just what was needed after a day of skiing. We had a standard room with 2 queen beds - standard was apt if a little on the small size but very comfortable beds/bedding. We asked for a quiet room and it was. Free Wi-Fi is a plus. Whilst about a 15 minute walk to downtown Banff, it is on the regular bus run (free to hotel guests) and is also one of the pick up hotels for the Brewster bus transportation to the ski resorts. One of the first pick ups and drop off's so seating not a problem. Overall, a very nice hotel just outside of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet toom when making your booking we had one which overlooked a small courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in Banff tired after a long drive on icy roads to a smiling front desk staff, early by a few hours she was able to tell we looked tired and quickly found our room and allowed us to check in early!! The room was clean and very comfortable a tad small but there was plenty of room for two people. The bathroom was clean and larger then most hotels I have stayed in you could tell the hotel was renovated recently.
When we needed information the front desk was more then willing to help out and they directed us to a small restaurant that we ate at more then once, a diamond in a the rough.
The roaring fire in the lobby made for a wonderful atmosphere after a long day out in the wilderness on a cold day the bonus of a hint of smoke from the fire place really set the atmosphere of a winter wonderland. The house keeper was so friendly and even left us a small Christmas present on our night stand.
I would stay here again in a heart best great hotel and staff!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We decided to stop at this hotel instead of driving through to Calgary. We booked through this website about 2hours before arriving, and check in was a breeze. We asked for a late check out and was given a 1pm, which was great. The gym is teeny (1 treadmill, 1 elliptical and 1 stationary bike, plus some free weights), but still ok, and air conditioned. The "pool" is really a large hot tub, which was great. Towels in the hot tub area are super soft, a bit nicer than the towels in the room. A big plus was the Keg in the hotel, and they do room service. The rooms look like they have been redone recently, all in mountain style decor.
The hotel is in a great location for visioning the Banff village, and close to skiing.
We would return for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.