We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Banff Caribou Lodge is a very comfortable, friendly hotel. When you arrive, there is a large roaring fire in the lobby which is very welcoming. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I had a king suite and it was very nice. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was also clean. I was pleasantly surprised to find a small fridge and safe in the room. The in-room coffee is also pretty good. The only complaint I would have about the room would be the bedding. They have a comfort top on the bed and the sheets are not big enough to cover this. They are unable to tuck in the sheets so by the morning time, you are tangled in the sheets, and lying directly on the mattress cover. The comforter is quite substantial but because the bedding is not stable, the comforter falls off the bed. Not a big deal but this can get annoying if you stay for a few days. There is a Keg Restaurant in the lobby. I had 3 meals there and they were all good. One was breakfast and it was not too expensive. In the busy season they have a breakfast buffet but off season, it is a la carte.
There is free wi-fi and a business centre. The parking is quite good, easy to get in and out of (sometimes this can be a challenge in Banff but this place was fine). The lodge itself is about a 10-15 minute walk from downtown Banff. With your stay at the lodge, you are also given a bus pass which stops in front of the lodge and goes right downtown in about 4 mins. The walk is fine in the summer but might be chilly in the winter but the bus works great. I did not use the spa at all. They also have an agreement with some other restaurants in town where you can charge your meal directly to your room. All in all, I enjoyed this hotel. I would recommend it but keep in mind it is a bit of a walk from town and the bedding is an experience. The only other trouble I had was noise. There was a school group in for one night and they were very loud, especially around the elevator.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mchisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Peterborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at the Banff Caribou Lodge near Christmas time last year and we had an amazing time!. The staff were great at the hotel and at the restaurant. The room we had was awesome and it was a Loft Jacuzzi suite. The fireplace in the lobby was gorgeous and it made the hotel feel very nice and cozy. This hotel seemed to have a lot of people who ski and snowboard. If I ever learn to ski or snowboard, it would be the perfect place to stay in Banff!. It's not far from the down-town area. Maybe about 10-15 mins away.

We would definitely go back there again!.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
268 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My daughter and i stayed at the Caribou for two nights recently, for the first time. I have stayed at quite a few establishments both in and around Banff and this was comparable, very rustic-y and mountain-y and pleasant. We were "upgraded" to the top floor which may have meant a smaller room under the eaves but it was clean and comfy and the beds and linens were great. Good lighting, window opened, heat was good, very nice bathroom decor (but no fan), quiet, no complaints. Underground parking was convenient and easy, spaces a bit tight for a big SUV, and the walk along Banff Avenue to the shops and main part of town was only about 10 minutes. My one complaint was the ancient printer they supplied for free computer access in the lobby...it was unable to print out my boarding pass. We also used the Red Earth Spa which was sort of like a mini-Banff Springs Hotel spa, very peaceful, calming, with good services, although not cheap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The suites are very comfortable and I liked having control over the temperature in the room since I prefer a cooler room for sleeping. The bed was very comfortable and I liked the renovated bathroom. Very chic! I'd definitely recommend the Caribou Lodge.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prairiedogsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carseland, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Caribou Lodge for a couple nights in early November, 2012. The room was nice but not large. The two big pluses for this hotel are the free underground parking (especially in the winter) and the friendly, helpful staff. We decided to go home one day earlier than planned due to weather and the manager was very understanding and did not charge us for the 3rd night that we had booked even though we did not give the required amount of time as notice. One thing to be aware of is that even though the hotel is located on the main street going downtown, it is a good 15 minute walk which may seem a bit too far when it's cold and snowing!

Room Tip: Choose the main street side if possible - the street behind seemed quite busy and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for two nights whilst touring through British Columbia and Alberta. The hotel is out of the centre of Banff but is only a pleasant ten minute walk from the central area. The room was smaller than others we stayed in but was clean and comfortable. We ate at the Keg Steakehouse at the hotel where the portions were large. The breakfasts here were first class.
All the staff were helpful and knowledgeable.
Banff is a super resort with a free bus that shuttled guests along the main street and to local tourist spots. The Bow River trail, just a short walk was well wort the effort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigdaddy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I came to this hotel first in 2004 when my wife and I celebrated our honeymoon, having enjoyed that stay so much we returned hoping that things would be the same, they were not, the company has implemented a refit and enhanced the building even further, putting a spa in and a large hot pool which really relax the muscles after a tiring days walking.
The rooms have excellent facilities I finally managed to prise the hairdrier off her as the rooms one is adequate, good shower and bathroom. Huge screen CTV, good views outside, although we were to the rear of the premises we still saw Elk walk past one night.
Attached is the Keg restaurant which is also excellent.
Staff are attentive and helpful, keen and knowledgeable so overall, fantastic stay again, thanks

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#5 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing