We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tupelo ms
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We recently stayed here for three nights and was very pleased. The room was well laid out, reasonably spacious, and clean. I was not pleased that noise carried into the room from the hall...woke me of the nights. Lobby was inviting..with a big fireplace with complentary coffee to start the day. Parking was convenient under the hotel. Very convenient to attractions in Banff...would stay here again. We ate breakfast and dinner twice at the Keg...great food!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    533
    145
    64
    24
See reviews for
241
659
51
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel was chosen as part of a tour, the hotel throughout was very welcoming. The staff had their home countries on their name badges and we were greeted by a young man from the uk who explained everything about Banff. The rooms were spacious and had a splendid 2 night stay. The buffet at breakfast was superb. The place was a fantastic start to a wonderful holiday of the rockies.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I was invited by the hotel to write this review. Well, I really don't feel passion if I was asked to do something and also I don't think the reviews on this site should be used as ads.

I chose this hotel because of reasonable rate and very good location. I stayed there for one night and it happened to be a busy time (Canada day long weekend). So I guess I couldn't complain about the hassle all over the place.

The room itself is plain and the wall is very thin. I could clearly hear the noise from the people passing by all night long (mainly tour group).

For the front desk, I found the hotel hired temps to do the job and they knew little about the work. Fortunately a senior person was around and could help out at the end. But I think it would be better if the temps could get enough training at the back before serving customers.

I paid KEG breakfast buffet downstairs. Not impressive! The variety was limited and the taste was just so so.

Overall, is it OK hotel? Kind of. Will I come back? No!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thanks for posting your comments, even if they were uninspired! Referencing your opening comment, we encourage all guests to provide feeback through in room comment cards, by posting their comments on Tripadvisor and by offering a post stay survey (if you booked online). We have made numerous improvements to the hotel's service and products through feedback provided by our guests and we don't expect only to hear about the things we do well, we also need to know which areas require attention. Ideally, we would prefer to improve our guests experiences during a stay. Your comments regarding our front desk staff have been shared with our team and we will continually strive to improve our service levels. Our newest staff members (we don't employ 'temps') are always paired with senior members to ensure more complicated tasks can be completed with the support they need to become experts themselves. I hope you weren't terribly inconvenienced and welcome further feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was my first trip to Banff. And the hotel lived up to the reviews that I read so far: clean, comfortable, newly renovated rooms, convenient to the city centre, great amenities like free parking and wi-fi. Prices were not bad even though I came on Canada Day and booked rather late. NIce hot pool on the 1st floor. Spa on the first floor looked nice however the price list was a bit on the high side...but I believe that is typical of a resort area like this. They also offer a drop-in yoga class which I attended and was very good.
The free underground parking lot is helpful because finding parking in downtown Banff is difficult during high season. The parking lot is a tad uncomfortable to park in though, spaces are tight and the parking dividing lines are not well painted so if someone double parks, very hard to squeeze in (this happened to us).
I really liked the look of the outside of the hotel, it looked new and bright and welcoming. Sometimes the interiors of hotels look better than the outside, or visa versa, but the outside of this hotel seemed to match with the rooms and the feel inside.

However, if I were to do a trip to Banff again, I think I would stay in another hotel that is not so close to the city centre because it is pretty touristy and commercial. It was good to see and experience once, but next time I will explore hotel options in Canmore just 15 min away, or staying in Japser which was touristy too but not as overwhelming.

Overall high marks for this place and would recommend it to others who want a comfortable Banff experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, British Columbia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Used tripadvisor to pick a room for 1 night stay. Bang on reviews. Cheaper than other places and a lot nicer too. Ice machine is busted on the 3rd floor though. We payed a few bucks more and got the superior room. Nice to have the balcony, and the flower box was nice out there too, felt special cause it was the only balcony box that had flowers in it. One thing for management to consider though, we were in room 362, right beside the stairwell. The door needs some dampening as it slams shut whenever used. Other then that it was all good. Nice to have the keg right there too, got room service for the kids and ma and pa got to go down for dinner and sit in the pub part of a place for once instead of restaurant side.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here as part of a wonderful trip in Canada.
You're first glimpse of the lodge is what you would really expect from a Canadian Lodge - ceiling beams and log fires.
The staff were especially helpful and friendly - thanks for all the tips Ciaran (at reception) and Sinead (in the restaurant - Went to the hot springs and had a ball in the snow!!)
Rooms were spotless, airy and bright.
Fantastic food at the Keg Restaurant - both breakfasts and dinner.
A really relaxed atmosphere.
100% to all at the Caribou and thanks for a wonderful few days.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
We're happy to hear the 'snow in June' was a welcome and entertaining element during your stay with us! I will share your comments with Ciaran and Sinead and hope you have a chance to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here a few days ago and had an wonderful stay. The rooms were spotless, comfortable and quiet. The staff were especially helpful, pointing us in the direction of the free shuttle bus into town and general enquiries we had. There is a lovely fire in the reception with complimentary tea and coffee in the morning. A point of note - we hired bikes from the hotel which were much less expensive than the rentals in town. The Keg restaurant attached was also good, we had a lovely meal and drinks, the only downside was that the attitude of one of the barman was surly and off.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#12 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.