We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty lodge-style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Caldwell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Pretty lodge-style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Banff Caribou Lodge in early June. It was clean and had a very welcoming lobby with a nice stone fireplace and cozy fire. Our room, although small for four of us, was fine since we were out most of the day. The bathroom and room could have done with some more light, and the walls were a bit thin, but none of that bothered us. The only thing that did bother us was that our room was quite warm, even with the heat off. We opened the windows, but the chimney was in the courtyard that our room overlooked, and we had a strong smell of smoke sometimes. The parking garage was right underneath the hotel, which was great, there were bikes to rent, a nice hot pool for our use down in the spa area, coffee always available in the lobby, and a good restaurant that we used for breakfast. The staff seemed attentive and friendly and we enjoyed our stay in Banff. It's about a 10 minute walk to the shops and restaurants so if you don't mind being a little further from things, this is a great place to stay. Banff has beautiful scenery and lots of fun things to explore! It was a great place for us!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    533
    145
    63
    24
See reviews for
241
659
51
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent 3 nights here last week with our two young children. All very clean and functional. We were on the top floor in a room with two queen size beds. It was fine if a little cramped but nicely decorated with lots of Caribou themed decoration. My criticism would be that it was awfully warm in the room even with heating off even though it was cold outside. The staff are very attentive, at one point our 5 year old locked himself in the bathroom and within 2 minutes someone from maintenance was there with his tool box! It is a bit of a walk into the town centre ( 15 min with two small kids) although you are supplied with a free bus pass which run every 40 mins or so. The restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful and we thought it was a lovely touch that the children were brought a starter plate of fruit and crudités as well as an activity book and crayons. We would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms on forth floor are boiling, ones at back may be quieter too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Does what it says on the tin. Functional clean pleasant good location only had breakfast that was ok nothing more restaurant seemed popular walls a bit thin but thats normal. Could hear corridor and ither room noise. However all in all as good as anywhere staff helpful would stay again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
410 reviews 410 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
614 helpful votes 614 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We had booked one night at the Caribou Lodge. We arrived early, to see if our room was available. Unfortunately somebody else had booked for 2 nights, instead of 1, which meant they were over-booked. So ... they offered us an upgrade to a suite at the Fox Hotel, which is one of their related properties, and only a couple of blocks away.

We gladly accepted the upgrade. So even though we didn't actually stay at the Caribou Lodge, they did take VERY good care of us. The transfer to the other hotel went extremely smooth, and we were checked in there within a few minutes.

Thanks for the great service!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wirral
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

There were three of us travelling together, my mother, sister and I. The room we had was very good, plenty of room for us all and a good, well appointed bathroom. We were well back from the road, so had a really restful night's sleep. We'd certainly return if passing this way again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

At the outset I'll state that we have stayed in much more modern and nicer hotels. But the Caribou has a certain character about it and despite some things that could have been better there was nothing that caused great bother. And would we stay there again? Yes.
Check in at our arrival was efficient and pleasant. A stirling job done by Amanda. And the same when it came to check out at the end of our 4 night stay. We found the staff at reception very obliging with any query we had. The lobby area has several seating options and the open fire, when going, adds to the ambience. The in house Keg Restaurant is a convenient bonus if you don't want to venture out. We mixed up dining in and trying other off site restaurants.
The hallways are showing signs of being well used. Our room, 452, looked out towards an adjoining side street and distant mountains. Because it was on the top floor the gable roof meant the ceiling in part of our room was acutely angled so that compromised the spaciousness of the room. And our room had two queen size ( maybe king size, I'm not sure) beds. One king size bed would have been better because it would have left more space in the room. We found our room got very warm despite turning off the heating. I can only surmise that it was in part due to the fact that our room was on the top floor. The in room safe was small but sufficient.
The positives included free wireless Internet, complimentary tea and coffee in the lobby for a defined time each morning, free bus service to town if you want it ( the bus stop is within a 100 metres of the hotel) and underground car parking. There were plenty of car parking spaces available at the time we stayed but I imagine that during the busy season they will be at a premium. The covered carpal was a big bonus on the day we checked out as we remained dry despite it being a very wet day.
Our summation is that the Caribou Lodge has a certain character and from what we saw by visiting some nearby hotels we are pretty confident that we still made the right choice by staying here.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We chose the Banff Caribou Lodge based on tripadvisor reviews and price.

We were not disappointed.

Rooms were very well decorated, clean and comfortable. The spa had a lovely air conditioned gym, large heated pool/hot tub and sauna.

The staff were really friendly and the bar served some great food.

We had a view from the front, I've added a picture for good measure.

The walk to town was a 15 minute stroll or a two min bus ride with free bus passes provided by the hotel.

All in all a lovely hotel with a warm lodge feel

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#12 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.